A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Mark R
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:50 am
Location: Tumwater, WA

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Tue May 05, 2020 5:08 pm

Thanks for testing my half baked theory, I'm glad you can download 17GIG in less than 3 hours. Did it mess up the ability of both computers to share the same external Library?
Logic 10.5.1 | Mojave | retina iMac 4GHz i7 32GB
Logic 10.4.8 | High Sierra | MacMini 2.3GHz, i7 16GB
 
tootone
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:34 pm
Location: Branson, MO
Contact:

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Sat May 23, 2020 1:12 pm

This topic has a lot of related info on Sound Library location, also possibly a way to avoid re-downloading GB of sounds again. viewtopic.php?f=1&t=140462
2015 MacBook Air Logic 10.5.1
Late 2013 Mac Pro Logic 10.5.1
http://www.theduttons.com
 
bocksucker
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:50 pm

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:54 pm

Hey guys

So i tried following the steps you provided but now when i try to relocate the sound library the drive i want the sound library on is greyed out and it says "sound library files exist here"
Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 8.52.44 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 8.52.44 PM.png (34.25 KiB) Viewed 4075 times
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 83549
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:59 pm

bocksucker wrote:
Hey guys

So i tried following the steps you provided but now when i try to relocate the sound library the drive i want the sound library on is greyed out and it says "sound library files exist here"Screen Shot 2020-06-18 at 8.52.44 PM.png

Make sure you follow the entire #1 step here: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=143985#p755405

Your manager shouldn't see any existing sound library files after you've successfully accomplished #1.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
ellismarkman
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:47 pm

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:51 pm

Can someone who has downloaded all the content upload their “receipt?” That way I can just make logic think I have the content downloaded without having to download 60+gb again. These are the steps I’m trying to do: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/8627088
 
niquekayz
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 7:12 pm

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Sat Sep 19, 2020 5:20 pm

JEFFHARDY.PRO wrote:
David Nahmani wrote:
I don't think that's possible, unfortunately. :(


That's unfortunate and seems like an oversight by the LPX developers. I feel like there should be a hack...thanks for your reply, David.


It's a huge oversight especially if you've got multiple people working at the same location, all using Logic, and they ALL need their own individual sound libraries -- what a colossal waste of storage space. Honestly, they should just move the whole thing to iCloud. I don't see any downsides to that unless you're air gapped. It would probably save Apple bandwidth in the long run, people wouldn't need to download stuff over and over again and they would only download what they actually need to use at any given time.
 
jackoverfull
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:11 am

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Sat Sep 26, 2020 5:46 am

I wanted to do something similar and for me the easiest and most flexible way is just using symlynks…

1) Close logic;
2) Locate what you want to move in the finder and move it to the new location. For example I just moved the EXS Factory Samples 10GB folder in /Library/Application Support/Logic/ to another HD;
3) In the terminal write
ln -s /drop\ here/the\ moved/folder "/path to the original location".

As always in the terminal you either put the path into "quotes" of use backslash\ before\ each\ space.
In my case this was:
ln -s /Volumes/JackBook\ Pro/Supporto/Logic/EXS\ Factory\ Samples /Library/Application\ Support/Logic/EXS Factory\ Samples

4) Open Logic and it will work without knowing the difference from before.

With this method you can chose what to move where and actually have a library spanning multiple HDs if you want.
 
AMD
Posts: 547
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:36 am
Location: London, England

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Tue Nov 24, 2020 12:53 am

Many thanks to helment for the excellent workaround. Does anyone know if this will work for the essential sounds?

I’d like to put a copy of logic on another partition for troubleshooting and I only need the essential sounds. Is there a way I can copy them to the new partition without downloading them again?
MBP Retina, Mid 2012. 2.6Ghz i7, 16GB RAM, Logic X 10.6.1, OSX 10.15.7, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Komplete 10 Ultimate, Komplete Kontrol S61.
 
jackoverfull
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:11 am

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Tue Nov 24, 2020 2:05 am

AMD wrote:
Many thanks to helment for the excellent workaround. Does anyone know if this will work for the essential sounds?

I’d like to put a copy of logic on another partition for troubleshooting and I only need the essential sounds. Is there a way I can copy them to the new partition without downloading them again?

Sure, see my previous post.
 
AMD
Posts: 547
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:36 am
Location: London, England

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Tue Nov 24, 2020 3:26 am

jackoverfull wrote:
AMD wrote:
Many thanks to helment for the excellent workaround. Does anyone know if this will work for the essential sounds?

I’d like to put a copy of logic on another partition for troubleshooting and I only need the essential sounds. Is there a way I can copy them to the new partition without downloading them again?

Sure, see my previous post.


Thanks jackoverfull. I'm not sure which sounds exactly that Logic considers 'essential'. Do they reside in a particular folder?
MBP Retina, Mid 2012. 2.6Ghz i7, 16GB RAM, Logic X 10.6.1, OSX 10.15.7, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Komplete 10 Ultimate, Komplete Kontrol S61.
 
jackoverfull
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:11 am

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Tue Nov 24, 2020 3:35 am

Give a look into /Library/Application Support/Logic, personally I moved the whole EXS Factory Samples folder, which in my case is around 10GB, but probably not everything there is strictly "essential".
 
AMD
Posts: 547
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:36 am
Location: London, England

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Tue Nov 24, 2020 3:51 am

jackoverfull wrote:
Give a look into /Library/Application Support/Logic, personally I moved the whole EXS Factory Samples folder, which in my case is around 10GB, but probably not everything there is strictly "essential".


Thanks. Unfortunately my EXS Factory Samples folder is almost 45GB in size. However, when I open Logic on my new partition and it asks me to download the essential sounds, it says the download is 1.69GB, which isn't too bad, so it's probably easier just to do that in this case.
MBP Retina, Mid 2012. 2.6Ghz i7, 16GB RAM, Logic X 10.6.1, OSX 10.15.7, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Komplete 10 Ultimate, Komplete Kontrol S61.
 
AMD
Posts: 547
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:36 am
Location: London, England

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Sun Nov 29, 2020 3:39 am

jackoverfull wrote:
I wanted to do something similar and for me the easiest and most flexible way is just using symlynks…

1) Close logic;
2) Locate what you want to move in the finder and move it to the new location. For example I just moved the EXS Factory Samples 10GB folder in /Library/Application Support/Logic/ to another HD;
3) In the terminal write
ln -s /drop\ here/the\ moved/folder "/path to the original location".

As always in the terminal you either put the path into "quotes" of use backslash\ before\ each\ space.
In my case this was:
ln -s /Volumes/JackBook\ Pro/Supporto/Logic/EXS\ Factory\ Samples /Library/Application\ Support/Logic/EXS Factory\ Samples

4) Open Logic and it will work without knowing the difference from before.

With this method you can chose what to move where and actually have a library spanning multiple HDs if you want.


Hi jackoverfull. I decided to give this a go, but couldn't get it to work. I was wondering if you might point out the error of my ways? I'm not savvy with using Terminal at all.

1. I installed Logic 10.6 on a new partition of my internal SSD, but didn't download any of the extra content, just the essential sounds only.

2. The folder containing my full Logic library is on my external HD.

3. I opened Terminal and typed 'ln -s'.

4. I then dragged the folders into Terminal to copy their paths.

5. I pressed return.

6. I opened Logic, but all the loops and everything in the Library is pending download.

I've attached a screenshot of my Terminal window. I'd be very grateful if you could point out what I have done wrong.

Thanks.

Edit: I managed to create the symlynk in the original location in /Library/Application Support/Logic/, but when I open Logic, all the loops and presets etc are still showing as pending. I can't load or use anything. Is there another step I need to take?

Thanks.

Screenshot 2020-11-29 at 17.59.34.png
Screenshot 2020-11-29 at 17.59.34.png (31.86 KiB) Viewed 2828 times
MBP Retina, Mid 2012. 2.6Ghz i7, 16GB RAM, Logic X 10.6.1, OSX 10.15.7, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Komplete 10 Ultimate, Komplete Kontrol S61.
 
AMD
Posts: 547
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:36 am
Location: London, England

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Sun Nov 29, 2020 11:52 am

ellismarkman wrote:
Can someone who has downloaded all the content upload their “receipt?” That way I can just make logic think I have the content downloaded without having to download 60+gb again. These are the steps I’m trying to do: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/8627088


I have downloaded all the content, but how do I know which receipts I need to upload?
MBP Retina, Mid 2012. 2.6Ghz i7, 16GB RAM, Logic X 10.6.1, OSX 10.15.7, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Komplete 10 Ultimate, Komplete Kontrol S61.
 
AMD
Posts: 547
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:36 am
Location: London, England

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Sun Nov 29, 2020 12:10 pm

Mark R wrote:
Good point madk0w, same behavior here.

I just checked on my laptop that had only downloaded the "Essential sound and instruments". In the Library Manager it still shows that only that portion is installed. Yet the entire content is working on this laptop. This laptop possibly never stored "receipts", acknowledging that it had downloaded the packages.

Someone could try the test below to see what happens. I'm chicken to try it because everything is working so well on both macs.

Edit: Don't bother with the following test, madk0w found that it doesn't work.

    Check box one of the "uninstalled" library packages and click Install. Logic might then see that this library package is actually installed and quickly update its status to Installed without having to download anything.

    If that works then proceed to Check box all the other packages. What might possibly happen is that legitimate receipts from apple might be then be bestowed on your computer.

Pure conjecture this. Anyone volunteer to test or even remember where apple puts these "receipts"? I would test, but I have slow internet here. :)

Edit: Further notes - madk0w reports in the next post that the above does not work.
- So at this point a simple solution is to only download new content to your master "Library" external drive using only the original computer that actually downloaded the library content. On all other computers you have set up to share this drive, ignore their Library Managers.


Hi. Are your apple loops all working? Mine are all showing as 'pending download'.

Edit: I forgot I needed to move my apple loops folder to my external HD and then create a symlynk in the Library folder on the Macintosh HD pointing to the apple loops folder on my external HD. I then had to reindex the apple loops and all appears to be well for now.
MBP Retina, Mid 2012. 2.6Ghz i7, 16GB RAM, Logic X 10.6.1, OSX 10.15.7, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Komplete 10 Ultimate, Komplete Kontrol S61.
 
mrorange
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2021 11:29 am

Re: "Point" to already downloaded Logic Sound Library on an external hard drive

Sat Jan 09, 2021 11:39 am

Here's something strange.

I had already made symbolic links for Library>Audio>Apple Loops and Impulse Responses as well as Library>Application Support>Apple, Garage Band and Logic and everything was hunky dory (awesome).

Hard drive crash. Erase, reformat, copy files from back up. Same name, same path.

Open Logic ... "The Sound Library directory could not be found" ... Reset:Ignore:Retry

Ignore ... ALL INSTRUMENTS AND SOUNDS WORK AND LOOPS ARE INTACT!

I reindexed all loops. Still the same message. Made the symbolic links again. Same message.

I don't really care because it appears to work but now I won't be able to download any new sounds. GarageBand, same thing. All sounds are there but same message. And it is telling me that there are new sounds to download.

Everything is greyed out in Sound Library except for "ReInstall Sound Library".

For the love of all things holy ... how do I force this thing to make sense?

EDIT:
WOW!! Should have followed this solution before posting: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=143985#p755405 ... it worked! Thanks @helment.