A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
eduluke
Topic Author
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 12:36 pm

For how long can Logic Pro X play a cycled area?

Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:14 am

Odd question, I know, but...

I was trying to "break in" a brand new guitar speaker cabinet and was using Logic as a source of music, straight to the power amp, for a 48 hours speaker workout.
I prepared a 5 minute track with some EDM/Djent looped in cycled mode, hit play yesterday at 20:00 PM, just made sure it was properly looping and left the studio.
Today morning, at 08:00 AM I went back to the studio and Logic was stopped.=/

So, anyone knows for how long can Logic be playing a cycled area in loop?
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 78647
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: For how long can Logic Pro X play a cycled area?

Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:18 am

There's no time limit.

Did your Mac go to sleep or did the screen lock up...?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
eduluke
Topic Author
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 12:36 pm

Re: For how long can Logic Pro X play a cycled area?

Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:21 am

My mac is set to never sleep, and any screen lock. =(
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 78647
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: For how long can Logic Pro X play a cycled area?

Tue Jun 30, 2020 7:26 am

Then I'm not sure why it stopped.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Eriksimon
Posts: 7084
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: For how long can Logic Pro X play a cycled area?

Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:34 am

Overheating > CPU throttling > system overload > stop?
is one option.
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

miMac Intel i5 3.6 GHz 16 GB RAM/OS X 12.6 (Sierra)/Logic Pro X 10.4.4 & OS X Mojave 14.6/Logic Pro 10.5.0/Marantz MPM-1000/Sony F-V3T/U-Phoria UMC204HD/Novation Impulse 49/Studiologic CMK 149
 
User avatar
Eriksimon
Posts: 7084
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: For how long can Logic Pro X play a cycled area?

Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:35 am

half a second power cut?
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

miMac Intel i5 3.6 GHz 16 GB RAM/OS X 12.6 (Sierra)/Logic Pro X 10.4.4 & OS X Mojave 14.6/Logic Pro 10.5.0/Marantz MPM-1000/Sony F-V3T/U-Phoria UMC204HD/Novation Impulse 49/Studiologic CMK 149
 
User avatar
Eriksimon
Posts: 7084
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: For how long can Logic Pro X play a cycled area?

Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:35 am

A bug in your Macbook caused a minute short circuit, not damaging anything, but enough to stop Logic.
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

miMac Intel i5 3.6 GHz 16 GB RAM/OS X 12.6 (Sierra)/Logic Pro X 10.4.4 & OS X Mojave 14.6/Logic Pro 10.5.0/Marantz MPM-1000/Sony F-V3T/U-Phoria UMC204HD/Novation Impulse 49/Studiologic CMK 149
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 3614
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: For how long can Logic Pro X play a cycled area?

Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:43 pm

Having done audio installations with a Mac running on Cycle in the past, I too have observed this. Project stopped after hours or even days, no hint why.
Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer

1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.4.4 & 5.1
 
User avatar
Eriksimon
Posts: 7084
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: For how long can Logic Pro X play a cycled area?

Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:39 am

Mac got fed up.
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

miMac Intel i5 3.6 GHz 16 GB RAM/OS X 12.6 (Sierra)/Logic Pro X 10.4.4 & OS X Mojave 14.6/Logic Pro 10.5.0/Marantz MPM-1000/Sony F-V3T/U-Phoria UMC204HD/Novation Impulse 49/Studiologic CMK 149
 
User avatar
Eriksimon
Posts: 7084
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: For how long can Logic Pro X play a cycled area?

Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:41 am

Alternative: put 1 iTunes song on repeat.
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

miMac Intel i5 3.6 GHz 16 GB RAM/OS X 12.6 (Sierra)/Logic Pro X 10.4.4 & OS X Mojave 14.6/Logic Pro 10.5.0/Marantz MPM-1000/Sony F-V3T/U-Phoria UMC204HD/Novation Impulse 49/Studiologic CMK 149
 
User avatar
fisherking
Posts: 5223
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 5:51 am
Location: yes
Contact:

Re: For how long can Logic Pro X play a cycled area?

Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:10 am

or uncheck "Allow boredom" setting in logic's preferences...
LX10.5.1 • os10.15.6b • 2019 3.2 i7 imac • one plugin short of perfection
http://upstatebrooklyn.com
 
User avatar
des99
Posts: 2994
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:08 pm

Re: For how long can Logic Pro X play a cycled area?

Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:27 am

A very frazzled neighbour broke in, exclaimed "FFS how do I get this damn music to stop" and hit the spacebar on your computer - music stopped, job done. :)
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio