A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Oblight
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:14 am

Logic's in built tuner won't go past an A

Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:18 am

I've been wondering this for a while with both Logic's built-in tuner and the D'addario clip on tuner I have as well.

I have a bass that is tuned drop G# to get a nice sub bass to songs but both tuners just refuse to pick it up, the lowest I have seen it is an A. Why is this? I would understand the clip on tuners difficulty as the sensor used to pick up the frequency most likely won't be that precise. But logics one? Is there a way to get around it without having to resort to harmonics and octaves?

Thanks
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 79055
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Logic's in built tuner won't go past an A

Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:34 am

In general it's more challenging for tuners to pick up on those very low notes. This is true of nearly all tuners I've used, hardware or software. It depends also a lot on the source itself, so your bass. It's probably generating frequencies that mess with the tuner's ability to analyze the pitch precisely.

Even when tuners can pick up those notes I find that tuning such low notes with a tuner doesn't yield satisfying results. Our ears tend to favor stretched tunings when low pitches need to be tuned a little lower and high pitches a little higher than what a tuner would say. My preference is to tune those low strings by ear as much as possible.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
skijumptoes
Posts: 1888
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:09 pm

Re: Logic's in built tuner won't go past an A

Fri Feb 14, 2020 4:16 am

Yeah i agree, tune to a ready calibrated string an octave up is far better. If your intonation is good, you should be able to tune along the fret also (providing you don't press down to hard). Tune it open, and hold a string to review the change.

I can't even think what Drop G# sounds like on a bass, but maybe that's so low the act of tuning it to an octave up doesn't create those 'woowoow' harmonics that you need for ear.

Logic can put out a test tone too, don't forget.
 
User avatar
robinloops
Posts: 1389
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 11:11 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Logic's in built tuner won't go past an A

Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:27 am

Try 12th fret harmonics.
LPX 10.4.5; OS 10.14.5; iMac I5/2.9GHz, 16 GB RAM; SSD; Saffire Pro24: Scarlett 2i2; AxiomPro61
Misc: iControl; Denon MC600