A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
anp27
Topic Author
Posts: 1749
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:25 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Anybody using a 40 inch 1080p TV as a display monitor?

Sat Apr 29, 2017 4:15 am

I'd like to upgrade to a bigger screen but I can't afford one of those sexy 34" ultra wide monitors right now... maybe not in a long while either! So I thought of getting a 40 inch 1080p TV instead. I can't really afford a 4K TV either.. Was just wondering if 1080 was good enough to run Logic comfortably. I don't want to deal with blurry text and stuff like that. Hopefully someone with some experience can chime in soon!
Mac mini (late 2012 Server) 2.3 Ghz i7, 16GB RAM~2TB Samsung 860 QVO~16GB Ram~macOS Catalina 10.15.7~Logic Pro 10.6.3~Universal Audio Apollo Twin Duo Thunderbolt MKII~KORG microKEY2 61
 
User avatar
volovicg
Moderator
Posts: 2915
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:27 am
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: Anybody using a 40 inch 1080p TV as a display monitor?  Topic is solved

Sun Apr 30, 2017 6:43 pm

I am using a 32" 1080P as my primary monitor and it it fine. I actually prefer it so much my next upgrade will be to a larger one. All of my screen shots in my posts are taken on that monitor - you can have a look for yourself.
 Logic Pro X Certified : Logic Pro X 10.6.1: OS X 11.1 (Big Sur)
2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core I7 : 32GB Memory : 2-1TB SSD ; 4 Drobo's 48TB combined
MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2019) - 2.3 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
Presonus StudioLive 16 Series III (Digital Audio Interface and Control surface for Logic)
Roland FR-8X : Roland A-PRO ; Ketron SD-90 ; I-Connectivity Mio XL Midi Hub/Router (Networked), BCF2000, BCR2000, Novation Zero SLKMKII
 
User avatar
anp27
Topic Author
Posts: 1749
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:25 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Anybody using a 40 inch 1080p TV as a display monitor?

Sun Apr 30, 2017 8:46 pm

volovicg wrote:
I am using a 32" 1080P as my primary monitor and it it fine. I actually prefer it so much my next upgrade will be to a larger one. All of my screen shots in my posts are taken on that monitor - you can have a look for yourself.

Cool! Which TV do you use specifically? 
Mac mini (late 2012 Server) 2.3 Ghz i7, 16GB RAM~2TB Samsung 860 QVO~16GB Ram~macOS Catalina 10.15.7~Logic Pro 10.6.3~Universal Audio Apollo Twin Duo Thunderbolt MKII~KORG microKEY2 61
 
steveLpx1
Posts: 451
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:58 am

Re: Anybody using a 40 inch 1080p TV as a display monitor?

Mon May 01, 2017 7:55 am

...fwiw...I use a airplay/appleTV with a 47" something or other if I'm tracking in a larger room...seems to work with pretty much any TV if I am "remote," like someone's basement/den/recording room...means I don't have to lug a monitor around....hth.../s~
mbp13/e2011 | 2.7ghz.i7 | 16gig.ram | 512g/1tb ssds | osx 10.14.6 | logic10.5.1
mbp16/e2020 | 2.3ghz i9 | 16gig.ram | 1tb ssd | osx 11.6. | logic10.6.3
reaper6.32/64 | focusrite.2i2 | parallels/win7/win10
 
User avatar
anp27
Topic Author
Posts: 1749
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:25 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Anybody using a 40 inch 1080p TV as a display monitor?

Mon May 01, 2017 3:59 pm

steveLpx1 wrote:
...fwiw...I use a airplay/appleTV with a 47" something or other if I'm tracking in a larger room...seems to work with pretty much any TV if I am "remote," like someone's basement/den/recording room...means I don't have to lug a monitor around....hth.../s~

Nice tip with the Apple TV thing!
Mac mini (late 2012 Server) 2.3 Ghz i7, 16GB RAM~2TB Samsung 860 QVO~16GB Ram~macOS Catalina 10.15.7~Logic Pro 10.6.3~Universal Audio Apollo Twin Duo Thunderbolt MKII~KORG microKEY2 61
 
User avatar
stardustmedia
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:48 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Anybody using a 40 inch 1080p TV as a display monitor?

Tue May 02, 2017 12:34 am

Using two 47" Philips TV-screens. 1080p is cool. And you get TVs for nothing. 4K is still quite expensive, for just computer screens IMHO. 

Image
Logic 10.3.3 & MacOS 10.11.6
Home: MacPro Intel Quad-Core 2.26 GHz - 16GB - Grace Design m920 USB
Studio: iMac Intel i7 2.6GHz - 16GB - Apogee Symphony, AD16X & DA16X thru Thunderbolt - Unitor8 & AMT8

stardustmedia - high end analog music services
cheerio, murat
 
User avatar
anp27
Topic Author
Posts: 1749
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:25 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Anybody using a 40 inch 1080p TV as a display monitor?

Tue May 02, 2017 3:13 pm

stardustmedia wrote:
4K is still quite expensive, for just computer screens IMHO. 

Absolutely. I mean I'm not a graphic designer, nor do I play video games. I feel like 4K just to run Logic would be overkill. 
Mac mini (late 2012 Server) 2.3 Ghz i7, 16GB RAM~2TB Samsung 860 QVO~16GB Ram~macOS Catalina 10.15.7~Logic Pro 10.6.3~Universal Audio Apollo Twin Duo Thunderbolt MKII~KORG microKEY2 61
 
User avatar
anp27
Topic Author
Posts: 1749
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:25 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Anybody using a 40 inch 1080p TV as a display monitor?

Sun May 07, 2017 3:49 pm

Guys, I got the 40" 1080p TV for a really great price and it's been amazing so far. I am never ever going back to anything smaller!
Mac mini (late 2012 Server) 2.3 Ghz i7, 16GB RAM~2TB Samsung 860 QVO~16GB Ram~macOS Catalina 10.15.7~Logic Pro 10.6.3~Universal Audio Apollo Twin Duo Thunderbolt MKII~KORG microKEY2 61
 
steveLpx1
Posts: 451
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:58 am

Re: Anybody using a 40 inch 1080p TV as a display monitor?

Sun May 07, 2017 8:17 pm

...ya...sure...wait 'till u try a 60"...my nephew is a graphics pro and I tried his with an appletv...and I wish I could never go back...'cause I can't there in the first place (for now)...but geeeze it don't suck!...hth.../s~
mbp13/e2011 | 2.7ghz.i7 | 16gig.ram | 512g/1tb ssds | osx 10.14.6 | logic10.5.1
mbp16/e2020 | 2.3ghz i9 | 16gig.ram | 1tb ssd | osx 11.6. | logic10.6.3
reaper6.32/64 | focusrite.2i2 | parallels/win7/win10