A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
volovicg
Moderator
Topic Author
Posts: 2862
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:27 am
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:22 am

7 Ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions ( I can think of and all built into Logic )

Click on the region to select it.
make sure Follow tempo & Pitch is checked in the region inspector
Set the transpose parameter to +2 in the region inspector.

See below...
Image

Another way add the pitch shifter to channel strip. Change semitones to 2, Mix to 100% and 200 cents ( +2 semitones).

Image

Another way is to add the AUPITCH Plugin -

Image


Another way is to use flex pitch....

Turn it on, highlight all... Drag up two semitones....

Image

Yet another way is to use Time & Pitch Machine.

Image



Did I miss any? - Oh yea! - forgot about the transpose track.

Image


and remembered another - you can change the key signature for loop and bounce them out to new keys

Image





If you have polyphonic material or want large transposition swings my favorite is still Melodyne.
 Logic Pro X Certified : Logic Pro X 10.6.1: OS X 11.1 (Big Sur)
2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core I7 : 32GB Memory : 2-1TB SSD ; 4 Drobo's 48TB combined
MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2019) - 2.3 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
Presonus StudioLive 16 Series III (Digital Audio Interface and Control surface for Logic)
Roland FR-8X : Roland A-PRO ; Ketron SD-90 ; I-Connectivity Mio XL Midi Hub/Router (Networked), BCF2000, BCR2000, Novation Zero SLKMKII
 
DanRad
Posts: 1158
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 9:17 am
Location: Los Angeles, cA
Contact:

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Sun Jul 31, 2016 5:18 pm

Have you tried my Digital Capo®
Mac Pro 3.33 6 Core
10.13.6
Logic 10.3.3
Taurus
 
User avatar
rsilverst
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Wed Jan 18, 2017 11:47 am

The only one of these 7 methods that I could get to work is the destructive edit of Audio File using Functions --> Tempo and Pitch operations.

When I try to use the Pitch Shift plug-in, no matter what I do, the processed audio sounds glitchy.

When I try to use the Follow Tempo and Transpose region operations, absolutely nothing happens. In fact, I couldn't get both of those controls to appear simultaneously.

In the end, I was able to achieve my goal via destructive audio file edit (a copy of my original, so I didn't actually destroy anything), but for me it's 1 way, not 7.
Focusrite Saffire Pro 14
Yamaha HS80M & KRK Rokit 5 Monitors
SM Pro Audio M-Patch 2 Stereo Controller
Logic Pro X 10.2.4
Mid-2011 Mac Mini
macOS Sierra 10.12.2
2.3 GHz Intel Core i5
8 GB RAM
Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD (application drive)
G-Drive Thunderbolt 1 TB SATA (data drive)
 
User avatar
keano12
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 4:03 pm

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:15 pm

I tried to find the automate transpose track but nothing shows up?
 
Remones
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 1:33 am

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Fri Jun 30, 2017 1:38 am

i am sorry, but i tried  to use Time & Pitch Machine to change audio regions while it seemed no work :(
 
JakobP
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Fri Jun 30, 2017 8:21 am

The Transpose Track is among the Global Tracks on top in the tracks view, it might be necessary to control-click one of the global tracks and select "Show Transposition".
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • 240GB USB3 system SSD • Apple Thunderbolt Display • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
User avatar
keano12
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 4:03 pm

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:57 am

JakobP wrote:
The Transpose Track is among the Global Tracks on top in the tracks view, it might be necessary to control-click one of the global tracks and select "Show Transposition".

Thanks I will look that up. Can I ask... if I chose to change my song from 75bpm to 76bpm what is best option for that for audio?
 
JakobP
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Sun Jul 02, 2017 1:20 pm

Try posting a new thread, you'll probably get more response that way.
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • 240GB USB3 system SSD • Apple Thunderbolt Display • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Tue Jul 25, 2017 7:04 am

The new Transpose and Fine Tune parameters make this a lot easier now.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
BryanHill
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:42 pm

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Sat Aug 12, 2017 12:08 am

Thanks for sharing the helpful pictures.
 
Koun
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 2:04 am

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Thu Feb 01, 2018 12:45 am

Thanks for that article! I had unwanted pitchin' probably due to changes in tempo, and unchecking the "follow tempo and pitch" box saved it!
 
User avatar
dysamoria
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:17 pm
Location: The Corporate States of America

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Wed Mar 21, 2018 6:13 am

Is there a way to use Flex Pitch to pitch slide a clip?

i'm working on a glitchy industrial experiment and i have a stretched snare i want to slide upward in pitch as it progresses. Flex Pitch doesn't even show me any useful info, probably because it's not naturally pitched like Logic's developers had in mind. The only thing i can think to do is insert a Pitch Shift plugin and automate the fine pitch control.

EDIT: While that technically works, it's too fine a change for what i want. Any other ideas?
-jace

Logic Pro 10.4.8 (& sometimes Logic Studio 9.1.8).
MacBook Pro 5,5 (8GB RAM, Mac OS 10.6.8 & 10.13.6)
iMac 12,2 (16GB RAM, Mac OS 10.6.8 & 10.13.6)
iPhone 6s and iPad Pro 12.9" (1st gen), iOS 12.4.1 with Logic Remote.
 
musikmike
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2019 7:04 pm

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:47 am

keano12 wrote:
JakobP wrote:
The Transpose Track is among the Global Tracks on top in the tracks view, it might be necessary to control-click one of the global tracks and select "Show Transposition".

Thanks I will look that up. Can I ask... if I chose to change my song from 75bpm to 76bpm what is best option for that for audio?

Easiest way I know is the following:
1.Double click the audio region>Click file>Functions>Time&Pitch Machine
2. Enter 75 where it says "tempo" under "original" and enter 76 under "Destination"
3. Click Process and Paste
Hope this helps
 
User avatar
ryangray
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 8:24 am

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Tue Mar 09, 2021 1:08 am

Thanks for giving us this useful information but I'm little confused about 'How can set pitch exactly'. Please tell us briefly on other thread.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84048
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Tue Mar 09, 2021 1:14 am

ryangray wrote:
Thanks for giving us this useful information but I'm little confused about 'How can set pitch exactly'. Please tell us briefly on other threat.

Use a combination of the Transpose and Fine Tune parameters:

tuning.png
tuning.png (9.57 KiB) Viewed 2740 times
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
ryangray
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 8:24 am

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Tue Mar 09, 2021 1:28 am

Thank you very much @david
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84048
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Tue Mar 09, 2021 1:36 am

ryangray wrote:
Thank you very much @david

You're welcome! :)
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Rory Loughlin
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2021 6:12 am

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Mon Mar 29, 2021 11:50 pm

For convenience, make the Gain window float by simply dragging its header. To return the window back to the Inspector, simply close the floating window by clicking the cross in the top left corner.
I like music and panda panda slot , but more music of course
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84048
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: 7 ways to change the pitch of Audio Regions

Mon Mar 29, 2021 11:53 pm

Rory Loughlin wrote:
For convenience, make the Gain window float by simply dragging its header. To return the window back to the Inspector, simply close the floating window by clicking the cross in the top left corner.

Thanks for adding that tip Rory (and welcome to Logic Pro Help). The window is called the Region inspector. Another method to toggle the floating Region inspector is to press Shift-Option-R.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM