A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Troycubb
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:01 am
Location: Sherman Oaks
Contact:

Installed new hard drive on MacBook Pro - Does anyone know?

Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:52 pm

I just installed a new 320 gig 7200 rpm hard drive in my MacBook Pro
Reinstalled Leopard, but I would like to just move my Logic Pro Studio and all its settings over.
How do I do that?
Can anyone help me?
I would love to be able to just open Logic Pro without losing all my settings, icons, pluggins etc....

Thanks
MacBook Pro 15"
Logic 8,
LA 610 Mic Pre
Apogee Ensemble
 
prjkt
Posts: 940
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:37 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

 

Tue Aug 05, 2008 9:19 pm

back up your logic preference files and application support folder before you do anything

chuck the new hdd in, install OSX

you'll then need to reinstall logic, but you can then replace your backed up settings
Mac Pro 3,1 8 Core 4Gb Ram nV 8800GT
Macbook Air 1,1 2Gb Ram
OS X 10.5.8
Logic Pro 9.0.1
Pro Tools 7.4.2
MBox 2 Pro
 
Troycubb
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:01 am
Location: Sherman Oaks
Contact:

Thanks mate, where exactly are these ?

Wed Aug 06, 2008 11:12 am

just to make sure I get this right can you point me in the direction of these?

Really appreciate it!
MacBook Pro 15"

Logic 8,

LA 610 Mic Pre

Apogee Ensemble
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 80693
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Wed Aug 06, 2008 11:21 am

Preferences:
~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.logic.pro.plist
~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.logic.pro.cs

Settings, Instruments, etc...:
~/Library/Application Support/Logic/

3rd party A.U. plug-ins:
~/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Troycubb
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:01 am
Location: Sherman Oaks
Contact:

Awesome thanks guys!

Wed Aug 06, 2008 11:27 am

So I just replace all these and I'm good to go!
Fantastic!!
MacBook Pro 15"

Logic 8,

LA 610 Mic Pre

Apogee Ensemble
 
Troycubb
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:01 am
Location: Sherman Oaks
Contact:

IS it better to

Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:21 pm

Can you guys tell me if it would be better to partition my new 320 gig Hard Drive on my computer and run my instrument Libraries off one of the partitions or keep them all on an external drive?
MacBook Pro 15"

Logic 8,

LA 610 Mic Pre

Apogee Ensemble
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 80693
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:44 pm

Don't partition. Keep everything on the internal drive unless you can get an eSATA card and drive, and don't mind carrying an external drive around with you.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Troycubb
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:01 am
Location: Sherman Oaks
Contact:

 

Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:48 pm

So keep everything on the main drive?
Before I installed the larger drive I had all my libraries on an external 800 drive that seemed to do ok.
But your saying the internal main hard drive would be a better choice for my Libraries?

Really appreciate the help too, thank you!

Troy
MacBook Pro 15"

Logic 8,

LA 610 Mic Pre

Apogee Ensemble
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 80693
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

 

Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:11 pm

It's hit or miss, because on one hand the internal is faster, on the other hand it's already used to swap data in and out of memory by OS X. Obviously using an external drive is better, but if it's going to be a slower external drive, then your results will vary. If you don't mind having an external, then maybe try the external and see if that works for you. To me the point of a laptop is that it's easy to carry around, so I'd rather not have to carry an external drive along with it.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Troycubb
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:01 am
Location: Sherman Oaks
Contact:

 

Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:13 am

So what is the best way to safe all your Plugin settings/3rd party plugins/ and your whole Logic Pro setup if you change computers or hard drives.
Is it as simple as dragging it all over?
Last edited by Troycubb on Thu Aug 07, 2008 2:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
MacBook Pro 15"

Logic 8,

LA 610 Mic Pre

Apogee Ensemble
 
Troycubb
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:01 am
Location: Sherman Oaks
Contact:

 

Thu Aug 07, 2008 2:25 am

There must be an easier way?
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 17835
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

 

Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:32 am

There isn't. Just back those folders up and drag them back over when Logic is installed.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.4.8, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com