Bouncing, mixing

Awil

hi,

i am a relative beginner in using Logic. I am wondering what exactly does it mean to bounce a track and what does bouncing a track do and should I do it.

Which is better for recording vocals and then editing them (compressing/eq, etc) Soundtrack pro or Logic.

Thanks

Hi Awil,

Bouncing a track means that you convert the audio or midi into a new audio file. It can include the effects that are affecting its sound, all of them or the ones you decide to choose.

This is very useful when you are using a lot of FX or plugins and you want to save CPU power and RAM, therefore your session will go smoothly if you bounce your tracks. I will for instance recomend bouncing the amp and pedal designers, that way you can work the track with the main reverbs or delays that you are using for your session.

Hope this helps.

hi,

i am a relative beginner in using Logic. I am wondering what exactly does it mean to bounce a track and what does bouncing a track do and should I do it.

Which is better for recording vocals and then editing them (compressing/eq, etc) Soundtrack pro or Logic.

Thanks

A bounce is pretty much you exporting a final mixdown to disc. It can be stereo or surround, Mp3 or AIFF or whatever you want. It's very common to make several bounces at various points in the mixing process, so that you can listen to the mix develop on different systems- your car, your girlfriend's stereo, to get a full understanding of what your mix is.

A bounce is the mixed sum of all the tracks you have, audio and MIDI, as well as any sends and effects you have on all the tracks. It's the end result.