A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
scottkrk
Topic Author
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:35 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Wed May 04, 2016 10:06 pm

Functionality
All functionality as described in the Manual
+ Output Button switches the fader to control stereo out channel strip
+ Additional Controller Mode, fader can control any parameter, currently set to smart control 1. To access Controller Mode, first press the Output Button and then press the Bank Button

My FaderPort Setup
1. I bought the FaderPort a couple of weeks ago and updated to the 'latest' Firmware 1.3.8 http://support.presonus.com/hc/en-us/articles/210040083-FaderPort-1-3-8-firmware-Motorized-Fader-Solution  (See post 13 below for more info)
2. I added the FaderPort 64bit Bundle to LPX and LP9.1.8  (attached below, as it is no longer available at the Presonus site)
3. See my signature for my computer and software details.

How to Try
****If you haven't had experience with logic control surface preferences files read this post
http://www.logicprohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=397816 ****


1. Make sure you have quit LPX then save a copy of your existing User/Library/Preferences/com.apple.logic.pro.cs file.
2. Download the attached com.apple.logic.pro.cs  file and copy into the User/Library/Preferences directory.
3. I suggest you create a new song add 24 tracks and test the functionality before using it on existing songs.
4. If something goes wrong quit Logic and put your original com.apple.logic.pro.cs back in User/Library/Preferences.
5. Let us know if it works on your set-up.

com.apple.logic.pro.cs.zip
(3.84 KiB) Downloaded 619 times
Attachments
FaderPort.bundle.zip
(99.28 KiB) Downloaded 191 times
Last edited by scottkrk on Sat Sep 29, 2018 5:30 pm, edited 6 times in total.
Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, iMac (late 2012) i7 3.4GHz 16GB UA Apollo 8 Blackface and Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, MBP (early 2015) i5 2.9 GHz 8GB internal audio
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 78997
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Finally got Presonus FaderPort Working with LPX!

Thu May 05, 2016 5:10 pm

Great! Thank you for sharing this file. I am moving it to our file sharing section.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
lologic
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 6:24 am

Re: Finally got Presonus FaderPort Working with LPX!

Fri May 06, 2016 12:53 am

I returned mine cause I couldn't get that piece of crap to work.. maybe this "bundle" tip is relatively new.

lol
 
scottkrk
Topic Author
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:35 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Finally got Presonus FaderPort Working with LPX!

Fri May 06, 2016 1:37 am

The two solutions Presonus provide, HUI or the 64bit bundle, are both badly broken, LPX support is obviously not high on their list of priorities and Presonus tech support wasn't very helpful.

However, the hardware is well built and exactly what I wanted, so I spent hours of trial and error to get it working and I am happy to share it with others.
Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, iMac (late 2012) i7 3.4GHz 16GB UA Apollo 8 Blackface and Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, MBP (early 2015) i5 2.9 GHz 8GB internal audio
 
User avatar
Krzys
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:30 pm

Re: Finally got Presonus FaderPort Working with LPX!

Sat May 07, 2016 3:35 am

Hi

I can report all is working great with you pref file.

Thank you for this.

Krzysztof
Mac Pro 3.33 12 core
24gb ram
Logic 10.2.2
10.9.5
 
scottkrk
Topic Author
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:35 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Finally got Presonus FaderPort Working with LPX!

Sat May 07, 2016 11:11 pm

I have added a couple of useful Key commands to the controller mode.

Controller Mode (Output Button then Bank Button)
Mute Button - shows smart controls
Solo Button - shows Automation Preferences (useful for setting the Automation Quick Access Control
Rec Button - toggles Automation Quick Access Control

Update Apple have fixed this bug in 10.3 :-) broken in 10.3.1 :-( and fixed in 10.3.2   :D, broken in 10.4 :-(and fixed in 10.4.1 :D
Note there appears to be a bug in Logic's control surface feedback for the "Show/Hide Smart Controls" key command, the feedback is correct when you enter controller mode (light on if Smart Controls are visible and light off if smart controls are hidden) but when you use the button show or hide the smart controls the feedback is incorrect (i.e. light is on when the Smart controls are hidden and off when they are visible).

com.apple.logic.pro.cs.zip
(4 KiB) Downloaded 404 times
Last edited by scottkrk on Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:48 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, iMac (late 2012) i7 3.4GHz 16GB UA Apollo 8 Blackface and Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, MBP (early 2015) i5 2.9 GHz 8GB internal audio
 
User avatar
Ken Nielsen
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:44 pm

Re: Finally got Presonus FaderPort Working with LPX!

Thu May 19, 2016 11:17 am

Fantastic!!! A valuable thread with instructions and links - perfect. This worked and the Faderport is working completely as it should.

Thank You!:- )
Logic Pro X 10.2.2 / 15" MacBook Pro Retina, OSX 10.13.1, i7processor, 8GB ram, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 interface, AKG C1000S Studio Condenser Mic
 
DeanDoubleU
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:29 am

Re: Finally got Presonus FaderPort Working with LPX!

Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:38 am

This is fantastic. Thank you so much for the effort you put into this. My new Faderport works perfectly with LPX now.

Tip for new users: Make sure you use a somewhat older computer with a USB2.0 port to update the firmware on the Faderport. I can confirm that updating does not work on a macBookPro with USB3.0 ports. After updating the firmware, the faderport works great on a USB3.0 port directly on my MacBookPro. It does not seem to work well via my USB hub.

Again, thank you!
 
visionmusic
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:20 pm

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:30 pm

OMFG! What a PITA this unit has been. had it 24hrs and have spent at least 6 of them trying to get it working to a usable state.
Tried everything but couldn't get the fader working.
Did the firmware update, grabbed you cs file (thanks by the way)
Until I INSERTED A USB2 HUB BETWEEN THE FADERPORT AND THE MBP USB3 PORT.
https://youtu.be/1QeSbZ2DDUY
Thanks
It's been a long road and I was on the verge of taking it back for a refund. 
Now it's almost fantastic.
 
User avatar
danyg
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:53 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Thu Nov 10, 2016 2:16 am

works great, thank you !!!
http://www.danygallo.com

mac book pro 15" Retina - OS 10.13.6 - Antilope Discrete 8 - Logic pro x - PT12
mac pro 12 core - OS 10.13.6 - SSL madiXtreme - SSL Matrix - Logic pro x - PT12
 
scottkrk
Topic Author
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:35 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:15 am

FYI the firmware in the Faderport hasn't been updated since 2011, so you probably don't need to go through the hassle of updating the firmware, see this link.

http://support.presonus.com/hc/en-us/articles/218075743-Where-can-I-find-the-update-for-my-FaderPort-
Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, iMac (late 2012) i7 3.4GHz 16GB UA Apollo 8 Blackface and Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, MBP (early 2015) i5 2.9 GHz 8GB internal audio
 
User avatar
asinla
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles via South Africa
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:32 pm

Works really well on my first attempt! Thanks so much for posting!

I'll update if anything changes.

-A
Logic X 10.4.2 , 2.4 GHz Twelve Core, 64GB RAM, Apollo Quad
 
User avatar
asinla
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles via South Africa
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Mon Mar 06, 2017 3:42 pm

Thought it was too good to be true.....

When using Latch to append automation the Faderport does not send the signal to Logic that I am still holding the fader. So I get the "jump back and forth like crazy" thing.

Anyone else have this problem?
Logic X 10.4.2 , 2.4 GHz Twelve Core, 64GB RAM, Apollo Quad
 
scottkrk
Topic Author
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:35 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Tue Mar 07, 2017 3:06 am

asinla wrote:
Thought it was too good to be true.....

When using Latch to append automation the Faderport does not send the signal to Logic that I am still holding the fader. So I get the "jump back and forth like crazy" thing.

Anyone else have this problem?

Sounds like you are in Touch Mode, what mode is indicated in LPX?

Choose automation modes
Automation modes determine how automation tracks are treated. Automation is either being read or being written. You can independently set the automation mode for each track. You can also trim automation values and record relative automation data.

  • Read: Plays back all automation that exists on the track. If volume data exists, for example, the Volume fader will move during playback, following the prerecorded automation on the track. You can’t change the value of the chosen automation parameter by moving controls when in Read mode.
  • Touch: Plays back automation in the same way as Read mode. You can modify the value of the chosen automation parameter by moving controls in Touch mode. After the fader or knob is released, the parameter follows existing automation on the track.
  • Latch: Works like Touch mode, but after the fader or knob is released, the new parameter value replaces existing automation on the track.
  • Write: Erases existing automation on the track as the playhead passes over it. Records the new control movement or deletes the existing data if you do nothing.
  • Trim: Offsets the value of the existing automation (Volume, Pan, Send levels) by adjusting it up or down by the amount you move the fader or control. Works in combination with Touch and Latch automation modes.
  • Relative: Adds a secondary automation curve that offsets the existing primary curve for the selected parameter (Volume, Pan, Send levels). Both the primary and secondary curves are visible, and can be edited. Works in combination with Touch, Latch, and Write automation modes.
Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, iMac (late 2012) i7 3.4GHz 16GB UA Apollo 8 Blackface and Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, MBP (early 2015) i5 2.9 GHz 8GB internal audio
 
User avatar
asinla
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles via South Africa
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:37 am

Thanks scottkrk. Happens in Touch and Latch. I've been using Logic for over 20 years...since it was Notator Logic on the Atari. I'm pretty aware of the automation modes. :)

I think it's a Faderport issue. After some reading it seems that others have the same problem.
Logic X 10.4.2 , 2.4 GHz Twelve Core, 64GB RAM, Apollo Quad
 
scottkrk
Topic Author
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:35 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Tue Mar 07, 2017 11:39 am

Hi Asinla,  it is difficulty to tell the experience level of users on the forum., I thought "jump back and forth like crazy"  could be a description of an inexperienced user, who was expecting Latch/Write behaviour but was inadvertently in Touch mode.

Personally, I can report Touch and Latch work as described above on my setup, you might want to use Midi Monitor to see what your Faderport is sending to Logic

My Faderport is sending aftertouch when my finger is put on the fader or removed:
21:00:26.943 From FaderPort Aftertouch 1 G8 1
21:00:27.558 From FaderPort Aftertouch 1 G8 0

And control data for when the fader is moved:
21:09:54.915 From FaderPort Control 1 Bank Select (fine) 48
21:09:54.959 From FaderPort Control 1 Bank Select 2
21:09:54.959 From FaderPort Control 1 Bank Select (fine) 64
21:09:54.974 From FaderPort Control 1 Bank Select 2
21:09:54.974 From FaderPort Control 1 Bank Select (fine) 48

Good luck with your trouble shooting.
Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, iMac (late 2012) i7 3.4GHz 16GB UA Apollo 8 Blackface and Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, MBP (early 2015) i5 2.9 GHz 8GB internal audio
 
User avatar
asinla
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles via South Africa
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:29 am

Thanks scottkrk.

In between work today I'll insert the midi monitor and see what's going on. It works so well otherwise! Just seems to not send data while i am still touching the fader.

Your prefs were invaluable when i set it up so thanks very much again for that!

I'll keep you posted.
Logic X 10.4.2 , 2.4 GHz Twelve Core, 64GB RAM, Apollo Quad
 
User avatar
asinla
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles via South Africa
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:55 am

Hey scottkrk...


Can you confirm the following if you have a moment please?

1. Write automation in Latch mode. Volume automation is fine.
2. Keep the channel in Latch mode and try overwrite the automation you have just created. Try moving the fader then keeping it still BUT keeping your finger still on it.

Does this overwrite the old automation when you stop moving the fader yet keep your finger on it?

That's the big problem I'm having. Not the initial automation creating but the overwriting of previous data.

Thanks so much!

-A
Logic X 10.4.2 , 2.4 GHz Twelve Core, 64GB RAM, Apollo Quad
 
scottkrk
Topic Author
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:35 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Tue Mar 14, 2017 2:32 pm

My faderport is in for warranty repair, I had a hardware fault with the pan encoder sending random data and want to get it fixed before the warranty runs out, so I can't help until it get it back.

My thought would be to use midi monitor and see what the faderport is sending to logic. If it sending aftertouch as described above it is doing what it should.

Please note midi monitor also lets you see what logic is sending to the faderport.

Might also be useful to ask the question in the main forum, more people will see it and can comment with their experience.
Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, iMac (late 2012) i7 3.4GHz 16GB UA Apollo 8 Blackface and Logic 10.4.4, macOS 10.14.6, MBP (early 2015) i5 2.9 GHz 8GB internal audio
 
User avatar
asinla
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles via South Africa
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Thu Mar 16, 2017 2:26 pm

Great, thanks scottkrk.

I'll give it a go.
Logic X 10.4.2 , 2.4 GHz Twelve Core, 64GB RAM, Apollo Quad