Velocity Curves: Draw Velocity as you would Automation

This templates, inspired by the one that lets you Control your Samples' Velocity with your Mod Wheel, goes one step further. It lets you, once your MIDI Region has been recorded, redraw the velocity of your samples using Hyperdraw.

You can now access all the S curves and concave, convex curves available to you when drawing Automation, except you are now automating the Velocity of your MIDI notes.

Once again, useful for orchestral composers who like to draw complex curvy crescendos and decrescendos... Enjoy!

VelocityCurves.lso.zip

• Like 1

• 2 years later...
  • 5 years later...

This is great! Thank you!

Now I'm a complete noob in midi and just started using Logic. How con add this into a project I'm currently working on? If you can give me a quick explenation on this, I will appreciate it very much.

I'm using Logic x 10.0.5.

Again, this is awesome.

Cheers.

Open the project I attached in the original post of this thread, select the three objects you can see in the environment, press Command-C (Copy) and close the project.

Open your project, choose Window > Open MIDI Environment, go to an empty layer, and press Command-P (Paste). Drag and drop the object "Inst 1+Velo Curves" onto a track header, and cable "Set Velocity" into the desired channel strip by option-clicking its output triangle and choosing the channel strip.

• 1 year later...
Hi David, I've been trying to follow your instructions (Velocity Curves: Draw Velocity as you would Automation) without success - I've got as far as cabling the "set velocity" part of the created object to the instrument I want to automate but I don't see velocity (or anything that corresponds to it) on the created object's parameters in the automation page. What am I missing?

• 1 month later...
Blue Breakfast said: