A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
SubFunk
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 4:13 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

 

Tue Jan 03, 2006 6:43 am

SubFunk wrote:


macally does a fantastic selection of mice for the mac i found them much superior to all other 3rd party supplier, because the driver that comes with the macallies makes the mouse behaviour much more precice 'n' nicer then the original OS driver...

http://www.macally.com


sorry to post this again, i just posted it in another topic, just thought it might be from interest here as well....

my experience is: mighty mouse or for less money the absolute fantastic range of macally mice, great build / feeling and by far superior drivers for the MAC OS...
 
User avatar
ski
Site Contributor
Posts: 16605
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 5:12 pm
Location: Los Angeles

 

Mon Feb 13, 2006 3:53 am

Just starting parusing the tips section here at LPH.

David, your description of opt+left click... did you not mean CMD+left click? Opt+left click does nothing (never has on any of my Logic systems, OS9 or OSX).

Re cntrl+left click = zoom tool, for me it's an indispensible feature.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 83554
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:34 am

ski wrote:
David, your description of opt+left click... did you not mean CMD+left click? Opt+left click does nothing (never has on any of my Logic systems, OS9 or OSX).

You're right, thanks for the correction. I've corrected the original post.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
L. A. Stone
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:41 am

 

Mon Jul 03, 2006 5:40 pm

A couple other features are available with these commands and the mouse, but I advise experimenting with these because their behavior can be somewhat flaky.

1. Panning a window around, like in Photoshop. Control/Shift Right click or Control/Shift/3rd mouse button (downclick the mouse scrollwheel), while clicking on the background of the arrange window for example. Click and move in any direction, up, down, left, right, diagonal, or move in circles and the arrange window will follow. The 2nd option there "inverts" the movement. In other words, when you go left, it goes right. In the Matrix Editor, the 2nd option is the only one that works. Also in the Mixer, but in the mixer, don't click on a mixer strip, you have to be clicking on a piece of background.

2. Zooming. You can use this key combination to zoom in any direction, or zoom X and Y at the same time. Option/3rd mouse button (downclick on the mouse scrollwheel), then make a very small move in any direction. This one tends to zoom 2 miles for every half inch you move. It will be zoomed to mars before you can take you finger off the thing. Also, it's good to have something selected when you zoom because it will zoom in on the selection and help you keep your place.

And thanks for the tip about the extra tools with the mouse. I didn't know about that. The software for my mouse is installed, but it still works. I just right clicked on a tool and that assigned the tool to the right mouse button. Command/clicked with the left mouse button and that worked too.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 83554
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:48 pm

L.A. stone, most of those shortcuts have already been described in previous articles, and they are definitely not flaky here, but really consistent. I use them as a part of my daily routine.

PS: zooming with a scrollwheel acts as expected here: one scrollwheel indentation corresponds to one zoom level (the same as pressing Control and one of the arrows once).

See:
Navigating with a Scroll-wheel mouse, Surfing without!
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Waterboy
Posts: 1438
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:25 am
Location: Baton Rouge, La

 

Thu Jun 28, 2007 5:16 am

Now I can't decide which one I like better: using the scroll wheel or not!
I guess that is a good problem to have?! :P
 
tigermaster
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 5:32 pm

 

Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:06 am

also you can use the zoom tool keeping pressed control+alt
and navigation arrows keeping pressed alt+command

a total of 5 tools ;)
MACPPRO 4.1 to 5.1 xeon w3680 3.33Ghz exacore - Pro-Tools HD Accel 2 - MOTU 2408mk3 + 2408mk1 - Logic Pro X 10.1 - Pro-Tools 8.1cs2 - Digidesign 96 + 96i + adatbridge24 - OSX10.9.5
More about me at http://www.riccardoferri.net/blog
 
User avatar
route-electrique
Posts: 1144
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:03 pm
Location: Finland, Helsinki
Contact:

 

Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:41 am

I didnt know this one :oops:. Thanks.
♫ Mac Pro 8-Core Early 2008 | OSX 10.9 | 16GB | Logic Pro 10.0.4 | Studio One Pro v2.6 | RME | Klein & Hummel O300 | Avalon AD2055 | Eventide Eclipse | Chandler Germanium Pair | Roland Juno-60 | Korg MonoPoly | ♫
 
roofraider
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:57 am
Location: Brisbane

 

Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:51 am

Hey!

when the right mouse button is assigned to a tool, how do u access the submenu which would usually appear when u right click in the arrange, for example?

8)
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

 

Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:57 am

roofraider wrote:
Hey!

when the right mouse button is assigned to a tool, how do u access the submenu which would usually appear when u right click in the arrange, for example?

8)


Control - click. :wink:
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
roofraider
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 1:57 am
Location: Brisbane

 

Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:32 pm

EricBradley wrote:
roofraider wrote:
Hey!

when the right mouse button is assigned to a tool, how do u access the submenu which would usually appear when u right click in the arrange, for example?

8)


Control - click. :wink:


:idea: I love this forum!!

:P
 
Absorbalov
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:10 pm
Contact:

 

Tue Jan 27, 2009 4:19 am

ive just discovered this, fantastic tip!
2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon | 10.11.2
Logic Pro 10.2
Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 | E-Mu X-Board 49
My Website
 
User avatar
vanhaze
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 3:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Working with 3 quickly accessible tools

Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:34 pm

Just discovered this too : awesome tip David : Hooray !! :D
Macbook Pro Retina 2015 - OSX 10.15 - Always latest version of Logic Pro X - UAD Apollo Twin.
 
User avatar
stardustmedia
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:48 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Working with 3 quickly accessible tools

Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:18 am

Have to check it out. Until now I'm pretty cool with the command, option and shift keys combination. But that tip could be pretty cool
Logic 10.3.3 & MacOS 10.11.6
Home: MacPro Intel Quad-Core 2.26 GHz - 16GB - Grace Design m920 USB
Studio: iMac Intel i7 2.6GHz - 16GB - Apogee Symphony, AD16X & DA16X thru Thunderbolt - Unitor8 & AMT8

stardustmedia - high end analog music services
cheerio, murat
 
User avatar
skylark
Posts: 260
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 6:37 pm
Location: Las Vegas NV USA
Contact:

Re: Working with 3 quickly accessible tools

Fri Dec 11, 2020 5:42 pm

How can one access all three tool options using a Magic Trackpad (without using any keys)?

I can use the left- and right-side tools --no problem-- but I've never been able to use the middle tool without reaching for a key.
MacPro 8 Core 2.4GHz 24GB RAM • Apogee Symphony 64 2 x 6 • MOTU 424 2408 (2) + 24 i/o (2) • OS 10.14.6 • Logic Pro 10.5.1
 
User avatar
anp27
Posts: 1728
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:25 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Working with 3 quickly accessible tools

Sun Dec 13, 2020 5:49 pm

skylark wrote:
I can use the left- and right-side tools --no problem-- but I've never been able to use the middle tool without reaching for a key.


I have 2 questions for you:

1. How are you accessing the Right Click tool without holding down a key on your Magic Trackpad?

2. What are your 3 assigned tools?
Mac mini (late 2012 Server) 2.3 Ghz i7, 16GB RAM Macbook Pro 15" (early 2011) 2.3 Ghz i7~2TB Samsung 860 QVO~16GB Ram~macOS Catalina 10.15.7~Logic Pro 10.6.1~Universal Audio Apollo Twin Duo Thunderbolt MKII~KORG microKEY2 61
 
User avatar
skylark
Posts: 260
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 6:37 pm
Location: Las Vegas NV USA
Contact:

Re: Working with 3 quickly accessible tools

Sun Dec 13, 2020 6:41 pm

My three tool preferences are (left to right) Pointer Tool, Marquee Tool, and Scissors Tool. A two-tiger tap makes a snip with the Scissors Tool.

Since posting, I have been considering third-party software and even footswitches, but... Logic is so packed to the gills with that kind of configurability I kinda thought I was just overlooking something. (Which of course could still be the case.) :lol:

edit: The tricky one is the Marquee Tool, because it needs to lasso stuff (instead of just click).
MacPro 8 Core 2.4GHz 24GB RAM • Apogee Symphony 64 2 x 6 • MOTU 424 2408 (2) + 24 i/o (2) • OS 10.14.6 • Logic Pro 10.5.1
 
User avatar
anp27
Posts: 1728
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:25 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Working with 3 quickly accessible tools

Sun Dec 13, 2020 6:51 pm

skylark wrote:
My three tool preferences are (left to right) Pointer Tool, Marquee Tool, and Scissors Tool. A two-tiger tap makes a snip with the Scissors Tool.

Since posting, I have been considering third-party software and even footswitches, but... Logic is so packed to the gills with that kind of configurability I kinda thought I was just overlooking something. (Which of course could still be the case.)

edit: The tricky one is the Marquee Tool, because it needs to lasso stuff (instead of just click).


Right. I use two finger tap for Right Click Tool as well.

In regards to the Middle tool, since your Command /Middle click is the Marquee tool all you have to do is turn on Marquee Tool click zones in Preferences. With that setting on all you have to do to bring up the Middle Tool is hover over the bottom half of any region with your cursor. The cursor will automatically switch to the Marquee tool without needing to hold down any modifier keys with your left hand.
Mac mini (late 2012 Server) 2.3 Ghz i7, 16GB RAM Macbook Pro 15" (early 2011) 2.3 Ghz i7~2TB Samsung 860 QVO~16GB Ram~macOS Catalina 10.15.7~Logic Pro 10.6.1~Universal Audio Apollo Twin Duo Thunderbolt MKII~KORG microKEY2 61
 
User avatar
skylark
Posts: 260
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 6:37 pm
Location: Las Vegas NV USA
Contact:

Re: Working with 3 quickly accessible tools

Sun Dec 13, 2020 7:00 pm

omg... THAT's what I missed! I had that set for years, but I recently had to rebuild my computer and lost many preferences. (No song data lost, tho! *whew*) And that Preferences > Editing page was sitting open on my desktop at that moments; had been all day! :::DOH!:::

Thanks so much for taking the time to straighten me out!
MacPro 8 Core 2.4GHz 24GB RAM • Apogee Symphony 64 2 x 6 • MOTU 424 2408 (2) + 24 i/o (2) • OS 10.14.6 • Logic Pro 10.5.1
 
User avatar
anp27
Posts: 1728
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:25 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Working with 3 quickly accessible tools

Sun Dec 13, 2020 7:03 pm

skylark wrote:
omg... THAT's what I missed! I had that set for years, but I recently had to rebuild my computer and lost many preferences. (No song data lost, tho! *whew*) And that Preferences > Editing page was sitting open on my desktop at that moments; had been all day! :::DOH!:::

Thanks so much for taking the time to straighten me out!


Sure :) I think you'll benefit greatly from this free app: https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/logic- ... -pro-tools

In the future you can just restore the backup you made of your Logic Preferences :)
Mac mini (late 2012 Server) 2.3 Ghz i7, 16GB RAM Macbook Pro 15" (early 2011) 2.3 Ghz i7~2TB Samsung 860 QVO~16GB Ram~macOS Catalina 10.15.7~Logic Pro 10.6.1~Universal Audio Apollo Twin Duo Thunderbolt MKII~KORG microKEY2 61