Scripter Javascript question

Dewdman42

Here is a Scripter JavaScript question for you gurus...  this is probably simple, but I'm new to JavaScript, having a C++ background...  here is the question.

Let's say I want to create a DECLARED array of event objects that are hard coded into the script, some of them will be NoteOn, some NoteOff, some ControlChange, etc...   Basically I want to have a nice neat and tidy looking table that has the whole array declared statically...so that no object constructors will have to be called during playback.  Then later on I will reference array elements in order to send them.  Is this possible?  The only way I have figured out is like this:

var myArray = [
new NoteOn(),
new NoteOff(),
new ControlChange()
];

The problem is that I can't see a way to declare an array of event objects this way which also have the various values assigned declaratively...in other words for each element in the array, I need the midi event, with the channel, number, value, etc..also declared for each instance.

Is this even possible?  I wish Scripter provided us with better constructors that include the ability to construct with those values filled in, or a way to add such a constructor perhaps, but this is not presently obvious to me how to do that.

Well maybe I figured out a way, but please let me know if you guys have figured out an easier or better way:

var _NoteOn = function(beatPos, channel, pitch, velocity) {  
  NoteOn.call(this, beatPos, channel, pitch, velocity);
 this.beatPos = beatPos;
  this.channel = channel;
  this.pitch = pitch;
  this.velocity = velocity;
};
_NoteOn.prototype = Object.create(NoteOn.prototype);  
_NoteOn.prototype.constructor = _NoteOn;  

var myArray = [
   new _NoteOn(1.2345,16,55,102);
   new _NoteOn(2.6567,1,34,100);
];