A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Lizard Pencil
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 11:44 am

Logic agknowledges that notes are being played, but master audio doesn't work (V. 10.4.4)

Mon Sep 20, 2021 2:01 pm

Hi everybody! I'm having a pretty big issue regarding the volume in some of my projects, and could really use some expert help.

So I'm working on a solo piano album. Some tracks are recorded using the in-program software instruments. Other tracks I wanted to record using the instrument settings from my piano, because there are some instrument settings unique to my piano that can't be recreated in Logic. This is a list of all my equipment.

* An 88 key Krome piano
* A mac laptop
* A Scarlett 18i8 interface
* A 1202VLZ4 mixer
* 2 BX5 speakers

Now, I had no problem recording songs with the software instruments, but when it came to trying to replicate the sounds from my piano directly into Logic, I just can't seem do it. I was able to record some songs, and I played them back, and I was extremely happy with how they sounded, so I exported one of them into a WAV file, and all there was was silence. I played the song back in Logic, and that's when I noticed the audio was being played only on the piano itself, and Logic's master volume was silent. It was acknowledging that the MIDI was there, but when the piano was turned off... nothing was playing.

I invited one of my musician buddies over (he has a college degree in music engineering), and he spent a good 45 minutes trying to find a solution, but couldn't find one. He told me that he tried 5 different solutions which "absolutely should've worked", but they just didn't. He told me that there might be something in my setup that is incorrectly wired, which is very possible because knowing which equipment I should or shouldn't connect with each other has always been an extreme weakness of mine.

Here's a picture of the volume problem:

Image

And here are some picture of my setup:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I labeled everything to the best of my abilities. If you require more pictures, tell me, and I'll post more.

Thanks in advance!
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 86983
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Logic agknowledges that notes are being played, but master audio doesn't work (V. 10.4.4)

Tue Sep 21, 2021 2:13 am

Lizard Pencil wrote:
I played them back, and I was extremely happy with how they sounded, so I exported one of them into a WAV file, and all there was was silence

You need to route the audio from your Krome to Logic's mixer.

If the piano has USB audio, then you can choose it as an input audio device in Logic's preferences. Then you have two choices:

1. Record the piano onto an audio track in Logic, then you can bounce your project normally.

2. Create an Aux in the Mixer (Options> New Aux Channel Strip), set its inputs to the piano inputs, make sure it's routed to Stereo Out, and bounce in real time:

real time bounce.png
real time bounce.png (48.53 KiB) Viewed 1398 times
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.7.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Lizard Pencil
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 11:44 am

Re: Logic agknowledges that notes are being played, but master audio doesn't work (V. 10.4.4)

Wed Sep 22, 2021 6:14 pm

David Nahmani wrote:
Lizard Pencil wrote:
I played them back, and I was extremely happy with how they sounded, so I exported one of them into a WAV file, and all there was was silence

You need to route the audio from your Krome to Logic's mixer.

If the piano has USB audio, then you can choose it as an input audio device in Logic's preferences. Then you have two choices:

1. Record the piano onto an audio track in Logic, then you can bounce your project normally.

2. Create an Aux in the Mixer (Options> New Aux Channel Strip), set its inputs to the piano inputs, make sure it's routed to Stereo Out, and bounce in real time:

real time bounce.png


Appreciated!

I'm sad to say that I've actually changed my setup since I posted this, but should I ever set it back up the previous way (which is likely), then I'll always have this to look back to. Thanks again.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 86983
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Logic agknowledges that notes are being played, but master audio doesn't work (V. 10.4.4)

Thu Sep 23, 2021 12:52 am

Ok no worries! As long as you find a way to make your setup works for you, that's what matters the most.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.7.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM