A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
msabramo
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:19 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Apple Loop creation in Logic Express 8 - Nahmani page 262

Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:08 pm

I'm following the exercise "Creating Blue Apple Loops" on page 262 of "Logic Pro 8 and Logic Express 8" by David Nahmani, and running into some trouble.

1. Open Logic project file: "07 New Day".
2. Drag the Marquee tool (Command-click tool) over the High Arpeggio region from bar 5 to bar 7. Verify that before releasing the mouse button, the help tag reads "5 1 1 1 7 1 1 1", indicating that Marquee selection goes from bar 5 to bar 7 and is thus 2 bars in length.
3. Click the Marquee selection with the Pointer tool to create a new region that should be exactly 2 bars in length.
4. In the Arrange area's local menu bar, choose Region > Add to Apple Loops Library.

Expected Results:
The dialog should offer the choice of "Loop" or "One-shot".

Actual Results:
The choice of "Loop" or "One-shot" is grayed out.

According to the book and http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=301036, this graying out is a symptom of having a region that is not a whole number of bars in length, but this region seems to be exactly 2 bars in length as far as I can tell.

Other folks seeing this?

I was able to create the loop using the Apple Loop Utility, but I'm wondering why I couldn't do it in Logic - Logic bug or user error?
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 64615
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

 

Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:29 am

David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.3 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.2 - Mac OS X 10.12.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
msabramo
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:19 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Odd, still no luck

Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:37 am

Thank you very much David for responding and pointing me to the earlier thread.

Unfortunately, I'm still having trouble. I noticed that if I keep the Sample Editor open (so I can see the true length of the region) and try to resize the region with or without Control+Shift, I cannot make the region length be 2 0 0 0. In the arrange window while resizing the help tag reads 2 0 0 0 and won't let me go beyond that, but the sample editor still says 1 3 3 239. And I don't have LMB > Audio > Search Zero Crossings checked.

Any other ideas? I'm done with the book, but my interest is in nailing down exactly what this bug is and how it can be worked around so I can post my findings at http://bugreport.apple.com
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 64615
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

 

Fri Mar 07, 2008 11:13 am

If the region you cut is the one I describe in the book, you should be able to make its length much longer than 2 0 0 0 with no problems. My guess is you're trying to lengthen a region that already uses the whole length of the audio file.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.3 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.2 - Mac OS X 10.12.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
msabramo
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:19 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Got it. Thanks!

Sat Mar 08, 2008 10:59 pm

Yep, you must've been right. I must've mucked with the region before, because I just repeated the entire exercise and this time I got it to work.

Thanks again!
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 64615
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

 

Sat Mar 08, 2008 11:06 pm

You're welcome! :wink:
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.3 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.2 - Mac OS X 10.12.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM