A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Raystrack
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 2:36 pm
Location: UK

Pro X - switch midi channel mid track?

Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:09 am

Hi - I'd like to set up one track with a Kontakt multi and then switch between the instruments/articulations using automated midi channel change. Keeping it on one track will make score editing easier. I've tried entering channel changes in the Event Editor but it doesn't work. Any help appreciated.
Mac Mini i7 16GB RAM, OSX 10.15.3, Logic 10.4.8
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 74527
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pro X - switch midi channel mid track?

Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:36 am

Can you detail what you mean by automated MIDI channel change exactly? MIDI channels are embedded in each MIDI event's data, so each MIDI Note has its own channel. So by giving each MIDI note the desired channel you should get the articulation you want. How are you entering your notes exactly: manually, pencil tool, step recording, live recording...?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.4.8 - Mac OS X 10.15.1 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
User avatar
Raystrack
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 2:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Pro X - switch midi channel mid track?

Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:00 am

I have a instance of Kontakt on one track. Instrument one is a Woodwind Ensemble -Long on Midi Ch 1. Instrument 2 is Woodwind Ensemble -Short on Midi Ch 2. I play the notes in live on my piano or via Midi Gtr 2 and then edit (correct) using piano roll editor.
Mac Mini i7 16GB RAM, OSX 10.15.3, Logic 10.4.8
 
User avatar
Raystrack
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 2:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Pro X - switch midi channel mid track?

Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:32 am

That's interesting. In the Event Editor I altered all the subsequent notes as suggested and it had no effect. However, when I set up a track using East West's Orchestra with different instruments on each channel it worked. That doesn't help with articulation switching but at least I see that using Event Editor does enable a channel switch mid-track - so thanks for that :-).
Mac Mini i7 16GB RAM, OSX 10.15.3, Logic 10.4.8
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 74527
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pro X - switch midi channel mid track?  Topic is solved

Fri Feb 14, 2020 3:51 am

We should get to the bottom of it. Make sure that in your Track inspector the MIDI Channel parameter is set to All?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.4.8 - Mac OS X 10.15.1 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
User avatar
skijumptoes
Posts: 1729
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:09 pm

Re: Pro X - switch midi channel mid track?

Fri Feb 14, 2020 4:20 am

When you have this sorted, also look into the Articulation switching built into the newer builds of Logic Pro X. You can custom map based on MIDI channels to support Kontakt instances etc. It's easier than editing Piano Roll data, plus you can do it on the fly.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E6nDTRR ... u.be&t=180
Last edited by skijumptoes on Fri Feb 14, 2020 4:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
Raystrack
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 2:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Pro X - switch midi channel mid track?

Fri Feb 14, 2020 4:20 am

Doh! Of course - that's fixed it. Thanks very much David :-)
Mac Mini i7 16GB RAM, OSX 10.15.3, Logic 10.4.8
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 74527
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pro X - switch midi channel mid track?

Fri Feb 14, 2020 4:23 am

You're welcome! :D
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.4.8 - Mac OS X 10.15.1 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
User avatar
Raystrack
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 2:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: Pro X - switch midi channel mid track?

Fri Feb 14, 2020 4:40 am

skijumptoes - that's amazing - thanks very much!
Mac Mini i7 16GB RAM, OSX 10.15.3, Logic 10.4.8
HELP SUPPORT OUR FORUM: