A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Topic Author
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:01 am

Updated first post with Nektar's latest fix.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
rainguitar
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 3:10 pm
Location: Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
Contact:

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:11 am

I did download the latest Nektar fix. There are issues with it. The zip files don't unpack properly on my mac. When you do get the upgrade installed on the Mac (via workaround ) then there are issues with it downloading the firmware to the device, my case a Panorama P1. I'm currently waiting for support at Nektar to help me with this next step. After that I have to get it to work with Logic. Could be a long day.
Rainguitar is a writer and musician living on Canada's west coast. He is of the boomer generation.
 
User avatar
m-m-m
Posts: 835
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:41 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Wed Nov 11, 2015 5:02 pm

haven't read thru the full thread, but I didn't see anything in the first post about it. Sorry if I'm repeating info ...

On Novations website they have a page were all their hardware is listed.
http://us.novationmusic.com/answerbase/ ... el-capitan

Mysteriously the ultranova won't work,, butt the mininova will. Odd, because I thought that they were pretty similar. I shot an email off to them for a clarification. the ultranova works as a controller/interface/hardware synth all in one .... but I don't use the interface.

This is what they emailed back to me:
We've found that upon playing back any audio recorded via the UltraNovas built in sound card over USB, there will be audible distortion and glitchy audio.

We are currently investigating what we can do to resolve this and are working with Apple to come to a solution.

If you have an important project coming up and currently have a working setup, we wouldn't recommend updating to El Capitan if you need to use your UltraNova.


On the link I posted above it does say that "Automap" does work with El Capitan. I suppose that probably means that all the controller functions should work fine. I would guess that the ultranova AU also works, but I'm going to write and double check.
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
• Logic 10.4.8
• OS X 10.15.4
• iMac 27” 2019 3.0gHz 6-core i5 w/8GB ram
• UAD Arrow
• Novation Ultranova (hardware synth & midi control)
 
User avatar
dysamoria
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:17 pm
Location: The Corporate States of America

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Sat Nov 21, 2015 6:05 pm

M-Audio's Firewire interfaces (jointly developed with Avid, or entirely BY Avid and marketed under M-Audio) are not supported beyond Mavericks, but the drivers worked on 10.10. With El Capitan, it's blocked by SIP.

i've been searching for solutions, since my audio boot drive is still on Snow Leopard and i'm being pushed to upgrade by so many different things. The results so far: You can disable SIP in El Capitan to get the M-Audio Firewire drivers to work (and someone even created a fixed PKG to do the installation, since the existing installers do NOT work), but that leaves you without SIP on El Capitan (surely a reason for having the OS). Also, the control panel software does NOT work beyond Mavericks and there's no solution. M-Audio and Avid have utterly abandoned these products.

• ProjectMix I/O
• ProFire Light Bridge
-jace

Logic Pro 10.4.8 (& sometimes Logic Studio 9.1.8).
MacBook Pro 5,5 (8GB RAM, Mac OS 10.6.8 & 10.13.6)
iMac 12,2 (16GB RAM, Mac OS 10.6.8 & 10.13.6)
iPhone 6s and iPad Pro 12.9" (1st gen), iOS 12.4.1 with Logic Remote.
 
User avatar
fisherking
Posts: 5984
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 5:51 am
Location: yes
Contact:

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Sat Nov 21, 2015 6:18 pm

whew! just moved to a new macbook pro. had a few issues...solved by replacing the audiounitcache with the one from my previous mac. lots of licenses to fill in! (i didn't migrate, installed everything clean). a huge undertaking, but am happy to report that EVERYTHING is working. have been testing out lots of projects, and all sounds load, etc. no weirdness with logic trying to find sounds (which i experienced several years back when i moved to my previous mac). nice!
LP10.6.1 • os11.3b • 2019 3.2 i7 imac • one plugin short of perfection
http://upstatebrooklyn.com
 
Daggilarr
Posts: 441
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:56 am
Location: UK Devon

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:23 am

How does one locate and replace the 'Audio Unit Cache' It is beginning to look like it may be time to consider the move to ElC, but saving that cache would seem to be a prudent move.
Logic 10.4.4
Logic remote 1.3.4
iMac 27"Late 2014 i7 4.0 quad-core, 32GB Ram, 512SSD OSX 10.14.5
iPadPro 1st gen 32gb
Focusrite Scarlett 2i4
Fostex PMO5's
M-Audio Axiom 49 (MK1)
Beyer DT770
 
User avatar
fisherking
Posts: 5984
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 5:51 am
Location: yes
Contact:

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Sun Nov 22, 2015 6:46 am

Daggilarr wrote:
How does one locate and replace the 'Audio Unit Cache' It is beginning to look like it may be time to consider the move to ElC, but saving that cache would seem to be a prudent move.


my understanding is....time machine does not back up the cache folder? not sure (i live & die by carbon copy cloner). it's in your User library, in the Caches folder: audiounitcache (i just copied that whole folder "Audiounitcache").

i quit logic X, copied that file from my old mac (earlier this year, when i moved to el capitan, i did the same thing from my backup).
and got a few plugins working that weren't validating otherwise.

if you find that file, perhaps save a copy somewhere. seems useful...
LP10.6.1 • os11.3b • 2019 3.2 i7 imac • one plugin short of perfection
http://upstatebrooklyn.com
 
Daggilarr
Posts: 441
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:56 am
Location: UK Devon

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Sun Nov 22, 2015 7:21 am

fisherking wrote:
Daggilarr wrote:
if you find that file, perhaps save a copy somewhere. seems useful...


My thoughts exactly, thanks.
Logic 10.4.4
Logic remote 1.3.4
iMac 27"Late 2014 i7 4.0 quad-core, 32GB Ram, 512SSD OSX 10.14.5
iPadPro 1st gen 32gb
Focusrite Scarlett 2i4
Fostex PMO5's
M-Audio Axiom 49 (MK1)
Beyer DT770
 
User avatar
mpmusicny
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:49 am
Location: Woodstock NY
Contact:

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Sun Nov 22, 2015 2:47 pm

The only thing i'm waiting on is Addictive Drums - from XLN:
Hi Malcolm,

While our testing indicates that our products work fine in El Capitan, many others don't yet, so we recommend our users to not upgrade just yet. We don't officially support it yet either, so if you do upgrade we might not be able to help you if something goes wrong.



So . . it's working, but they're not officially supporting it?
http://www.malcolmpayne.com
Mac Mini Mini i7 - 64 GB RAM Logic 10.6.0 - Komplete 10, Lethal, Serum, Ominsphere 2 + a room in the forest full of things to pluck, bang and blow . .
 
64fenderjazz
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 12:02 pm

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Mon Nov 23, 2015 9:41 am

Great news.Izotope Nectar 2 Updated and successfully passed plugin Manager. Finally!!!
 
User avatar
Diego5150
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 6:24 am
Location: New York

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Mon Nov 23, 2015 9:57 am

64fenderjazz wrote:
"Great news.Izotope Nectar 2 Updated and successfully passed plugin Manager. Finally!!!"

Was this an Apple or Izotope update?
Logic Pro X 10.2.4, OSX 10.12, Mac Pro 12 Core, Apogee Quartet, Korg Kronos 73X, Nord Stage 2, Omnisphere 1 & 2, Trilian, Alchemy, Serum, NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, Mainstage 3.2.4
 
User avatar
Diego5150
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 6:24 am
Location: New York

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Tue Nov 24, 2015 10:45 am

I just received an e-mail from Izotope stating that the updates to resolve their issues with El Capitan is on there website.
Logic Pro X 10.2.4, OSX 10.12, Mac Pro 12 Core, Apogee Quartet, Korg Kronos 73X, Nord Stage 2, Omnisphere 1 & 2, Trilian, Alchemy, Serum, NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, Mainstage 3.2.4
 
User avatar
mattsvoice
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:55 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Wed Nov 25, 2015 8:03 am

So after reading a bunch of these posts, is it safe to say I CAN update to El Capitan and will have no issues with my Duet (FW)? All the posts I read, said it worked fine after the update. Yet, I'm am still skeptical since I use this for business and I can't afford for my Studio to be down.
Thx.
mattsvoice
Logic Pro X 10.2.2, Apollo Twin, iMac 21.5, OS X Yosemite, V10.10.5 , 2.9 GHz Intel Core i5, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 1024 MB
 
User avatar
fisherking
Posts: 5984
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 5:51 am
Location: yes
Contact:

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Wed Nov 25, 2015 8:50 am

mattsvoice wrote:
So after reading a bunch of these posts, is it safe to say I CAN update to El Capitan and will have no issues with my Duet (FW)? All the posts I read, said it worked fine after the update. Yet, I'm am still skeptical since I use this for business and I can't afford for my Studio to be down.
Thx.


there are so many variables, i don't think anyone can guarantee you anything. if you want to upgrade, wait until you have some downtime (ie holidays perhaps), just to play it safe...in case you have to troubleshoot anything.

the good news is...developers are updating plugins etc for 10.11. and there are resources (like this forum) to find fixes if need be.

just my thoughts (of course). 8)
LP10.6.1 • os11.3b • 2019 3.2 i7 imac • one plugin short of perfection
http://upstatebrooklyn.com
 
steveLpx1
Posts: 417
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:58 am

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:29 am

...carboncopy (NOT timemachine for reasons stated above) and go for it...my solution...but make sure to set aside several hours for the transfers...maybe even several days, as suggested.../s~
mbp13/e2011 | 2.7ghz.i7 | 16gig.ram | 512g/1tb ssds | osx 10.14.6
mbp16/e2020 | 2.3ghz i9 | 16gig.ram | 1tb ssd | osx 11.2.3
logic10.5.1/10.6.1 | reaper6.16/64 | focusrite.2i2 | parallels/win7/win10
 
User avatar
mattsvoice
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:55 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:51 am

fisherking wrote:
mattsvoice wrote:
So after reading a bunch of these posts, is it safe to say I CAN update to El Capitan and will have no issues with my Duet (FW)? All the posts I read, said it worked fine after the update. Yet, I'm am still skeptical since I use this for business and I can't afford for my Studio to be down.
Thx.


there are so many variables, i don't think anyone can guarantee you anything. if you want to upgrade, wait until you have some downtime (ie holidays perhaps), just to play it safe...in case you have to troubleshoot anything.

the good news is...developers are updating plugins etc for 10.11. and there are resources (like this forum) to find fixes if need be.

just my thoughts (of course). 8)


Yeah, it's always disconcerting when this type of thing arises. You want to upgrade the OS, (even though this is primarily maintenance fixes)...but eventually, I'm going to have to. Just don't know what AI to go with since I use this for Voice overs only. Have to do some research.
mattsvoice
Logic Pro X 10.2.2, Apollo Twin, iMac 21.5, OS X Yosemite, V10.10.5 , 2.9 GHz Intel Core i5, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 1024 MB
 
User avatar
sunbambino
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:05 pm

ThankU to Eric and everyone here for this posting which - sorry to say it - leaves me feeling less alone in the El Cap mountains.

Truly gutted to know my beloved Ensemble is history. Having said that I have so far had no issues I would associate with interface probs, anyone else?
Macbook Pro 16", Logic 10.6.1, Apogee Element, Adam A7x, Drop+ HE 4XX, Andy Crockett JC1, Fender Tele w TriplePlay
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Topic Author
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:41 am

sunbambino wrote:
ThankU to Eric ...


You're welcome! :D
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
User avatar
macray
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 2:34 pm
Location: Latvia,Riga
Contact:

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Sun Nov 29, 2015 12:36 am

Logic Pro X 10.4.4
MacMini(2018) 3.2 GHz 6-core 8th gen Intel Core i7 16 GB 1TB SSD:
MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7-16GB RAM -1TB SSD
Yamaha AG06/03
 
markno999
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:00 pm

Re: OS X El Capitan - Not supported Software and Hardware

Mon Dec 07, 2015 7:42 am

Line 6 sent out an email on 12/4/15 announcing that an update (Audio/MIDI Driver version 7.5.7) was released for El Capitan.. Looks like it addresses most of their hardware devices. They recommend completely uninstalling previous versions prior to installing this version..

Announcement here::
http://line6.com/support/forum-0/announ ... 25xq4nrqcf

Regards
Logic Pro X 10.4.8
OS X 10.14.6
MacBook Pro Late 2013
Intel 2.6Ghz i7
16GB RAM
1TB SSD hard drive
6TB Lacie Thunderbolt External HD
Apollo Quad Audio Interface
Apollo Twin Audio Interface