A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
asinla
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles via South Africa
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:08 pm

Ok so I finally finished my series and have time to get back to this.

I checked using midi monitor and it seems the Faderport is intermittent in its continuous data.

Sometimes when I leave my finger on the fader without moving it it will continue to transmit that data (latch) and sometimes it stops transmitting.

I don't know if this is an issue with only my faderport or a larger Mac issue.

I'm open to suggestions.
OSX 10.14.6, Logic X 10.5.1 , 3,33 GHz Twelve Core, 64GB RAM, Lynx AESe
 
stoof100
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:11 am

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Thu May 25, 2017 12:19 pm

THANK YOU SO MUCH -- this worked immediately.

A question : I dont have a Modulation wheel on my MIDI controller. And i would LOVE to be able to user the Faderport to do automate Modulation... 

Am I right in saying that your "Additional Controller Mode" could allow me to do this? You mentioned that you set it to Smart Controls, but how would it be possible to set it to Modulation ??

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Stoof
 
kaboomer
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:13 am

Hey - I'd love to get more detail about using the fader to control different parameters as well. I'm interested primarily in quickly switching between volume, pan, and sends - writing animation in Touch mode for each parameter. Is this possible with this "Additional Controller Mode"? (haven't bought the Faderport yet, but I will if I can use the hardware to do this)

Thanks! ~ Mike 
Mac Mini 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 | 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 | 10.15.7 | Logic Pro 10.6.0 | UA Apollo Twin Thunderbolt Duo | UA Firewire Satellite Duo
 
greengo
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:27 am

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:24 am

Where can I find the file com.apple.logic.pro.cs on OS Sierra? I'm running Logic pro 10.3.2.
 
scottkrk
Topic Author
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:35 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:23 pm

For those asking about further customisation it has been 18 months since I did the CS file and I have forgotten most of the details but I am happy to share my approach.

  • Use MIDI Monitor to tell you what MIDI the Faderport is sending to Logic and what MIDI Logic is sending to the FaderPort.
  • Read the Logic Pro X Control Surface Support and understand "Controller Assignments Expert view” and particularly “Use zones and modes”.
  • Always back up, version and document your .cs files as you go.
  • Be prepared to spend some time if you don't have any programming experience.

It would be great if Presonus and Apple worked together and provided native support especially considering the FaderPort range has expanded with an 8 and 16 fader version, but I am not holding my breath ....
Logic 10.6.1, macOS 10.15.7, iMac 27" (late 2012) i7 3.4GHz 24GB UA Apollo 8 Blackface and
Logic 10.6.1, macOS 11.1 MacBook Pro (13-inch, M1, 2020) 16GB internal audio
 
User avatar
asinla
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles via South Africa
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Sun Nov 26, 2017 11:19 am

Welll this is awful......
I got an NI S88 Keyboard Controller and after adding it to Control Surfaces, my Faderport will no longer go into Controller Mode ( Output and Bank buttons ) which means the automation fader modes are not working. Or any other added functionality.
I have removed all Control Surfaces form Logic, started fropm the beginning adding the Faderport.bundle, then adding scottkrk's .cs pref file and still nothing.

Any ideas anyone?
OSX 10.14.6, Logic X 10.5.1 , 3,33 GHz Twelve Core, 64GB RAM, Lynx AESe
 
lomlonde
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 8:16 pm

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Sat Jun 30, 2018 8:47 pm

Hi everyone! Thanks Scott for making this available—it seems really great! I just got my FaderPort and followed your installation instructions and, while most of the functionality you described is there, the motor on the fader is no longer working and the feedback lights under the buttons aren't turning on. Am I missing something? I hope so because I'd love to be able to use your preferences!
 
User avatar
gurner
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 3:31 am
Location: S. Devon UK
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Mon Jul 30, 2018 1:34 pm

https://support.presonus.com/hc/en-us/a ... /210040213

This should make it work, I hope so as I've just ordered one!
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad Xeon 16 GB RAM - OSX 10.13.6

Logic Pro X 10.4.2

Focusrite Saffire Pro 14
 
lomlonde
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 8:16 pm

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:59 am

Oh cool! Great to see they're still supporting it :)
I ended up returning mine and ordering the new version once I saw it was coming out. It just arrived—so far so good!
 
raketenmann
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 2:34 am

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Sat Aug 15, 2020 2:42 am

Hey my friends

It's been a looong time since I first read this thread and the solution always worked for me! However - since an update recently (I'm still in Logic Pro 10.4.8. due to stuck with macOS High Sierra). Right now the faderport does not work properly anymore. Still all the buttons are working correct, but the motorfader is doing weird things. For example. The track that is selected is always bouncing around 0.5dB in Volume. But the worst is, that if a switch to a track from another, then the volume setting gets copied from the one before, as if the motorfader is not able to come down, so the software fader just gies up. Very annoying and therefore useless....

Probably anyone here has a solution for this bug?

I'm actually not sure if I'm responsible for the bug cause I installed the Presonus Universal Control Software and updated the firmware of the Hardware itself. It could be that the bug comes from there... I just had the idea that Presonus somehow after that many years brings an "official" running supported version of the driver.... So that's obviously not the case.... :-(
 
scottkrk
Topic Author
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:35 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Sat Sep 26, 2020 9:39 pm

I'm the guy who put the control surface file up 4 years ago.

I can confirm that it still works with LPX 10.5.1 but please note I did not update firmware or use the Universal Control Software because it offered reduced functionality.
Logic 10.6.1, macOS 10.15.7, iMac 27" (late 2012) i7 3.4GHz 24GB UA Apollo 8 Blackface and
Logic 10.6.1, macOS 11.1 MacBook Pro (13-inch, M1, 2020) 16GB internal audio
 
hmowday
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 4:49 pm
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort and Logic Pro X: How to Setup for 100% Functionality

Thu Nov 05, 2020 5:45 pm

HI Scottkrk. I'm just trying to figure out if this thread pertains to what I'm after. I have an original Presonous Class Faderport. I love this unit and have no want t upgrade. WHat I am trying to work out is how to make the motorised "Fader" control CC's in the automation lane other than just the volume. Is This is what I"m hoping to achieve but obviously for Logic https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYSohz0uIv4
MacBookPro16,1 64Gig Ram (Main Machine nowadays)
iMac i7 (13.2) 32 Gig Ram

OS X10.13.5


Logic 10.4.8
FIreface 800, 400, UFX, Babyface