A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Randomizer shortfall

Tue Dec 15, 2020 10:05 pm

Randomizer is not able to modulate plug-in parameters and track controls including Sends or Pan.

I'm using an external mono instrument in my example. I've been trying to get a random trigger to modulate track pan, or a plugs panorama. I've tried getting Randomizer to modulate one of Logics smart controls which it doesn't do. Modulator' S&H doesn't step via midi trigger.

So how can I create a Randomizer that will do what I want it to do, also I wonder about things like LFOs etc in Scripter. Is this a matter of learning Javascript entirely or do we have some more tools/tutorials available now that are again, user friendly toward more difficult code.

I'd happily pay for someone to create a randomizer with MIDI trigger input settings but WITH an output option that includes Plug-in parameters. But more than happy with some more information about where to start looking.
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Sun Dec 20, 2020 1:51 pm

This post must be very difficult to reply to?

Can we use midi environment to capture the Randomize out and send it to trigger pan, sends etc?
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Posts: 3200
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Sun Dec 20, 2020 2:45 pm

Scripter can do what you want but yes you’ll have to learn JavaScript ;-) one option would be to use randomizer to randomize midi cc values and then in scripter it’s possible to convert those to channel strip automation. You can do the randomizing part too but I’m trying to suggest minimal JavaScript. There are some factory examples for how to control plugin parameters with scripter, look at those and it ahoood be possible to control the Channel pan but if not then use the gain plugin to do it.

No midi plug-ins are able to send anything, including midi, to the environment.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 128gb ram
 
ValliSoftware
Posts: 936
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Tue Dec 29, 2020 7:08 pm

django wrote:
This post must be very difficult to reply to?

Can we use midi environment to capture the Randomize out and send it to trigger pan, sends etc?

Yes.
All MIDI FX send any modification to midi down the MIDI FX chain. If the last item is an actual AU Instrument, the MIDI FX stops there, but if it's a External Instrument and you use IAC or a MIDI Device looped back, then you can redirect to Click&Ports and capture what was sent from a group of a MIDI FX chain, then using a transformer and some cabling, you can modify the Pan and Sends.

You do realize that you can also MIDI Record the Modulation as Fader events as well right?
RecordedFader.png
RecordedFader.png (68.96 KiB) Viewed 2114 times

By doing this, you can just now cable that track to tracks that you want to Pan/Send and save on CPU instead of having a Modulation active.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.3.1 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.1) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Wed Jan 06, 2021 9:53 pm

Ok thank you both, now I've got some great new insights :)

Further tests with Randomizer show it doesn't do anything to my external instrument when set to the CC for Arp Note Length. Stopping and starting playback gets Randomizer to react somewhat like it should. But it definitely doesn't send a new random value on each trigger. Modulators LFO works as it should on the same CC

I'm hoping randomizer actually does output random values via trigger properly now...

Thanks for the info Valli, that sounds simple enough to be able to do myself easily enough

Also, I don't want/mind any recorded automation from MIDI FX
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Mon Jan 11, 2021 9:04 pm

Edit
Last edited by django on Mon Jan 11, 2021 10:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Mon Jan 11, 2021 9:18 pm

Ok, I don't really have any idea how to do that Valli.

Are you able to help any further in regard to routing this? I understand the concept but I'm not able to reproduce it practically
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
ValliSoftware
Posts: 936
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:10 am

django wrote:
Ok, I don't really have any idea how to do that Valli.

Are you able to help any further in regard to routing this? I understand the concept but I'm not able to reproduce it practically


This is a starting point.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.3.1 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.1) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:42 pm

Fantastic, thank you Valli


So If I set a transformer to randomize, note off always brings the fader back to 0. Monitor doesn't show me Randomizers output, how do I capture Randomizers output.
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Wed Jan 13, 2021 3:54 pm

Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Wed Jan 13, 2021 5:06 pm

All sorted, thank you Valli :) very kind of you all. Great youtube videos too Valli
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
ValliSoftware
Posts: 936
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Wed Jan 13, 2021 5:07 pm

django wrote:


Yeah, I learn from that link when I started to look at The Environment.

Check out this thread too
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=146878

Here's a good book on The Enviroment too
http://www.lipscomb.umn.edu/docs/MusicT ... torial.pdf
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.3.1 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.1) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Wed Jan 13, 2021 5:50 pm

Fantastic links thank you


Ok I'm getting it slowly,
It's been wild for my brain trying to process all this


I'm confused with the routing, I can't figure out how to route in another transformer arrangement to randomise another/different CC via trigger.
I thought I could just run a second cable from the monitor down to 2 transformers that will create the random like with CC10 but it hasn't worked any way I've tried so far.

I'm also curious on how to recieve randomizers output
Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-01-14 at 5.54.43 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-01-14 at 5.54.43 PM.png (117.62 KiB) Viewed 1574 times
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Thu Jan 14, 2021 12:34 am

Ok so now I've got this setup and I see the changes being spat out from the channel in the mixer window. the final monitor outs got back to the mixer into the channel and I feel like I'm missing something obvious, but it might be food...
Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-01-14 at 7.31.08 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-01-14 at 7.31.08 PM.png (134.37 KiB) Viewed 1560 times
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
ValliSoftware
Posts: 936
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Thu Jan 14, 2021 1:39 am

Can you zip and post that project.
After I look at it, I'll ask some questions.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.3.1 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.1) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Thu Jan 14, 2021 5:09 am

This is where I got to

I created another empty project for it because the other one is full of stuff but it's working in the same order

EDIT*

Updated to the latest setup
Attachments
Environment.zip
(210.95 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
Last edited by django on Fri Jan 15, 2021 12:35 am, edited 2 times in total.
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Thu Jan 14, 2021 11:56 pm

Any help would be great I've been reading lots but nothing is obvious other than I can make midi loops really well so far...
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Fri Jan 15, 2021 4:01 pm

EDIT
Last edited by django on Wed Jan 27, 2021 12:08 am, edited 2 times in total.
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Fri Jan 15, 2021 4:03 pm

EDIT
Last edited by django on Wed Jan 27, 2021 12:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1
 
django
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Randomizer shortfall

Fri Jan 15, 2021 4:06 pm

EDIT
Last edited by django on Wed Jan 27, 2021 12:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mac Pro 2012 / 3.33ghz-6-core / 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6 / Raedon RX580 / Logic X 10.5.1