A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Modulator Channel Strip

Wed Jun 16, 2021 9:51 am

I'll post the settings later today but here's a preview of what you can do with this.


As I mention, even though I show I can control 32 parameters, create the addition Channel Strip settings to support 16 MIDI channels and now you can control up to 256 parameters on any effect/instrument, this includes audio/midi tracks as well.
You can eventually MIDI record and after that, turn off all the Modulators and just use the record MIDI to now control the parameters, up to 32 or if you create the additional Channel Strip settings, 256.
Technically you can just MIDI record groups as you go along just using the existing 2 Channel Strip settings.
Example, MIDI record 32 parameters, then change to different parameters, 32 in total and MIDI record, now you have 64 parameters that your controlling but thru a capture MIDI recorded regions.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.5 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Modulator Channel Strip

Thu Jun 17, 2021 9:43 am

Ha, I forgot about ENV output, makes sense to include that.
That's what I'm testing now.
LFOandENV.png
LFOandENV.png (708.3 KiB) Viewed 1581 times

If you notice, I did put the Paramter Map in a Layer now. I didn't want to clutter up Clicks&Ports
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.5 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Modulator Channel Strip

Thu Jun 17, 2021 11:08 am

Okay, this is 16 Modulators being sent but it's actually 32 streams, one half is LFO and the other half is ENV.

In a normal keyboard playing thru MIDI way, using all 16 MIDI channels wouldn't be an issue, but because the Modulator is sending so much data, there's going to be an issue with how much data I can send over a single IAC

I'm going to test for what that limit is.

I don't think this is a factor but I'm doing all this on my MacMini M1.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.5 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Modulator Channel Strip

Sat Jun 19, 2021 9:44 am

So everything is contained in the attached Logic Pro project.
The elements can also be inserted into existing projects as well.

In order to use the Channel Strip settings, 1 or all 8 of them in other Logic projects, just save the Channel Strip settings to your default location using Logic to do that.
SaveAs.png
SaveAs.png (93.9 KiB) Viewed 1514 times

To use the one of the Enviroment Layers specific for the Modulator, you'd have to import the Layer into your existing Logic project. (The video shows that)

Here's a video how to create a fresh Logic Project using the elements from the ModulatorSetup project


You can work with only LFO from the Modulator or both LFO and ENV from the Modulator.
One thing I found out is, the ENV that is applied to the LFO within Modulator, can be set separately from the LFO data as well. So one parameter on an effect/instrument can get the full LFO with ENV processed yet, another parameter on a effect/instrument can get the same ENV, but only the ENV, minus the LFO.

UPDATE: I've delete the Logic Project here but check below for the updated Logic Project.
Last edited by ValliSoftware on Sun Jun 20, 2021 2:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.5 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Modulator Channel Strip

Sat Jun 19, 2021 5:59 pm

You can even change the reached value back to it's original CC and use a Modifier MIDIFX and learn a plug-in parameter.


If you do this, you can use a Scripter before the Modifier and modify the CC within the Scripter before it reaches the Modifier.
Scripter Before.png
Scripter Before.png (13.3 KiB) Viewed 1481 times
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.5 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Modulator Channel Strip

Sun Jun 20, 2021 2:50 pm

So I added another set of Parameter Map layers, but these will have it's reached value adjusted to the original CC.
So now you don't need to Monitor a parameter to get it's Fader value settings.
Now you can use the Modifier MIDIFX and learn a plug-in parameter and set the incoming CC to the CC you're wanting the parameter to modulate too.
In the Parameter Map layer, you just have to cable to the effect/instrument only.

The original Parameter Maps are still there so you'll see a total of 8 layers.
The ones adjusted back to it's original CC are labeled ending with "CC"
Attachments
ModulatorSetup.zip
(120.37 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.5 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Modulator Channel Strip

Sun Jun 20, 2021 2:53 pm

Since this a Scripter and Environment setup, there's nothing stopping you from using any Environment object prior to sending a message to the effect/instrument.
Remember, the effect can be on either a MIDI or Audio track.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.5 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
ValliSoftware
Topic Author
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Modulator Channel Strip

Tue Jun 22, 2021 9:58 am

As a side note.
I didn't realize there's already a Modulator for Audio Tracks.
Notice the AutoFilter has an LFO and ENVELOPE but it also has a PHASE adjustment as well.
This is a cool Modulator to use on audio tracks.

MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.5 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed