A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
danharrisonfx
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2020 4:33 pm

Script to keep Track sustained

Sun Dec 06, 2020 7:10 am

Hey,

I'm new to scripting in javascript and I would appreciate it if someone can help me out.
Is there a way where I can play live on one track and keep the last note sustained while I switch to another Instrument Track and play over the sustained note (like a drone)?

I already posted a thread in the main Logic forum and David helped me setting up a solution in the MIDI environment. But it has its limitations and he suggested that I should try and ask here for any support.

With the MIDI environment method, we used a Cable Switch to cut communication with the Sequencer Input so that the Input from the Physical input can sustain. Then going to another Track and switching the Cable Switch back to connect to the Sequencer Input and that way I can play with different Instruments over the drone.

The problem that I had with this method was that I had to play the exact same notes on the sustained track to stop the sustain.

Here some additional information:
- I'm using the BBCSO Core 2 Template and the Traveler Console from Monogramm.
- we used CC35; on Value 127, off Value 0 for the Toggle.
- use the Sustain Pedal on the Sustained Track to end the Notes (just my current idea on how to get out of the sustained mode / using the same CC35 would also work for me)

Maybe there is a more elegant way with the scripter that tackles this problem?
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Posts: 3321
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Re: Script to keep Track sustained

Sun Dec 06, 2020 10:24 am

I’m have a little trouble understanding precisely what you want to do. But one problem is that scripter can only process one Inst channel. The script resides on the Inst channel itself.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
danharrisonfx
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2020 4:33 pm

Re: Script to keep Track sustained

Sun Dec 06, 2020 11:27 am

Yeah, that should be fine I hope.
So, I want to play my Instrument on one track and keep the notes sustained while I switch to a different track.
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Posts: 3321
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Re: Script to keep Track sustained

Sun Dec 06, 2020 11:30 am

Scripter can only address one track
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
danharrisonfx
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2020 4:33 pm

Re: Script to keep Track sustained

Sun Dec 06, 2020 11:43 am

Okay, but that shouldn't be the problem. I am assuming you only need to address the sustained track.
I have found a script on google that does similar things but it is more related to legato and is still not what I am looking for.

I'll try to explain it again but as simple as I can:

- A script on the Track I want to sustain

- I play a few notes and activate a switch (preferably a CC Toggle)

- The note is being held and I can freely move around in Logic and select other Tracks.

- After I am finished, I want the notes to end and I would like to use the same CC Toggle
 
danharrisonfx
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2020 4:33 pm

Re: Script to keep Track sustained

Sun Dec 06, 2020 12:37 pm

Alright, I figured it out.. It's been a factory script that comes with Logic.
I used the MIDI to Plugin Parameters Script. Changed the Input to CC35 and the Target to CC65 Sustain.

That was exactly what I was looking for.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85996
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Script to keep Track sustained

Tue Dec 08, 2020 2:21 am

danharrisonfx wrote:
Alright, I figured it out.. It's been a factory script that comes with Logic.
I used the MIDI to Plugin Parameters Script. Changed the Input to CC35 and the Target to CC65 Sustain.

That was exactly what I was looking for.

That sounds easy enough!! Thanks for posting your solution. :)
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
mbiaso
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:43 pm

Re: Script to keep Track sustained

Wed Jul 07, 2021 10:44 am

hi danharrisonfx
could you help me with that? i want to keep some strings sustained while playing a piano.
i don't know the FIRST thing about scripts...
could you help me out? :)
 
JakobP
Posts: 2183
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Script to keep Track sustained

Thu Jul 29, 2021 7:01 am

mbiaso wrote:
hi danharrisonfx
could you help me with that? i want to keep some strings sustained while playing a piano.
i don't know the FIRST thing about scripts...
could you help me out? :)

Try this:
https://www.logicprohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=157971&p=829025&hilit=sustain+script#p829025
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • OS X 10.14.6 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • iMac 27 Late 2013 • 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10082
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Script to keep Track sustained

Fri Jul 30, 2021 1:42 pm

danharrisonfx wrote:
Alright, I figured it out.. It's been a factory script that comes with Logic.
I used the MIDI to Plugin Parameters Script. Changed the Input to CC35 and the Target to CC65 Sustain.

That was exactly what I was looking for.

For clarity sake, the MIDI CC# for sustain is 64 (not 65)...
LogicPro 10.6.3, MainStage3.5.3
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear