A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
JakobP
Topic Author
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Undo unpack to new tracks corrupts project

Sun Apr 04, 2021 2:36 pm

Simple to recreate from a new empty factory template:
1 Create an audio track, set a short cycle and record at least 1 full pass, creating a take folder
2 Unpack to new tracks
3 Undo (I did cmd+z)
4 create new empty software instrument track
Take a look in the mixer, "All" view...

Undo Bug.gif
Undo Bug.gif (679.78 KiB) Viewed 1094 times
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • 240GB USB3 system SSD • Apple Thunderbolt Display • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
JakobP
Topic Author
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Undo unpack to new tracks corrupts project

Sun Apr 04, 2021 5:08 pm

Adding a production kit first and then following previous steps gives this mixer here;
Click channel changed to an fx aux, drum stacks main track (and kick in subtrack) is now input channels (!), master fader turned into a bus channel strip, etc...
Mayham.png
Mayham.png (605.43 KiB) Viewed 1078 times
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • 240GB USB3 system SSD • Apple Thunderbolt Display • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 4749
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Undo unpack to new tracks corrupts project

Sun Apr 04, 2021 5:11 pm

Confirmed

bug.gif
bug.gif (15.19 MiB) Viewed 1076 times

It seems that Undoing the Unpacking already causes the corruption, and the full blown effect after creating another instrument is only Logic's attempt to make sense of its confusion.
Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer

1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.4.4 & 5.1
 
JakobP
Topic Author
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Undo unpack to new tracks corrupts project

Sun Apr 04, 2021 5:14 pm

Yeah, ugly... :/
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • 240GB USB3 system SSD • Apple Thunderbolt Display • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
JakobP
Topic Author
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Undo unpack to new tracks corrupts project

Mon Apr 05, 2021 5:55 am

Tested now from a blank template from pre 10.5.1, when Click and "Prelisten" was on audio256 and instrument256 respectively, works fine there...
EDIT Tested the old template some more and it got screwed up too, click worked though :D
Last edited by JakobP on Tue Apr 06, 2021 4:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • 240GB USB3 system SSD • Apple Thunderbolt Display • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
JakobP
Topic Author
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Undo unpack to new tracks corrupts project

Tue Apr 06, 2021 3:48 am

Can someone on 10.6 confirm ? Both Catalina and Big Sur ideally... :)
PS And even 10.5.1 on Catalina ?
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • 240GB USB3 system SSD • Apple Thunderbolt Display • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84665
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Undo unpack to new tracks corrupts project

Tue Apr 06, 2021 7:38 am

Confirmed on 10.6.1 and Big Sur. And you get two Master faders and two Stereo Out channel strips! :shock:
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
JakobP
Topic Author
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Undo unpack to new tracks corrupts project

Tue Apr 06, 2021 8:17 am

Thanks for confirming, David and Christian :) Stumbled over this just when playing around, and I don't normally use the unpack to new tracks, but it's scary to think that there might be other unknown conditions where this could occur... Not sure if I'll start using templates created pre 10.5 now...
EDIT pre 10.5 templates also problematic, I'll just have to save more frequently, and check if I have click now and then...
Last edited by JakobP on Tue Apr 06, 2021 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • 240GB USB3 system SSD • Apple Thunderbolt Display • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
User avatar
Rockhead
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 4:17 pm

Re: Undo unpack to new tracks corrupts project

Tue Apr 06, 2021 10:04 am

is this possibly related to the topic about routings and bus assignments getting messed up discussed here? viewtopic.php?f=1&t=145231 or here viewtopic.php?f=1&t=153767
Logic Pro 10.4.8
OS X 10.14.6 Mojave
MBP (11.5) 15" Retina Mid 2015 (MJLT2LL/A) | 2.5GHz Core i7 | 16GB memory | 512 PCIe-based flash storage
Samsung EVO860 USB 3.0 Hard Drive 1TB (SSD) for projects
MOTU 828x Thunderbolt interface
Alesis Q25
UAD-2 Satellite QUAD FireWire
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 4749
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Undo unpack to new tracks corrupts project

Tue Apr 06, 2021 10:21 am

Quite possibly.
Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer

1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.4.4 & 5.1
 
Dynamic_Notes
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2021 4:39 pm

Re: Undo unpack to new tracks corrupts project

Mon May 03, 2021 3:28 am

@JakobP confirmed here on Catalina, Logic 10.6.1 - second master fader was bus 256 and second Stereo Out was input 5-6. Nasty for sure.
2019 27" iMac 3.6GHz 8 core intel core i9 proc 40Gig RAM - 512GB SSD - Used for music only
Catalina 10.15.7; LogicProX 10.6.1
Focusrite Scarlett 4i4
2 x External T5 1TB SSDs, Roland D50, Korg Wavestation AD