A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 15998
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: HOW TO use the setting files in this forum

Tue May 22, 2012 8:07 am

Woogadahoomph wrote:
i have still had lots and lots of trouble working out where to put banks of presets of settings for 3rd party plugins to use. Have literally spent hours trying to find where to put them on many different days. When i find the spot i think it is and copy them they then don't show up in the presets area of the plugin in Logic.


Plug-in settings for 3rd plug-ins (file extension .aupreset) go in Users/your username/Library/Audio/Presets/ and of course, you can create subfolders within this location if need be.

3rd Party Plugin factory presets database for Logic

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
jdoo
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:08 pm

Re: HOW TO use the setting files in this forum

Sat May 25, 2013 9:04 am

Woogadahoomph wrote:
David wrote:
To use a setting file found in this forum:


• Place Plug-in Settings (ends with .pst) in {Home}/Library/Application Support/Logic/Plug-In Settings/{Name-of-plug-in}/.


While i understand this, i have still had lots and lots of trouble working out where to put banks of presets of settings for 3rd party plugins to use. Have literally spent hours trying to find where to put them on many different days. When i find the spot i think it is and copy them they then don't show up in the presets area of the plugin in Logic.

Hope this makes sense and hope you can help!


There were some good clarifying questions when you asked this question a while ago. viewtopic.php?f=10&t=91035&p=473221#p473221

Specifically, EricBradley mentioned that it depends on if you want to use Logic's plug-in window preset, or if you want to use a proprietary preset. The thread that jordito linked to, is an excellent resource for saved presets in aupreset format. There are also preset formats supplied by sw synth vendors, typically in a proprietary format. To add to the confusion, you can save settings into Logic Channel Strips, which include not just the patch, but other settings. Lastly - depending on what you're trying to save, and how you're trying to access it -- sometimes the directory is hidden by default, making navigating to the directory a challenge (initially). An example of this- which is often pointed out here, is the "Library" directory under Mac HD-> Users -> <yourname> -> There is a well documented post on how you can 'unhide' that directory... which makes things easier later on. Point is - there are two "Library" directories in the Mac OS world -- and one of them is where Logic AU Presets are hidden away.

Anyway - in summary. You have instruments provided by Logic or third party vendors. You also have presets, provided by third party vendors (sometimes only accessible from their GUI - unless you save a Logic aupreset version). Also, there are locations that you can drop presets in Logic, so they show up in Logic's Media / Library. There are also Channel Strip settings - which allow you to save presets (actually .. a lot more than presets) so they can be pulled up from the Channel Strip heading. Confusing? (Yes indeed)

Personally.. I put everything into aupreset format (see the link to the megathread that was provided by jordito). It makes browsing to favorite patches (from within Logic) pretty painless. I also have a few saved off channel strip settings - that I use between Logic and MainStage..
Logic Pro 10.4.1 MainStage 3.3.2 OS X 10.14 iMac i5 2.7 8 GB
 
JohnRoman
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:27 pm

Re: HOW TO use the setting files in this forum

Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:05 pm

Thank you both for responding so quickly!

QUESTION: David, both the ".cst" and ".pst" files are in their correct locations on my computer according to your pathway instructions.

HOWEVER, "Clean Room" is still NOT an option in the drop down menu path following:

Legacy / Logic / Spaces / Large Space / ( here is where "Clean Spaces" used to be a part of the drop down options, but is no longer).

So I think I need to rephrase/update my question to "how do I get it back into the drop down menu option?" -- As it appears that I didn't actually delete it from my computer (since those 2 files are in their correct locations as stated above), merely from the menu options in the Inspector.

Thank you again in advance!

John
JohnRoman
• Logic 10.0.6
• OS X.9.2
• MacBook Pro
• 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
• 4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
• Duet 2
• M-Audio Axiom 25
 
courtlaw
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 8:48 am

Re: HOW TO use the setting files in this forum

Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:26 am

David Nahmani wrote:
To use a setting file found in this forum:

1) Download the file.
The file will end up in your "Downloads" folder, inside your Home folder. An easy way to get to the file is to Control-click the file in your browser's download window and choose "Show in Finder".

2) Drag and drop the file in its correct location.
• Move Patches (.patch) to {Home}/Library/Application Support/Logic/Patches/{Channel Strip Type}/.
• Move Channel Strip Settings (.cst) to {Home}/Library/Application Support/Logic/Channel Strip Settings/{Channel Strip Type}/.
• Move Plug-in Settings[ (.pst) to {Home}/Library/Application Support/Logic/Plug-In Settings/{Name-of-plug-in}/.

To access {Home}/Library/ hold down Option as you click the Go menu in the Finder.



Hi Dave

For some reason Logic installed the folders for patches, channel strip settings, key commands, Project Templates, Plug-In Settings, etc under Home/Music/Audio Music Apps

The only thing in my Library Folder/Application Support/Logic are the following 2 files: "DefaultAssets.plist" and "LoopsDatabaseV08.bd"

I'm really confused.

- Steve
- Steve

2013 iMac Late model i7 3.5 Ghz quad-core, 24 gigs ram running Pro Tools 12.5 & Logic 10.3
PC slave, i7 6700 4.0 Ghz quad-core, 64 gigs ram, running VEPro6, 3 SSD drives
Multiple external thunderbolt SSD hard drives
UAD Apollo Twin Duo
Roland RD800 88Keys
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 84133
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: HOW TO use the setting files in this forum

Wed Apr 22, 2015 3:49 pm

courtlaw wrote:
For some reason Logic installed the folders for patches, channel strip settings, key commands, Project Templates, Plug-In Settings, etc under Home/Music/Audio Music Apps

That's fine, that's the new location Apple uses (rather than having to access the Library), so you can place your settings files there instead. The end result is the same.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM