A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
onuryenihayat
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:02 am

I need bypass the Modulation Wheel

Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:14 am

hi everyone,

i've got a fatar midi keyboard. Modulation wheel is not working stabilly. It is sending messages, and it do it nonstop. I don't want use modulation wheel and i want do it passive or bypass. I needn't modulation wheel. I just play piano and rhodes but this keyboard makes the rhodes with vibrato :) I need help. I want to delete modulation wheel messages. The keyboard is played without modulation wheel for me.

Thank you for your helps.
Have a nice day.
 
User avatar
paulcristo
Posts: 483
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 2:40 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: I need bypass the Modulation Wheel

Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:56 am

Can you disable the vibrato in the rhodes software instrument you're using?
http://www.paulcristo.com
Logic 10.4.7 / Mac OS 10.13.6 / Mac Pro 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon / 32 GB RAM / Apogee Duet (Firewire)
 
User avatar
Eriksimon
Posts: 7110
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: I need bypass the Modulation Wheel

Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:53 am

You can insert a MIDI modifier on your tracks, or, for a more thorough solution (for every track, existing or not yet added), cable a Transformer filter in the environment. You must do that for every new project, although you can import environments between projects.

Here's how:
First open an environment window. Cmd-8
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.40.52.PNG
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.40.52.PNG (173.21 KiB) Viewed 535 times

In the top left, click and drop down the Layer menu and choose Clicks & Ports
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.41.25.PNG
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.41.25.PNG (22.41 KiB) Viewed 535 times
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.41.36.PNG
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.41.36.PNG (41.2 KiB) Viewed 535 times

pic 2018-06-06 at 20.41.48.PNG
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.41.48.PNG (49.45 KiB) Viewed 535 times

From the local New menu, choose Transformer.
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.42.06.PNG
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.42.06.PNG (81.21 KiB) Viewed 535 times

Cable that transformer anywhere in the chain. Before the monitor would be good, then you can see there are no more CC1 messages.
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.42.24.PNG
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.42.24.PNG (24.38 KiB) Viewed 535 times
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.42.44.PNG
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.42.44.PNG (32.29 KiB) Viewed 535 times

Now open the Transformer by double clicking it and set it as shown here:
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.43.25.PNG
pic 2018-06-06 at 20.43.25.PNG (61.3 KiB) Viewed 535 times
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

miMac Intel i5 3.6 GHz 16 GB RAM/OS X 12.6 (Sierra)/Logic Pro X 10.4.4 & OS X Mojave 14.6/Logic Pro 10.5.0/Marantz MPM-1000/Sony F-V3T/U-Phoria UMC204HD/Novation Impulse 49/Studiologic CMK 149
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 78955
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: I need bypass the Modulation Wheel

Thu Jun 07, 2018 6:17 am

paulcristo wrote:
Can you disable the vibrato in the rhodes software instrument you're using?

In case you're using Logic's Vintage Electric Piano:

mod-wheel.png
mod-wheel.png (201.2 KiB) Viewed 502 times
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM