Logic Pro X Flex Time transient markers don't appear

michaelfrommasam

I'm trying to use Flex Time to fix some timing errors in a (real) drum part that was recorded after the rest of the track. There's a four-bar stretch where the drummer got a little ahead of the beat, culminating in a fill and cymbal crash that is noticeably out, causing an obvious 'jolt' in the music, so it seemed to me that Flex Time might be able to fix this.

I'm still quite new to LPX and haven't used Flex Time before. I've tried to follow all the steps in the manual but when I select the flex mode, I get an 'analysing' message but no transient markers appear in the track I'm trying to fix, so I can't proceed.

I may have missed something obvious (but I have turned on the 'Show/Hide Flex' button at the top of the screen and in the individual track control strip, so it's not that) or it may be the rather roundabout way I got the tracks into my project:

Recorded into Garage Band 11 on a 2011 MacBook Air (running Lion) at the studio (5 takes of 4 tracks via a Scarlett 6i6 - R and L overheads, snare and kick);

File opened into LPX on 2008 MacPro (running Mavericks) at home and saved as an LPX project; so far so good.

I tried to copy each drum track with all its takes into my original LPX project but for some reason the last four or five bars didn't come through on any take of any track; repeated copy/paste attempts produced bizarre errors in which the pasted drum track was apparently longer than the whole song but slower too (but see note about tempo below);

Exported each usable drum take/track from the LPX version of the GB file and imported those into the LPX project as 16-bit mono AIFF files. This worked.

Created a track stack for each take of the four drum tracks for convenience of handling, comparison, manual comping (via cut+paste) etc;

Doubled snare and kick parts for finished comp using ESX24 samples.