A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
anp27
Posts: 1729
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:25 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:24 pm

ValliSoftware wrote:
Before importing, you'd need to edit the GM.AD2Map file in the External MIDI Folder.


Thanks! I followed the instructions as closely as I was able to comprehend them, made the edits and though I'm not entirely sure that I did everything 100% correctly the NI MIDI files do sound like they're more "correct" now compared to what I heard previously. Cheers and thanks again for all your help :)
Mac mini (late 2012 Server) 2.3 Ghz i7, 16GB RAM Macbook Pro 15" (early 2011) 2.3 Ghz i7~2TB Samsung 860 QVO~16GB Ram~macOS Catalina 10.15.7~Logic Pro 10.6.1~Universal Audio Apollo Twin Duo Thunderbolt MKII~KORG microKEY2 61
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 842
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Wed Jan 13, 2021 7:48 am

Wow, I thought I posted this.
If you want to change out the drum pieces in Logic Drummer, this script will do that.
So I specify Tamborine in Logic Drummer, but the Map I have will actually play a ride bell now.

RedirectLogicDrummer.png
RedirectLogicDrummer.png (293.76 KiB) Viewed 1170 times
Attachments
RedirectLogicDrummer.pst.zip
(1.63 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.2.2 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.1) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 842
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Wed Jan 13, 2021 8:08 am

Quick example of that last script I posted.

MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.2.2 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.1) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
User avatar
Zipfunk
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 9:01 pm

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Tue Jan 26, 2021 10:16 am

I know this is an older post but thank you.
This saved me a ton of work.

Drew
Logic Pro X 10.6
Catalina 10.15.7
iMac
Intel Core i5
24 GB Ram
SSD
PodStudio UX2
Scarlett 2i2
 
User avatar
Zipfunk
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 9:01 pm

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Tue Jan 26, 2021 10:18 am

ValliSoftware wrote:
I create a new drum map template that defaults to Logic's GM mapping, which is what Logic Drummer uses.
The name of the script is RedirectLogicDrummerToAny and looks like the following:
RedirectLogicDrummerToAny.png

To use this script, load your 3rd party drum kit and make an alias from Logic Drummer to the 3rd party drum track.
Load this script on the 3rd party drum track, NOT on the Logic Drummer track.

To drive other 3rd party drummers, just map the Logic Drummer drum piece to the 3rd party drum piece.

As an example, I used RedirectLogicDrummerToAny as a template and created the following Drum Maps
RedirectLogicDrummerToAD2 - for Addictive Drums 2
RedirectLogicDrummerToEZD2 - for EZ Drummer 2
RedirectLogicDrummerToSD3 - for Superior Drummer 3


Thank you for this.
Logic Pro X 10.6
Catalina 10.15.7
iMac
Intel Core i5
24 GB Ram
SSD
PodStudio UX2
Scarlett 2i2
 
User avatar
ChromeCrescendo
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 4:46 pm

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Mon Feb 22, 2021 1:45 pm

ValliSoftware wrote:
I create a new drum map template that defaults to Logic's GM mapping, which is what Logic Drummer uses.
The name of the script is RedirectLogicDrummerToAny and looks like the following:
RedirectLogicDrummerToAny.png

To use this script, load your 3rd party drum kit and make an alias from Logic Drummer to the 3rd party drum track.
Load this script on the 3rd party drum track, NOT on the Logic Drummer track.

To drive other 3rd party drummers, just map the Logic Drummer drum piece to the 3rd party drum piece.

As an example, I used RedirectLogicDrummerToAny as a template and created the following Drum Maps
RedirectLogicDrummerToAD2 - for Addictive Drums 2
RedirectLogicDrummerToEZD2 - for EZ Drummer 2
RedirectLogicDrummerToSD3 - for Superior Drummer 3




Thanks for this - I have a question though:

I downloaded the Script and inserted it on the aliased track
The aliased track is set to NI Butch Vig Drums

However, whether I have the Script on or off in the MIDI FX makes no difference to the drums being played

Here is a screenshot of just one the Butch Vig Drums layout with the Script next to it

Are there parameters I would need to change in the Script editor to ensure they were lined up in each kit within Butch Vig Drums as naturally, every kit in Butch Vig Drums is routed differently - YIKES!

Thank you

CleanShot 2021-02-22 at 16.58.11@2x.png
CleanShot 2021-02-22 at 16.58.11@2x.png (1.47 MiB) Viewed 283 times
• Logic Pro X 10.5.1
• OS X Catalina 10.15.6
• Mac Pro 2019
• 3.3 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon W
• 96 GB 2933 MHz DDR4
• Apogee Element 24
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 842
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:01 am

ChromeCrescendo wrote:
Thanks for this - I have a question though:

I downloaded the Script and inserted it on the aliased track
The aliased track is set to NI Butch Vig Drums

However, whether I have the Script on or off in the MIDI FX makes no difference to the drums being played

vigdrumsetup2.png
vigdrumsetup2.png (777.1 KiB) Viewed 265 times

When Drummer sends a Side Stick, the snare at C#1 in Butch Vig drums will get played, not the RimShot at A1. You would need to update the script for Side Stick to A1, not C#1.

I would look at the MIDI Pad names on Butch Vig drums and match the corresponding Logic Drummer name, then I would change the number on the script to match Butch Vig drums Midi number.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.2.2 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.1) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
User avatar
ChromeCrescendo
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 4:46 pm

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Tue Feb 23, 2021 8:35 am

ValliSoftware wrote:
ChromeCrescendo wrote:
Thanks for this - I have a question though:

I downloaded the Script and inserted it on the aliased track
The aliased track is set to NI Butch Vig Drums

However, whether I have the Script on or off in the MIDI FX makes no difference to the drums being played

vigdrumsetup2.png
When Drummer sends a Side Stick, the snare at C#1 in Butch Vig drums will get played, not the RimShot at A1. You would need to update the script for Side Stick to A1, not C#1.

I would look at the MIDI Pad names on Butch Vig drums and match the corresponding Logic Drummer name, then I would change the number on the script to match Butch Vig drums Midi number.



Oh wow, ok - each Butch Vig kit is different so, would I, ultimately, have to design different scripts for each separate kit?
• Logic Pro X 10.5.1
• OS X Catalina 10.15.6
• Mac Pro 2019
• 3.3 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon W
• 96 GB 2933 MHz DDR4
• Apogee Element 24
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 842
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:51 am

ChromeCrescendo wrote:
Oh wow, ok - each Butch Vig kit is different so, would I, ultimately, have to design different scripts for each separate kit?

If Butch Vig didn't reuse for example, C1 as kick, C#1 as snare, etc... across all their kits, that's a poor design.
But to answer your question, yes you'd have to create a new script for each kit.
I would take a look at the kits again, I'm pretty sure they have C1 for kick, C#1 for snare, etc... for all their kits.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.2.2 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.1) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
User avatar
ChromeCrescendo
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 4:46 pm

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Tue Feb 23, 2021 11:13 am

ValliSoftware wrote:
ChromeCrescendo wrote:
Oh wow, ok - each Butch Vig kit is different so, would I, ultimately, have to design different scripts for each separate kit?

If Butch Vig didn't reuse for example, C1 as kick, C#1 as snare, etc... across all their kits, that's a poor design.
But to answer your question, yes you'd have to create a new script for each kit.
I would take a look at the kits again, I'm pretty sure they have C1 for kick, C#1 for snare, etc... for all their kits.


Kick is always C1
Sanne is always C#1

However, certain kits have claps, FX, even one labeled "Misc." that differ from kit to kit
• Logic Pro X 10.5.1
• OS X Catalina 10.15.6
• Mac Pro 2019
• 3.3 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon W
• 96 GB 2933 MHz DDR4
• Apogee Element 24
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 842
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:00 pm

ChromeCrescendo wrote:
Kick is always C1
Sanne is always C#1

However, certain kits have claps, FX, even one labeled "Misc." that differ from kit to kit

You already have a Clap in Drummer, but for FX or Misc, I would consider using Tamborine or Maracas from Drummer to drive those 2 from Butch Vig.
LogicSetup.png
LogicSetup.png (99.07 KiB) Viewed 196 times


You know, you can even just have Ride1, Ride2, RideBell, etc... drive other drum pieces from Butch Vig.
I think keep the kick, snare, hi-hat and toms the same, but experiment with the others.
The script I have allows you to experiment pretty easily.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.2.2 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.1) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
User avatar
ChromeCrescendo
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 4:46 pm

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:40 pm

ValliSoftware wrote:
ChromeCrescendo wrote:
Kick is always C1
Sanne is always C#1

However, certain kits have claps, FX, even one labeled "Misc." that differ from kit to kit

You already have a Clap in Drummer, but for FX or Misc, I would consider using Tamborine or Maracas from Drummer to drive those 2 from Butch Vig.
LogicSetup.png

You know, you can even just have Ride1, Ride2, RideBell, etc... drive other drum pieces from Butch Vig.
I think keep the kick, snare, hi-hat and toms the same, but experiment with the others.
The script I have allows you to experiment pretty easily.



Thank you so very much
One more question (thanks for dealing with me) as I am new to the world of scripting;

The note names I put in the script are the note names from Butch Vig Drums, right?
(I probably sound like an idiot - well, what else is new? LOL)
• Logic Pro X 10.5.1
• OS X Catalina 10.15.6
• Mac Pro 2019
• 3.3 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon W
• 96 GB 2933 MHz DDR4
• Apogee Element 24
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 842
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Tue Feb 23, 2021 3:12 pm

ChromeCrescendo wrote:
The note names I put in the script are the note names from Butch Vig Drums, right?

Yes
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.2.2 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.1) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
User avatar
ChromeCrescendo
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 4:46 pm

Re: Logic Drummer Drum Maps

Tue Feb 23, 2021 3:56 pm

ValliSoftware wrote:
ChromeCrescendo wrote:
The note names I put in the script are the note names from Butch Vig Drums, right?

Yes



Thank you
• Logic Pro X 10.5.1
• OS X Catalina 10.15.6
• Mac Pro 2019
• 3.3 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon W
• 96 GB 2933 MHz DDR4
• Apogee Element 24