A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3339
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Lua Scripting

Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:19 pm

I just stumbled upon this cool open source freeware scripting plugin that some of you may be interested in, thought I'd share. Its called ProtoPlug and it is available as both AU and VST, on all platforms. Very similar to Scripter in a lot of ways, but has more GUI options and access to the file system, unlike Scripter that is a bit more limiting. It does not, however, provide articulationID information per event, like Scripter does.

Here is the main website for it: https://www.osar.fr/protoplug/

They do not yet provided an AU-MFX version of the plugin. However I used their source and built an AU-MFX version, which you can find attached here to this post. Also a VST3 version of FX and Instrument are provided here for now. It seems to work in LogicPro just great as expected!

Lua Protoplug Mfx.component.zip
(4.67 MiB) Downloaded 168 times

LuaProtoPlugVST3.7z.zip
(3.58 MiB) Downloaded 144 times


I'm pretty impressed with it so far... Mostly I'm working on articulation related scripting at the moment, and articulationID is an important part of that, so I don't think I can use it at the moment. But the nice thing about this plugin is that it could be used in other hosts...Cubase, Reaper, whatever you want...and you'd be able to use the same script across those other hosts. It also can do audio manipulation with the non-mfx version of the plugin. Its more like BlueCatAudio's scripting plugin in that regard... I like it better then BlueCatAudio's actually...the GUI support is better in my opinion...and did I mention its free?
Last edited by Dewdman42 on Sat Apr 06, 2019 12:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10196
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Lua Scripting

Fri Apr 05, 2019 4:56 pm

Very interesting indeed!
Thanx for sharing!
LogicPro 10.6.3, MainStage3.5.3
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10196
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Lua Scripting

Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:21 pm

I installed the latest version (v.1.4.0) as instructed on OASR website, but whenever I try to use it, it shows the same error:

59:51 - Error: Could not load libluajit-5.1.so. Tried /Users/[username]/Documents/ProtoplugFiles/lib/libluajit-5.1.so and system path.

The digits at the beginning (59:51) change at every attempt, but the remainder of the error message repeats as is, at every attempt.

I checked and confirm that the reported file (libluajit-5.1.so) is actually in that proper location.

The same error message appears in both versions (as in your MIDI FX version or as in the Gen instrument version).

In the Logic's Plugin Manager, all 3 instances (Fx, Gen and Mfx) appear as successfully validated.

Any idea to solve the issue?
Last edited by Atlas007 on Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
LogicPro 10.6.3, MainStage3.5.3
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3339
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: Lua Scripting

Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:34 pm

I copied that ProtoPlug folder into both my VST and Components folder and it seemed to work.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3339
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: Lua Scripting

Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:35 pm

The author has already responded that he is going to look into adding MFX to the regular build for everyone.
Last edited by Dewdman42 on Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3339
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: Lua Scripting

Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:41 pm

Also take note on the author's GitHub site there is a way to report issues...so he can fix them...
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10196
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Lua Scripting

Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:15 pm

Thanx a lot Dewdman42! That solved the issue.
I think it would be good idea they updated the (Logic's) installation procedure instructions...
Last edited by Atlas007 on Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.
LogicPro 10.6.3, MainStage3.5.3
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3339
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: Lua Scripting

Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:16 pm

I agree. I didn't even read that, I just copied it there and it worked, but if i had read it then I might have given up.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10196
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Lua Scripting

Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:18 pm

Prrretty pleease, keep us posted with your development!!
LogicPro 10.6.3, MainStage3.5.3
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3339
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: Lua Scripting

Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:22 pm

FYI, I am not the developer. That website has a link to the author's GitHub project and you can stay updated to its progress if you sign on to GitHub and click the watch button. the only thing I did was download his source, change a couple of settings and compile it for MFX and VST3.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3339
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: Lua Scripting

Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:30 pm

It may be a while before I get around to actually trying any LUA scripting, only because I am halfway into a large Scripter project I'm working on related to articulation handling, and for the time being the only way to access articulationID, is through Scripter, so I'm sticking with that for now. But when its all done I have some ideas about how to possibly make it work without articulationID and I may try to convert it to LUA at that point..which would be useful for other DAW's like Cubase. Also this LuaScript has the possibility to read data files from the filesystem, and can include source from script libraries and many other benefits that make it a much nicer environment then Scripter in many ways. Also it has MUCH richer GUI tools then Scripter. So I definitely will get to it at some point, but for the next few months at least, I'm in deep with Scripter and javascript.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10196
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Lua Scripting

Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:47 pm

Thanx for the clarifications!
LogicPro 10.6.3, MainStage3.5.3
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
ValliSoftware
Posts: 1211
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Lua Scripting

Mon Sep 20, 2021 9:15 am

One thing I'll point about about this is, currently Logic already supports Lua scripting.
When I'm debugging my AUv3 app extension, I get reminded of a Lua script error which I'll investiage later.

Lua in Logic Pro X.png
Lua in Logic Pro X.png (277.41 KiB) Viewed 955 times

How you access this isn't documented.
I would recomment sticking with Scripter or writing an Objective-C/Swift MidiFx plug-in instead.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.6 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.7) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3339
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: Lua Scripting

Mon Sep 20, 2021 11:23 am

Logicpro’s lua is basically some stuff related to control surface support, very hard to get information about it
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
ValliSoftware
Posts: 1211
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Lua Scripting

Mon Sep 20, 2021 5:10 pm

Well that has easy.
Found the script, made the change, now no more error message.
(It said MINILAB only, I added Arturia so now it says Arturia MINILAB)

configlua.png
configlua.png (305.47 KiB) Viewed 935 times
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.6 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.7) Rosetta 2 not installed