A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 83500
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Decipher Logic's mysterious key command symbols

Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:26 am

Logic's key command equivalents

keycommandsymbols.jpg
keycommandsymbols.jpg (11.91 KiB) Viewed 61686 times


Equivalents for keyboards without a numeric keypad:

Home = fn + ←
End = fn + →
Page Up = fn + ↑
Page Down = fn + ↓
Last edited by David Nahmani on Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
ChicoSatis
Posts: 1860
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 12:20 pm

 

Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:35 am

Nice.

Really good idea. :D
MBP 4gb ram, Mac OS 10.5.8. Logic Pro 9.1, Apogee Duet, Pod XT Pro

"By the light of the night it'll all seem alright. I'll get you a satanic mechanic."
 
Grizzly Jones
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 5:32 am
Location: New York/NJ

 

Wed Sep 10, 2008 8:30 am

I noticed the * is for record but when i hit the 8 or * button to record in Logic it does not record. Is this the correct key command for this ?
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 83500
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Wed Sep 10, 2008 8:42 am

Grizzly Jones wrote:
I noticed the * is for record but when i hit the 8 or * button to record in Logic it does not record. Is this the correct key command for this ?


First make sure it's really assigned to record on your machine (Logic 8 now has it assigned to "R" on laptops). If it is, then try Fn-P (notice the little * on the P key?).
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
docwest37206
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 6:31 pm
Location: Nashville,TN

 

Wed Sep 10, 2008 9:54 am

Grizzly,
Default is "*" of the numeric keypad at the right of the apple keyboard.
NOT the numerals above the letter keys.
Hope this helps.

David,
thanks for the command equivalents list. That's a useful reference.
Mac Pro 1.1 3ghz, 10gb RAM. OS 10.54
Logic Studio 8.02
M-audio 2646
 
helletofte
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:33 am

 

Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:08 pm

Many thanks.I live in Denmark and use a Danish keyboard ,so now I know what you Americans are talking about,.........wel most of the time.
Keep the music flowing
good luck
Greg
 
Grizzly Jones
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 5:32 am
Location: New York/NJ

 

Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:38 pm

hey guys thanks for this info...Im coming from the PC world and just getting used to the mac keyboards, thanks
 
User avatar
PaulSC
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:37 pm

 

Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:19 pm

I get the "on numeric keypad" symbol whenever I make a key command assignment using "Learn by Key Position" -- even if the key position is NOT on the numeric keypad (e.g. if it's a regular alphabetical key).

Image

What's up with that?
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

 

Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:30 pm

PaulSC wrote:
I get the "on numeric keypad" symbol whenever I make a key command assignment using "Learn by Key Position" -- even if the key position is NOT on the numeric keypad (e.g. if it's a regular alphabetical key).

Image

What's up with that?


Same here!
I always thought that the little rectangular icon ment that it was learned by key position.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 83500
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:04 pm

PaulSC wrote:
I get the "on numeric keypad" symbol whenever I make a key command assignment using "Learn by Key Position" -- even if the key position is NOT on the numeric keypad (e.g. if it's a regular alphabetical key).

Image

What's up with that?


It appears you're right! My mistake.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
PaulSC
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:37 pm

 

Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:05 pm

(Or sort of Apple's mistake, for making the icon look so much like a numeric keypad...)
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 83500
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:19 pm

OK I've corrected the list... thanks a lot for spotting the mistake!
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

 

Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:31 pm

David wrote:
PaulSC wrote:
I get the "on numeric keypad" symbol whenever I make a key command assignment using "Learn by Key Position" -- even if the key position is NOT on the numeric keypad (e.g. if it's a regular alphabetical key).

Image

What's up with that?


It appears you're right! My mistake.


I have a lot of custom key commands that I am forced to use due to the Swedish keyboard that I'm using.
For some of the commands I was forced to use the "Leran by key label" option to get them to recognise the key. Thats how I found the meaning.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
techtrek
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 am

 

Tue Mar 24, 2009 11:27 pm

Priceless post. thanks
MacBook 2GHz | Logic Pro 8
 
User avatar
lyghtningrod
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: San Jose

 

Tue May 19, 2009 8:54 pm

I just learned this a few days ago, thought I'd share it.

system preferences --> international --> input menu --> keyboard viewer

check it, then close out of system preferences. An American (or other national) flag will appear in the upper right menu bar. Click on the flag and click Show Keyboard Viewer

A floating keyboard will appear and shadow all your moves on the computer keyboard. And best of all, it shows ALL the right symbols that Apple uses.

You can have more than one keyboard in the list, so you can switch between two languages. Just scroll down and pic the maps you need
Mac Pro Quad 2.66GHz 8GB Ram | Logic 9.1.1 | OS 10.6.3 | Korg 25 controller
 
User avatar
bdtunes
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 9:25 am
Location: Los Angeles

 

Wed May 27, 2009 2:56 pm

lyghtningrod wrote:
I just learned this a few days ago, thought I'd share it.

system preferences --> international --> input menu --> keyboard viewer

check it, then close out of system preferences. An American (or other national) flag will appear in the upper right menu bar. Click on the flag and click Show Keyboard Viewer

A floating keyboard will appear and shadow all your moves on the computer keyboard. And best of all, it shows ALL the right symbols that Apple uses.

You can have more than one keyboard in the list, so you can switch between two languages. Just scroll down and pic the maps you need


Very nice. Thank you.
G5 dual 2.3 OSX 10.5.7 10.5GB DRAM
LP 7.2.3

composition - audio mixer - keyboards
bdt@pauertunes.tv
 
catman2u
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:01 am

another mysterious symbol...!?

Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:04 pm

Hi,
thanks this is most helpful.
ever seen this one:

thanks so much!
-Shay
Attachments
what's this.gif
what's this.gif (4.6 KiB) Viewed 57174 times
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 83500
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:09 pm

Is that Option-6?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: another mysterious symbol...!?

Tue Jun 02, 2009 1:35 pm

catman2u wrote:
Hi,
thanks this is most helpful.
ever seen this one:

thanks so much!
-Shay


It's the key next to 1 on my swedish keyboard.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
User avatar
lyghtningrod
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: San Jose

Re: another mysterious symbol...!?

Thu Jun 18, 2009 6:03 pm

catman2u wrote:
Hi,
thanks this is most helpful.
ever seen this one:

thanks so much!
-Shay


I just found out a whole new set of symbols appear if you press the Option key, and a second set appear if you press Shift-Option.

The symbol you ask for § is Option 6.

` ¡ ™ £ ¢ ∞ § ¶ • ª º – ≠

That is Option and the top row of the keyboard
Mac Pro Quad 2.66GHz 8GB Ram | Logic 9.1.1 | OS 10.6.3 | Korg 25 controller