A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.



 
User avatar
esaruoho
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Vuosaari, Eastern Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Dealing with External Instrument plugin and Freezing / Bounce In Place?

Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:49 pm

I have some midi devices that I throw notes at from an External Instrument. I'm wondering, what's the simplest and quickest way of reducing them to wavefiles. Do I really need to go the route of creating an Audio Track in addition to already having the External Instrument, enabling Record with the Audio Track, press Record on the transport and press stop when I'm done with the recording? Or, is there some fancy method that results in the same results, without having to create an Audio Track?

Bounce In Place seemed to result in just silence. Is there a non-offline-recording version of it?
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 2897
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Dealing with External Instrument plugin and Freezing / Bounce In Place?

Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:05 pm

Do I really need to go the route of creating an Audio Track in addition to already having the External Instrument, enabling Record with the Audio Track, press Record on the transport and press stop when I'm done with the recording?

Yes. Life is hard, isn't it ?
1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.13.6. Logic X.4.4
 
User avatar
redgreenblue
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Dealing with External Instrument plugin and Freezing / Bounce In Place?

Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:10 pm

fuzzfilth wrote:
Do I really need to go the route of creating an Audio Track in addition to already having the External Instrument, enabling Record with the Audio Track, press Record on the transport and press stop when I'm done with the recording?

Yes. Life is hard, isn't it ?



....I’m not laughing....I’m not laughing....




I’m totally laughing.
Logic 10.4.4- Logic 9.1.8
2011 iMac 12 gigs RAM - 10.12.6
2018 Mac Mini i7, 16 gigs RAM
MOTU 828 MKIII Hybrid
Behringer ADA8200 x2
MOTU Midi Express x 2
A nice variety of old analog and hybrid synths
Novation stuff out the wazoo, including an SL61mk2, SL37, ZeroSLmk2
http://www.shaneking.com
http://www.redgreenblue.bandcamp.com
 
User avatar
esaruoho
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Vuosaari, Eastern Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: Dealing with External Instrument plugin and Freezing / Bounce In Place?

Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:56 am

I suppose I'll have to modify this SoundCanvas Logic Template to also have audio tracks ready for this type of use.

Weird to not have a direct method of going from External Instrument to Wav by just right-clicking on the midi-region and bouncing / freezing.
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 2897
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Dealing with External Instrument plugin and Freezing / Bounce In Place?

Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:45 am

Well, Apple does not go out of their way and actually encourage the use of external MIDI instruments. They'd rather have you use software instruments, lots of them and subsequently outgrow your computer and buy a newer one.
1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.13.6. Logic X.4.4
 
JakobP
Posts: 1116
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Dealing with External Instrument plugin and Freezing / Bounce In Place?

Thu Jan 16, 2020 2:45 am

esaruoho wrote:
...Do I really need to go the route of creating an Audio Track in addition to already having the External Instrument, enabling Record with the Audio Track, press Record on the transport and press stop when I'm done with the recording? Or, is there some fancy method that results in the same results, without having to create an Audio Track?
Bounce In Place seemed to result in just silence. Is there a non-offline-recording version of it?

Solo the external instrument track and go File>Bounce>Project or Section (or press command+b), select 'Realtime' and 'Add to Project' and bounce. Open the project audio browser and drag the bounce to the desired track ?
Logic 10.0.7 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.12.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.12.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 4GB RAM • 500GB HD • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 •Gibson ES335 • cheap Miditech keyboard
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 2897
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Dealing with External Instrument plugin and Freezing / Bounce In Place?

Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:24 am

File>Bounce>Project or Section (or press command+b)

This bounces the output of the Stereo Out, thus containing any processing, automation and level changes in between which is very likely not what he wanted.
1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.13.6. Logic X.4.4
 
JakobP
Posts: 1116
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Dealing with External Instrument plugin and Freezing / Bounce In Place?

Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:37 am

Well, you never know... ;)
Logic 10.0.7 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.12.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.12.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 4GB RAM • 500GB HD • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 •Gibson ES335 • cheap Miditech keyboard
 
JakobP
Posts: 1116
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Dealing with External Instrument plugin and Freezing / Bounce In Place?

Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:42 am

I'm thinking, during the "initial and creative" phase of the project, usually there's not much automation and stereo out processing going on yet, but of course that doesn't always apply..
Logic 10.0.7 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.12.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.12.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 4GB RAM • 500GB HD • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 •Gibson ES335 • cheap Miditech keyboard
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 2897
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Dealing with External Instrument plugin and Freezing / Bounce In Place?

Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:45 am

By the time you're printing parts to audio, there surely might...
1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.13.6. Logic X.4.4
 
JakobP
Posts: 1116
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Dealing with External Instrument plugin and Freezing / Bounce In Place?

Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:53 am

Sure, I'm just pointing out to the OP that there's more than one way to do it, it usually is in Logic :) Both ways have their drawbacks...
Logic 10.0.7 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.12.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.12.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 4GB RAM • 500GB HD • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 •Gibson ES335 • cheap Miditech keyboard
 
User avatar
esaruoho
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:49 pm
Location: Vuosaari, Eastern Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: Dealing with External Instrument plugin and Freezing / Bounce In Place?

Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:40 am

JakobP wrote:
Solo the external instrument track and go File>Bounce>Project or Section (or press command+b), select 'Realtime' and 'Add to Project' and bounce. Open the project audio browser and drag the bounce to the desired track ?


Thanks for your response. While this definitely works (and is what I use for midi-only outboard-gear-only recording when I need to create a wavefile of the full song, with processing.. This kind of "print the efx + processing + volume settings" wavefile is not necessarily ready to be "put back in". I'm hoping to record the synths dry, with the External Instrument - which does not seem to be supported with Logic Pro X.

So the solution is to create an Audio Track, set it to the input, arm it, press record and record the results into a wavefile, then move the effect chain + routing from the External Instrument track to the new Audio Track. That's fine. I was just expecting there to be a faster cooler better way, which would have enabled me to "convert" an External Instrument track into an Audio Track, (and, before that, duplicate the External Instrument track and use that for the next parts) without fiddling.

I can easily modify my external midi gear Logic template so that it already has a couple of audio tracks ready and wired for receiving audio. It's no hassle.

I just wasn't sure if that was the only way to do it in LPX :)

Thanks for all the responses!