A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.



 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 73252
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

Uninstalling Logic Studio

Thu Sep 11, 2008 6:11 pm

Here is an attempt to list all the files and folders you should remove from your hard drive to completely uninstall Logic Studio (Logic Pro 8 and all other apps, content and dependent files). Since no two systems are alike, no two installs are alike, and installs vary greatly depending on the version, the way they were updated, other apps that may use common files, etc...please make sure your backups are up to date and USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Application Files
/Applications/Compressor
/Applications/Logic Node
/Applications/Logic Pro
/Applications/MainStage
/Applications/Soundtrack Pro
/Applications/WaveBurner
/Applications/Utilities/Apple Loops Utility
/Applications/Utilities/Impulse Response Utility

Factory Settings, Instruments
/Library/Application Support/Logic/
/Library/Application Support/Garageband/
/Library/Application Support/Garageband Content/ (Legacy)
/Library/Application Support/Soundtrack Pro/
/Library/Application Support/WaveBurner/

Impulse Responses
/Library/Audio/Impulse Responses/

Receipts
Receipts can vary quite a bit depending on your system. Try to find all those that look like the following:
/Library/Receipts/AudioContentforSoundtrackProXX.pkg
/Library/Receipts/CompressorXX.pkg
/Library/Receipts/EXS24SamplerLibrarySamples.pkg
/Library/Receipts/EXS24SamplerLibraryStudio.pkg
/Library/Receipts/GarageBandXX.pkg
/Library/Receipts/ImpulseData.pkg
/Library/Receipts/ImpulseResponseUtility.pkg
/Library/Receipts/JamPackXX.pkg
/Library/Receipts/LogicXX.pkg
/Library/Receipts/MainStageXX.pkg
/Library/Receipts/RemixToolsXX.pkg
/Library/Receipts/RhythmSectionXX.pkg
/Library/Receipts/SharedLogicStudioHelpFiles.pkg
/Library/Receipts/SoundtrackProXX.pkg
/Library/Receipts/UltrabeatXX.pkg
/Library/Receipts/WaveburnerXX.pkg

User Preferences:
~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.logic.pro.plist
~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.logic.pro.cs
~/Library/Preferences/Logic/ (Legacy preferences)

License
/Library/Application Support/ProApps/Logic Studio System ID

Apple Loops
/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/Apple/Apple Loops for GarageBand/
/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/Apple/Apple Loops for Soundtrack Pro/
/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/Apple/iLife Sound Effects/
/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/Apple/Jam Pack 1/
/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/Apple/Jam Pack Remix Tools/
/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/Apple/Jam Pack Rhythm Section/
/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/Apple/Jam Pack Symphony Orchestra/
/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/Apple/Jam Pack World Music/
/Library/Audio/Apple Loops Index/
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.4.4 - Mac OS X 10.12.6 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
DannyKing
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:49 am

 

Fri Oct 17, 2008 5:51 am

I dont know why you would want to do this....
 
User avatar
TC
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 8:43 am
Location: São Paulo

 

Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:07 am

DannyKing wrote:
I dont know why you would want to do this....


I'm selling my G5 today and this was very helpful since I don't want to sell my Logic sn with it.
LP X; MainStage 3.1.1; OSX 10.10.3; MP (2008) Oct 2.8GHz; MBP (2013)
 
Drooling Dog
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 11:17 pm

 

Thu Oct 23, 2008 11:20 pm

I too am thinking about uninstalling Logic Studio, and I'm very nervous.

In the scenario above, wouldn't deleting some of those files mess with GarageBand? I'd like to see GarageBand work, but be returned to its out-of-the-box state.
 
User avatar
route-electrique
Posts: 1144
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:03 pm
Location: Finland, Helsinki
Contact:

 

Fri Oct 24, 2008 2:25 am

DannyKing wrote:
I dont know why you would want to do this....


Well, this thread would have been useful for me when i first time installed Logic and forgot to untick those Appleloops.
♫ Mac Pro 8-Core Early 2008 | OSX 10.9 | 16GB | Logic Pro 10.0.4 | Studio One Pro v2.6 | RME | Klein & Hummel O300 | Avalon AD2055 | Eventide Eclipse | Chandler Germanium Pair | Roland Juno-60 | Korg MonoPoly | ♫
 
vaughn_leong
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:58 pm

Deleting Apple MIDI Green Loops from loop browser.

Fri Oct 31, 2008 12:14 am

Hi,

Where are apple midi green loops stored?

I need to delete/backup some green midi loops that I added to the Logic 8 loop browser.
 
vaughn_leong
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:58 pm

Midi Green Loops

Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:03 am

Hey, I think I figured it out. I think the Midi Green Apple loops are the same as the .aiff files. in user/library/audio/user loops/singlefiles.

Can anyone confirm this?

Thanks.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 73252
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

Re: Midi Green Loops

Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:21 am

vaughn_leong wrote:
Hey, I think I figured it out. I think the Midi Green Apple loops are the same as the .aiff files. in user/library/audio/user loops/singlefiles.

Can anyone confirm this?

Thanks.


You're correct. All Apple Loops, green or blue, ARE .aiff files.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.4.4 - Mac OS X 10.12.6 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
batzilla
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:26 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

 

Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:50 pm

What about a program like "AppZapper"? It seems to grab every file/folder associated with the program you're "zapping" and allows you to look over all the content before hitting the KABOOM! button.

Maybe it isn't as thorough?

Just wanted to throw that out there. I have used AZ many times and it seems to do a great job but David's post would definitely be the better route to make sure.
PPC G5 Quad | 23" CD | Casio Privia PX-110 | M-Audio Axiom 25 | Logic Pro 8 | Reason 4 | NI Komplete 4 | Synthogy Ivory | Spectrasonics Atmosphere | Trilogy | Stylus RMX | EZDrummer. I need more money...
 
ckp
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Atl ,Ga
Contact:

 

Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:17 am

do you use these steps to uninstall logic 7.1 also??
macbook pro 5,3 , lp7-9, spectrasonics everything, NI komplete 5, PT LE 8, virus TI, Roland fantom, Apogee Duet
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 73252
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

 

Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:28 am

ckp wrote:
do you use these steps to uninstall logic 7.1 also??


No, Logic 7 had a different file structure and you will not find the same files in the same places. Apple had an article on how to uninstall Logic 7:

Logic Pro 7: How to uninstall
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.4.4 - Mac OS X 10.12.6 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
ckp
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Atl ,Ga
Contact:

 

Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:35 am

thanks
macbook pro 5,3 , lp7-9, spectrasonics everything, NI komplete 5, PT LE 8, virus TI, Roland fantom, Apogee Duet
 
User avatar
Glenn Lancaster
Posts: 1001
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:06 pm
Location: The Windmills of my Mind

 

Sat Aug 22, 2009 1:35 pm

I don't seem to have 'receipts' sub-folder in my Library folder. That is the second time today that I've seen someone point to a pathway in the Library folder for one reason or another, only to find I have no such sub-folder. Is this a 10.5 change?

Glenn
Late 2015 27" iMac, i7, 4ghz, 32 gb RAM, OS 10.14.6, Logic Pro 10.4.6, RME FF802, Novation 61SL Mk II. Martins and Fenders and Gibsons, oh my!
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 73252
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

 

Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:00 pm

Glenn F wrote:
I don't seem to have 'receipts' sub-folder in my Library folder. That is the second time today that I've seen someone point to a pathway in the Library folder for one reason or another, only to find I have no such sub-folder. Is this a 10.5 change?

Glenn


Glenn, make sure you look at the Library folder which is inside your Macintosh HD folder, not the one in your home folder.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.4.4 - Mac OS X 10.12.6 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
User avatar
Glenn Lancaster
Posts: 1001
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:06 pm
Location: The Windmills of my Mind

 

Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:38 pm

Ah! I didn't know there was a difference!

Thanks, David!

Glenn
Late 2015 27" iMac, i7, 4ghz, 32 gb RAM, OS 10.14.6, Logic Pro 10.4.6, RME FF802, Novation 61SL Mk II. Martins and Fenders and Gibsons, oh my!
 
cliveports
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:40 pm

 

Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:22 am

Just like to add to David's excellent post, under the "Factory Settings, Instruments" section where it says /Library/Application Support/etc...

Note that this folder exists in TWO places; the HD and the USERNAME.

So, you'll find files you have to delete in two places:

HD/Library/Application Support/etc...

and

USER//Library/Application Support/etc...

Hope that helps!
 
John Price
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 12:31 pm
Location: USA

 

Sun Oct 11, 2009 1:42 pm

OK! I have logic pro7 and pro8 on my computer and now I just upgraded to pro9. Should I get rid of 7 & 8 ? And if so how do I know what to delete without effecting pro9?
Thanks!
John
Everything Matters!
 
cliveports
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:40 pm

 

Mon Oct 12, 2009 12:39 am

What I did was to remove everything as defined in David's post along with some hidden plists and the licence files (Note that in David's post he defines the licence file as "Logic Studio System ID" on mine it was "ProAppsSystemID") leaving only my AUs since the new install automatically picks them up and of course all my project files! (I was going to leave the Jam packs on as well but I decided to delete them since the new Voices Jam Pack is now included in L9. Then I installed my new L9 upgrade when it got to the licence entry screen it asked for my new L9 licence then, (it being smart enough to know it was an upgrade), it asked for my old L8 licence which I entered and bingo, a nice fresh install of L9 only.

Hope that helps!
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 73252
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

 

Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:47 pm

cliveports wrote:
(Note that in David's post he defines the licence file as "Logic Studio System ID" on mine it was "ProAppsSystemID")


ProAppsSystemID is also present in that folder, but it is not your Logic license. Your Logic license is "Logic Studio System ID", as indicated in my post.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.4.4 - Mac OS X 10.12.6 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
midiman
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:00 am

 

Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:27 am

Actually, in Logic Pro 9, it puts the licensing info in the ProAppsSystemID and not the Logic Studio System ID. You can demonstrate this by removing the Logic system id and starting Logic. It will not ask you to reauthorize. If you remove the ProAppsSystemID and restart, it will ask you to reauthorize. But, if you have Final Cut Pro 7 (the new final cut studio), the ProAppsSystemID also contains it's licensing info, so if you remove it, you will have to reauthorize it as well - found this out the hard way.
24" iMac /C2D 2.8ghz/4Gb/320-7200/ Edirol FA 101 interface / OS X 10.6.2/ Logic Pro 9.1