A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
kaboomer
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 5:22 pm
Contact:

Modulate FX parameters: Thesys? Something else?

Wed Mar 25, 2020 5:46 pm

Hi all. I’d like to be able to modulate plugin parameters with a wider and more robust range of mod sources than are available from Logic’s MIDI FX Modulator.

Looking around, seems like Thesys might be the best solution; anyone here with experience using Thesys to modulate Logic plugin parameters? I downloaded the demo, but can’t figure out how to route its modulation data to downstream plugins in the Logic channel strip.

Also, if anyone knows of other plugins/solutions that might work, I’m all ears…
Mac Mini 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 | 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 | 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.6 | UA Apollo Twin Thunderbolt Duo | UA Firewire Satellite Duo
 
tomorrowstops
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:19 pm

Re: Modulate FX parameters: Thesys? Something else?

Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:09 am

what are some examples of parameters you want modulate? you could modulate via automation with some parameters
http://www.musicbynatejohnson.com

• Logic 10.4.6
• OS X 10.13.6
• 2013 Macbook Pro Retina
• 2.4 ghz
• 8GB RAM
• 256GB SSD
• NI Komplete Audio 2
 
kaboomer
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Modulate FX parameters: Thesys? Something else?

Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:29 pm

Thanks tomorrowstops! Yeah, I know that I can modulate anything I want via automation.

What I'm looking for is an automatic modulation source, where I don't have to write anything myself. Specifically, I'd love to be able to modulate plugin parameters with a step sequencer, as you can inside many synths. Any ideas?
Mac Mini 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 | 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 | 10.14.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.6 | UA Apollo Twin Thunderbolt Duo | UA Firewire Satellite Duo
 
tomorrowstops
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:19 pm

Re: Modulate FX parameters: Thesys? Something else?

Thu Mar 26, 2020 4:36 pm

Oh ok, I gotcha. Unfortunately I don’t have any particular suggestions. What we need in Logic is a proper LFO style modulation tool like Live has! I’ll check out Thesys though, and see if I can figure it out.
http://www.musicbynatejohnson.com

• Logic 10.4.6
• OS X 10.13.6
• 2013 Macbook Pro Retina
• 2.4 ghz
• 8GB RAM
• 256GB SSD
• NI Komplete Audio 2