Sending MIDI CC Messages through smart controls

silicongraphics
Go to solution Solved by ski,

Is there any way to map a smart control to output midi CC data? This would be nice to have so that i can easily automate midi CC for my hardware synths and have everything labeled, and not have to remember which CC number does what. It also would be helpful to be able to use that for when i use logic remote on my iPhone. I have looked online and through all the menus in logic, but cannot seem to find a way to do this. If anyone has any ideas, please let me know. Thanks!

Is there any way to map a smart control to output midi CC data? This would be nice to have so that i can easily automate midi CC for my hardware synths and have everything labeled, and not have to remember which CC number does what. ...

Environment faders would do that...

How exactly woud i go about that? Sorry if that's a noob question, i'm still learning how to use logic.

David is correct, it's not possible.   :(

But...  :shock:

It is actually possible to get Smart Controls to send everyday MIDI data! :D  

Well, OK, it's just not as straight-forward as simply assigning a Smart Control to a built-in parameter that generates MIDI events. For that, refer to what David said. But still, it's possible! I've attached a project that will let you do this (see below). First, some backstory...

A Smart Control is a remote control used to change channel strip parameters or plugin parameters. Channel strip parameters include mute, solo, volume, pan, etc. Plugin parameters include EQ band boost/cut, compressor threshold, software synth filter cutoff, and... MIDI FX parameters too. So... enter [with great fanfare] the MIDI FX Scripter plugin! It's a plugin. It can have parameters (sliders, menus, buttons). If you have a Script that generates MIDI messages when a Scripter slider is moved, you can then remote control that slider with a Smart Control and... Voila!