Is it possible to Mute a microphone (or other input) while recording?

theeoddname
Go to solution Solved by David Nahmani,

Good day,

I am using Catalina with Logic Pro X and wondering if it is possible to mute a channel so that the specific channel does not record to the track while at the same time logic continues to record other tracks. Then, at a later time, resume recording of the muted channel so that it records to the track again -- and to be clear the channel picks up recording at the current time signature NOT from where it was originally muted.

As an example let "S" be a signal recorded and "-" be a muted channel where Logic does not record the input's signal. Here are two channels (1) and (2) where channel (2) is partially muted during recording and then resumed later:

1: SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

2: SSSSSSSS-----------SSSSS------SSSSS

I hope this is clear. Thank you for any help you can provide. I'm new to digital recording and am hoping logic can do this for me.

Any suggestions are useful but if at all possible I do wish to be able to do this in Logic and not have to mute from my audio interface or turn down the volume on an analogue mixer: i.e. I wish to be able to control the recording of a channel via Logic and not through an external program or piece of hardware.

I know I can "mute" the channel from playback by pushing the mute button but I am wanting to prevent the input signal from being recorded in the first place to the track.

Case Use: recording a podcast and a phone guest goes into a coughing fit. I could list off a whole host of other uses I'm considering but ultimately the idea is the same: be able to continuously record but mute the recording of channels on the fly.

Thank you for the help!

• Solution

1. Open your Mixer.

2. On the Audio channel strip you're going to use to record, set the input to an unused bus, let's say Bus 1.

3. Choose Options > Create New Auxiliary Channel Strip to create a new Aux.