A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Joel Hazard
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 7:14 am

Using 2 or more macs simultaneously thru ethernet

Thu Jun 17, 2021 8:42 am

Hello all, I am curious about hooking up my computers using Ethernet; interested in whether Logic 10.6 can work alongside 9.1.8?




2011 iMac i5, 2012 Mac mini i7, Motu 8pre, Kurzweil K2000, Logic 10.6.2, 9.1.8, Spitfire libraries, etc
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 9815
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Using 2 or more macs simultaneously thru ethernet

Thu Jun 17, 2021 10:58 pm

I never tried that.
But both are so different in many aspects that at best you can expect to sync them...
LogicPro 10.6.3, MainStage3.5.3
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
Joel Hazard
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 7:14 am

Re: Using 2 or more macs simultaneously thru ethernet

Fri Jun 18, 2021 3:00 am

Yes, as I have been reading more about this, the idea is to be able to send MTC and midi information between computers so to lessen the workload of the main cpu while using large sample based instruments.
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 9815
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Using 2 or more macs simultaneously thru ethernet

Fri Jun 18, 2021 5:19 am

Have you heard about VEPro?
LogicPro 10.6.3, MainStage3.5.3
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Posts: 3307
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Re: Using 2 or more macs simultaneously thru ethernet

Fri Jun 18, 2021 8:57 am

+1 for vepro.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
ValliSoftware
Posts: 1075
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Using 2 or more macs simultaneously thru ethernet

Fri Jun 18, 2021 10:20 am

Joel Hazard wrote:
Hello all, I am curious about hooking up my computers using Ethernet; interested in whether Logic 10.6 can work alongside 9.1.8?




2011 iMac i5, 2012 Mac mini i7, Motu 8pre, Kurzweil K2000, Logic 10.6.2, 9.1.8, Spitfire libraries, etc

My setup is to two MacMinis using this
iConnectMIDI2+
So the audio goes Digital, not Analog, but Digital between the two MacMinis.
Also, I just use the iConnectMIDI2+ Midi ports to talk MIDI between the two.

There's no Ethernet used in fact, Ethernet was never meant to support audio, too much data.
Copy a WAV file from one computer to another over Ethernet to see why you shouldn't use audio over Ethernet. This is a single track.
If you copy 10 WAV files, that's 10 tracks you're sending over Ethernet.

I think the iConnectMIDI2+ is discontinued, so you'd probably want to look for an similar audio interface but stay away from audio over Ethernet.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.5 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.6.2) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
Joel Hazard
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 7:14 am

Re: Using 2 or more macs simultaneously thru ethernet

Fri Jun 18, 2021 8:02 pm

Hi all, I appreciate the info! Yes, have heard of VEPro, thinking it’s probably out of my cash range, but will check it out , thanks. Plus the iconnectMIDI stuff looks pretty great. My thought is to hook my rigs together being able to distribute the sample libraries throughout so I don’t max out any individual cpu
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 9815
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Using 2 or more macs simultaneously thru ethernet

Fri Jun 18, 2021 8:06 pm

I wonder why the iConnectMIDI2+ has been discontinued and why the other products aren't supporting the audio (inter CPU) interface it had...
LogicPro 10.6.3, MainStage3.5.3
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear