A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
fattymatthews
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:21 pm

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:29 am

bump
Logic 9.1.74 (64 bit)
OSX 10.8
MAC Pro Early 2008
2x3 Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon
10GB Ram
Apogee Duet (1st Edition)
 
fattymatthews
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:21 pm

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:53 am

can anyone advise how to export the PLIST file from 3rd party plugs, i tried following the instructions above bur cant get it for the life of me.
Logic 9.1.74 (64 bit)
OSX 10.8
MAC Pro Early 2008
2x3 Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon
10GB Ram
Apogee Duet (1st Edition)
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 16354
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:07 pm

fattymatthews wrote:
can anyone advise how to export the PLIST file from 3rd party plugs, i tried following the instructions above bur cant get it for the life of me.


fatty, there's nothing to export. Re-read fader8's instructions. The files for your 3rd party plug-ins will be based on any of the files that already exist for Logic's own plug-ins.

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
fattymatthews
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:21 pm

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sun Jan 27, 2013 2:18 pm

OK thanks Jordito, i appreciate the help.

So basically, i just need to add extra strings (siblings in PLISTEDITPRO) if i need the added strings, then the way to match up and rearrange is to basically go though the Hypercontrol pages on LCD screen on Axiom Pro keyboard, count what string number say the Cuttoff filter is on a particular synth, then rename that orresponding string number in PLIST pro, finally move it into desired spot by dragging it up and down the list.

Is where i was getting stuck was i thought i read that you could export all the strings for any given synth... this would make it a ton easier...

Or am i still missing something?
Logic 9.1.74 (64 bit)
OSX 10.8
MAC Pro Early 2008
2x3 Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon
10GB Ram
Apogee Duet (1st Edition)
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 16354
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:00 pm

fattymatthews wrote:
So basically, i just need to add extra strings (siblings in PLISTEDITPRO) if i need the added strings


It would be a "child", not a "sibling". A child string inside the ControlSurfaceParameterOrder Array.

fattymatthews wrote:
Is where i was getting stuck was i thought i read that you could export all the strings for any given synth... this would make it a ton easier...


I don't know if that's possible, maybe it is. Where did you read this?

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
fattymatthews
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:21 pm

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:12 pm

Hi J

fattymatthews wrote:
I don't know if that's possible, maybe it is. Where did you read this?


It was actually in this thread, page 1 9th reply down by "tim_chandler"

He says...

"Just a handy little tip on this subject. I found that you can extract the CSParameterorder.plist file from 3rd party instruments and plug-ins. To do this, you need to save a plug-in setting as "#default" to the default location to which the plug-in wants to save plug-in settings. You then save over this file with the same name and this will create a CSParameterorder.plist file for the 3rd party plug-in automatically."

I tried this, with Massive as an example, it would only save down a #default.nmsv - even when renamed to CSParameterorder.plist it would not have the strings in there.. maybe i am missing something again.

If you have a free minute, could you test?

Thanks again J for all your help, you have always been so knowledgable, i really appreciate it.
Logic 9.1.74 (64 bit)
OSX 10.8
MAC Pro Early 2008
2x3 Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon
10GB Ram
Apogee Duet (1st Edition)
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 16354
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:32 pm

fattymatthews wrote:
It was actually in this thread, page 1 9th reply down by "tim_chandler"

He says...

"Just a handy little tip on this subject. I found that you can extract the CSParameterorder.plist file from 3rd party instruments and plug-ins. To do this, you need to save a plug-in setting as "#default" to the default location to which the plug-in wants to save plug-in settings. You then save over this file with the same name and this will create a CSParameterorder.plist file for the 3rd party plug-in automatically."


Sorry, I missed that bit. But I tried it and it works. Crazy!

jordito wrote:
I tried this, with Massive as an example, it would only save down a #default.nmsv - even when renamed to CSParameterorder.plist it would not have the strings in there.. maybe i am missing something again.


You need to save the plug-in setting. You do this from Logic's plug-in window dropdown menu:

plugin setting.png
plugin setting.png (168.2 KiB) Viewed 7012 times


Once you re-save on top of the first #default setting you save, it will give birth to the CSParameterorder.plist file. :lol:

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
fattymatthews
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:21 pm

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:42 pm

Mental! It does work! Dude i cant thank you enough, i was reading it as saving the plugin setting from the Synth itself, like saving a preset. Was bugging me out as i tried multiple times. Amazing how much clearer things become with a picture, it makes total sense now.

Honestly J, cant thank you enough for this, I have never really used my AXIOM as i hated the way the Hypercontrol laid out the "default" mappings, it was more than useless. Now, with a little time and with the help of PLIST editor i will have this streamlined perfectly.

Many thanks my friend.
Logic 9.1.74 (64 bit)
OSX 10.8
MAC Pro Early 2008
2x3 Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon
10GB Ram
Apogee Duet (1st Edition)
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 16354
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:02 pm

You're welcome! :)

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
fabriciom
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:19 am
Location: Madrid, España

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sat May 04, 2013 7:07 am

Hello everyone,

Any new updates on this process?

I'm trying to create a map for my Korg Polysix to use on a mackie c4 and I'm wondering if anything has changed since this was discussed.

Is there a simple way to export the plugin's list of parameters and names to a file to create the CSParameterOrder.plist file? I'm able to see the list of parameters name if i change the "view" in the plugin. Is this list exportable or accessible from somewhere else?

-Thanks
Mac Pro 2009, 12 core 3,3GHz, 64 GB RAM - RME RayDAT- RME ADI-8 DS - Mackie C4 Pro - Audeze LCD2 - SPL Phonitor
 
User avatar
Mark R
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:50 am
Location: Tumwater, WA

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sat May 04, 2013 7:53 am

Go to the 9th post in this thread. Tim Chandler revealed a clever technique that answers this question.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54956#p311459

Also, Jordito elaborated on it 4 posts above this one.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54956&start=20#p479804

:D Just figured out how to link to specific posts in a thread.
Last edited by Mark R on Sat May 04, 2013 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Logic 10.5.1 | Mojave | retina iMac 4GHz i7 32GB
Logic 10.4.8 | High Sierra | MacMini 2.3GHz, i7 16GB
 
fabriciom
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:19 am
Location: Madrid, España

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sat May 04, 2013 8:00 am

LOL missed that....

I did try the save settings one time but the trick is overwriting it.

-Thanks
Mac Pro 2009, 12 core 3,3GHz, 64 GB RAM - RME RayDAT- RME ADI-8 DS - Mackie C4 Pro - Audeze LCD2 - SPL Phonitor
 
moshimjetek@hotmail.com
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:51 pm

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Fri Jul 05, 2013 1:03 pm

hi guys,

this is my parameter layout for the Waves SSL Channel.

I use it with a Mackie Universal Control.

So parameters are layed out over 8 parameters on different pages.
each page represents a specific section of this plugin (filte/eq/comp/gate)

page 1 : FilterSplit / empty / empty / empty / empty / empty / HP filter / LP filter
page 2: EQBypass/ empty / HF Type / HF Gain / HF Frq / HMF Gain / HMF Frq / HMF Q
page 3: empty / empty / LMF Gain / LMF Frq / LMF Q / LF Gain / LF Frq / LF Type
page 4: DynBypass / empty / empty / empty / CompThresh / CompRatio / CompFast / CompRelease
page 5: empty / empty / empty / ExpAttack / ExpRelease / ExpThresh / ExpRange / ExpGate

too bad it has taken me so long to get to this point of working with my controller.
This plugin is my first go to unit for every channel. If you get the hang of it, it works so fast and intuitive !
turn those knobs !

I'm very happy to share this, especially because of the awesome support i had on this topic in this forum to figure this out.
big up for the guys who follow up on all these posts with sensible answers !!

grts,
Michel
Attachments
CSParameterOrder.plist
parameter layout for Waves SSL Chanel. Layout per 8 parameters over 5 pages
(1.39 KiB) Downloaded 246 times
OSX 10.6.8 / logic 9 / RME fireface 800 / Mackie Universal Control / Mackie Big Knob / Focusrite Liquidmix / Waves plugins / and other machines
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 16354
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Fri Jul 05, 2013 2:25 pm

moshimjetek@hotmail.com wrote:
I'm very happy to share this, especially because of the awesome support i had on this topic in this forum to figure this out.
big up for the guys who follow up on all these posts with sensible answers !!


Glad to see you figured it out, Michel!
And thanks for sharing your file with us!

Cheers,

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
fabriciom
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:19 am
Location: Madrid, España

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:44 am

Can someone verify if this still works on LPX?

-Thanks,
Fabricio
Mac Pro 2009, 12 core 3,3GHz, 64 GB RAM - RME RayDAT- RME ADI-8 DS - Mackie C4 Pro - Audeze LCD2 - SPL Phonitor
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 16354
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:06 am

fabriciom wrote:
Can someone verify if this still works on LPX?


It's even easier in Logic 10! You just choose "Save As Default" from the plugin menu and it will generate the CSParameterOrder.plist file!

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
fabriciom
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:19 am
Location: Madrid, España

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:08 am

Jordi Torres wrote:
fabriciom wrote:
Can someone verify if this still works on LPX?


It's even easier in Logic 10! You just choose "Save As Default" from the plugin menu and it will generate the CSParameterOrder.plist file!

J.


Ok, perfecto. Gracias Jordi.
Mac Pro 2009, 12 core 3,3GHz, 64 GB RAM - RME RayDAT- RME ADI-8 DS - Mackie C4 Pro - Audeze LCD2 - SPL Phonitor
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 16354
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:12 am

De nada :)

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
Orchook
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:32 pm

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Mon Jul 25, 2016 8:51 am

Does anyone know if it's also possible for me to change the plugin parameter name sent to the control surface?
Some long names cannot fit in the Control Surface display so i get an abbreviation that is so messed up i cannot know what parameter it is. 
Logic Pro X 10.2.1, Mac Pro, 12 Core 3.46 Ghz, 32 GB Ram, OS X 10.9.5
Universal Audio Appolo Quad FireWire, M-Audio Midisport
 
User avatar
lmaughon
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:18 am
Contact:

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sat Mar 10, 2018 1:16 pm

I know this is an old thread but I have a question somewhat related to the topic. Let's say I want to use a generic midi controller to utilize the CSParameterOrder.plist. How do you setup a control surface to do this?
Logic Pro X 10.4
iMac (27-inch, late 2013)
OS X 10.13.3
3.2 GHz Intel Core i5
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3