Help with ProcessMIDI() Hello World!

Hi everybody. While I'm not new to programming, I am new to developing for midi/Scripter. I've been trying to get a proof of concept with ProcessMIDI(). What I want to do is simply print a Trace() message in the console on every beat. I was trying some things out based on the tutorial scripts but it crashed Logic and I lost my work in the process too. So now that I'm back to square one, if somebody could be kind enough to provide a simple js code snippet that illustrates how I could get a Trace() on every beat I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!

BTW: Wow, not a lot of traffic in this section :(

I guess there's not that many Logic users that happen to be into coding too.

Still, most people that come here looking for help with a script usually get it.

Never mind, I figured it out.

Since you figured out your own problem, how about sharing your solution with the rest of us?

I for one would appreciate reading it and that's the point of these forums anyway, to share knowledge.

J.

I guess there's not that many Logic users that happen to be into coding too. 

Still, most people that come here looking for help with a script usually get it.

J.

My apologies if I seemed like I was trying to slam the site (I wasn't I was just disappointed). I was getting a bit frustrated after trying to deal with ProcessMIDI() and failing at every turn. Going to the only online Logic community I knew of only to find crickets was disheartening, but I digress. In the end, I did find a way to get a hello world type application. Here is the code...

// ProcessMIDI Hello Downbeat!

var currentBeat = 0;
NeedsTimingInfo = true;
function ProcessMIDI()
{
  var info = GetTimingInfo();
//calculate all values
var currentDiv = 4; // Divisions
var beat = Math.ceil(info.blockStartBeat * currentDiv) / currentDiv;

// Filter duplicates and detect downbeat
var wholeNumber = beat.toString().indexOf(".")==-1; // boolean
if(info.playing && beat !== currentBeat){