A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.



 
fader8
Topic Author
Posts: 11215
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Tampa, Florida
Contact:

3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Sat Mar 13, 2010 10:25 am

Since Logic 9, we have CSParameterOrder.plist files for Logic's native plug-ins. These can be made for 3rd party plug-ins as well. These lists allow you to reorder or remove parameters as they appear on a supported control surface.

I'm starting this thread as a collection point for people to post them if they feel like making one, or a few.

I've made one for the Sony Oxford Transmod as an example and have attached it below.

To make a CSParameterOrder.plist file for a plug-in:

1. First go to HD/Application Support/Logic/PlugIn Settings/ and within almost any of the individual plug-in folders you will find one of these files. Copy one of them to the desktop. Clip Distortion is a simple one to use.

2. Open the file on your desktop with Text Editor. (If anyone knows a better editor to work with these files, let me know!)
(Some candidates in the following posts!)

3. Each parameter has a number assigned to it permanently. The name is only for your reference when working with this file, ie changing the name here doesn't change the name that appears on your control surface display. So change the names as you like to match the new plug-ins parameter names. Or you don't need the names at all. They are just for convenience.

4. The order they show up on your control surface is determined by where they are in the list. So in this example, if I wanted Overshoot and Rise Time to be last, I'd place them at the bottom of the list, like this:

<array>
<string>0 Gain</string>
<string>1 Threshold</string>
<string>2 DeadBand</string>
<string>3 Ratio</string>
<string>4 In</string>
<string>7 Recovery</string>
<string>8 Overdrive</string>
<string>5 Overshoot</string>
<string>6 Rise Time</string>
</array>


5. If you didn't want one or more parameters to show up at all on your control surface, just delete that line for that parameter number. (This is the coolest feature, as some plugs include stuff you'd usually not need on a control surface.)

6. When you're done editing the order or removing parameters, select Save in Text Edit.

7. Place this file in the user preset folder for the plug-in. So, for the attached Transmod example (if you had that plug) you would place it like this:
[User Folder]/Library/Audio/Presets/Sonnox (AU Native)/Oxford Transmod/CSParameterOrder.plist


That's all there is to it. If you make one, put it in a folder named after the plug-in, zip the folder and then attach it. Because they will all have the same filename this avoids confusion.

Here's what my attached Transmod file looks like:
Attachments
plist.jpg
plist.jpg (54.35 KiB) Viewed 21277 times
Transmod_Parameter_List.zip
(1.34 KiB) Downloaded 898 times
Last edited by fader8 on Sat Mar 13, 2010 1:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Music helps not the toothache.--George Herbert

G5Quad2.5, LP9.0.2,OSX.5.8,RME Digi&Multiface,002r, 4xUAD-1,Duende PCIe,Unitor8-AMT8,Logic Control+4 LCXT's,Capybara320,Kurz...
 
fader8
Topic Author
Posts: 11215
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Tampa, Florida
Contact:

 

Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:24 am

I found PlistEdit Pro, a shareware app that seems to make this job easier:
http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/d ... itpro.html

I'll try it out.
Music helps not the toothache.--George Herbert



G5Quad2.5, LP9.0.2,OSX.5.8,RME Digi&Multiface,002r, 4xUAD-1,Duende PCIe,Unitor8-AMT8,Logic Control+4 LCXT's,Capybara320,Kurz...
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 16313
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

 

Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:57 am

This one's free: Pref Setter

And there's also Apple's Property List Editor which is part of OSX's Developer Tools (Xcode). These apps are not installed by default.

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.13.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.6
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
fader8
Topic Author
Posts: 11215
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Tampa, Florida
Contact:

 

Sat Mar 13, 2010 1:26 pm

Thanks J.

I just created the plist for Native Instruments Pro-53 synth using PlistEdit Pro. It worked well. I'll try your suggestions too. This one's a good candidate for reorganizing. It's attached here.

A couple of FYI's:

You don't need to restart Logic to see your changes made to the list. Just close and reopen the plug-in.

If you want blank spaces on a page, use a number in the string that's higher than the highest number parameter in the plug-in. Place this where you want the space to be. Handy if you want to organize sections by page.

Here's the Pro-53 list:
Attachments
NI_Pro-53_Param_List.zip
(1.17 KiB) Downloaded 925 times
Music helps not the toothache.--George Herbert



G5Quad2.5, LP9.0.2,OSX.5.8,RME Digi&Multiface,002r, 4xUAD-1,Duende PCIe,Unitor8-AMT8,Logic Control+4 LCXT's,Capybara320,Kurz...
 
fader8
Topic Author
Posts: 11215
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Tampa, Florida
Contact:

 

Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:27 pm

Rob Papen Predator list attached.
Attachments
Predator_Param_List.zip
(2.13 KiB) Downloaded 895 times
Music helps not the toothache.--George Herbert



G5Quad2.5, LP9.0.2,OSX.5.8,RME Digi&Multiface,002r, 4xUAD-1,Duende PCIe,Unitor8-AMT8,Logic Control+4 LCXT's,Capybara320,Kurz...
 
fader8
Topic Author
Posts: 11215
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Tampa, Florida
Contact:

 

Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:54 am

After trying both PlistEdit Pro and Pref Setter, I can say that PlistEdit Pro seems better suited for this particular task. Re-ordering the array, copying groups of parameters, etc., is very intuitive.

The Predator list that I posted above is one I've wanted to edit for a long time. It's practically useless in its stock form. The list I posted is identical to how it displays normally, so you'll definitely want to get rid of all the spacers in the array, lest you'll be paging through them like mad. Of course, how you organize them depends on how many parameters you can display at once, eg how many control surfaces you have.

I'd recommend you definitely set the "Multiple Controls per Parameter" to "2" in the Control Surface prefs, and uncheck "Only when all parameters fit on one page". Many of Predators parameters have long names that are not well abbreviated otherwise, making them almost impossible to recognize unless more display room is allowed for them. That's true for many 3rd party plugs.

Note that you can have any parameter appear more than once. So if you want Osc 1 On-Off to be visible on more than one display page, you can. Very handy.
Music helps not the toothache.--George Herbert



G5Quad2.5, LP9.0.2,OSX.5.8,RME Digi&Multiface,002r, 4xUAD-1,Duende PCIe,Unitor8-AMT8,Logic Control+4 LCXT's,Capybara320,Kurz...
 
User avatar
ibt
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:28 pm

 

Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:36 pm

.plists for some TAL-Togu Audio Line plug-ins
Attachments
Tal-BassLine-AU.zip
(1.36 KiB) Downloaded 760 times
TAL Dub III Plugin.zip
(1.17 KiB) Downloaded 718 times
TAL Reverb Plugin.zip
(1.15 KiB) Downloaded 771 times
TAL Filter Plugin.zip
(1.85 KiB) Downloaded 700 times
TAL-DUB-II.zip
(1.16 KiB) Downloaded 763 times
Tal-Flanger-AU-Effect.zip
(1.17 KiB) Downloaded 770 times
Tal-Phaser-60-AU-Effect.zip
(1.87 KiB) Downloaded 753 times
LP X 10.4.2, iMac 3.4Ghz Quad i7 16GB 10.14.1 | MOTU Ultralite
Logic Pro 9.1.8, MB 2.4Ghz Intel C2D 6GB 10.8.5

 
User avatar
33tetragammon
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:54 am
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

 

Tue Jul 13, 2010 11:13 am

thanks a lot for this,guys!

i just purchased Logic studio 9 two weeks ago,i'm completely blown away by it!
i have an M-audio Axiom pro 49(LOVE IT ALSO!!!),but was not too happy about the defaultmappings for Sculpture etc :too much parameters in the wrong order imo.
so after reading this,i downloaded PLISTEDIT PRO.supereasy to use(drag and drop,delete what you don't want).i now have a small parameterorder list with the morph x-y plus body eq controls on one page as an experiment,more will be added(like filter, envelope).
when that's done i'll post it elsewhere on this forum(not here obviously,since this post is for 3rd party plugins).
 
tim_chandler
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 9:14 am

Extracting CSParameterOrder.plist for 3rd party plug-ins

Thu Aug 05, 2010 9:28 am

Just a handy little tip on this subject. I found that you can extract the CSParameterorder.plist file from 3rd party instruments and plug-ins. To do this, you need to save a plug-in setting as "#default" to the default location to which the plug-in wants to save plug-in settings. You then save over this file with the same name and this will create a CSParameterorder.plist file for the 3rd party plug-in automatically.
 
User avatar
ibt
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:28 pm

 

Thu Aug 05, 2010 10:51 am

Good tip Tim - what a time saver! Wasn’t working for me, ’til I switched from #Default to #default :wink:
LP X 10.4.2, iMac 3.4Ghz Quad i7 16GB 10.14.1 | MOTU Ultralite
Logic Pro 9.1.8, MB 2.4Ghz Intel C2D 6GB 10.8.5

 
User avatar
ibt
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:28 pm

 

Mon Aug 09, 2010 1:50 pm

TAL NoiseMaker Plugin (64bit ready)
Attachments
TAL NoiseMaker Plugin.zip
(1.06 KiB) Downloaded 682 times
LP X 10.4.2, iMac 3.4Ghz Quad i7 16GB 10.14.1 | MOTU Ultralite
Logic Pro 9.1.8, MB 2.4Ghz Intel C2D 6GB 10.8.5

 
User avatar
33tetragammon
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:54 am
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

mappings for N.I's Massive,FM8 & Camel's Alchemy

Sat Oct 09, 2010 4:33 am

here's a few csparameterorderplists i made with plist edit pro :

place these files in users>library>audio>presets>then just add to the corresponding plugin-folder(if it doesn't exist yet,just create it and tweak away.
any feedback is welcome!

enjoy!
Attachments
CSParameterOrder.plist
FM 8
(1.01 KiB) Downloaded 411 times
CSParameterOrder.plist
Massive
(1.9 KiB) Downloaded 399 times
CSParameterOrder.plist
Alchemy
(686 Bytes) Downloaded 363 times
Last edited by 33tetragammon on Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
torsig1967
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:04 am

 

Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:38 pm

Hi.

Does CSParameterOrder.plist only apply to control surfaces?

I was thinking it might also affect the internal parameter order in Logic so that assigned fader value (the internal CC like format in Logic) and the order in the View>Controls window also changes.

Did some experiments but seems to me this is not the case. Just want to make sure I didn't miss anything.
 
User avatar
33tetragammon
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:54 am
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

some more plugin mappings

Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:30 pm

some more plugin mappings :
Attachments
U-He Zebra 2.5.zip
x-y performance controls mapped
(432 Bytes) Downloaded 645 times
U-He Zebrify FX.zip
x-y performance controls mapped
(432 Bytes) Downloaded 606 times
Last edited by 33tetragammon on Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:40 pm, edited 3 times in total.
 
User avatar
33tetragammon
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:54 am
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

dynamics & eq mappings

Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:37 pm

dynamics & eq mappings :

bear in mind that all plugins also have a MONO version,so you also have to copy the plists to the respective folders in order for those to work with these mappings as well
Attachments
Sonalksis CQ-1.zip
(701 Bytes) Downloaded 599 times
Izotope Ozone 4(limiter).zip
only limiter controls mapped,since that's the only thing i use.
(457 Bytes) Downloaded 599 times
Sonalksis DQ-1.zip
(694 Bytes) Downloaded 604 times
Sonalksis Stereotools.zip
(439 Bytes) Downloaded 616 times
Sonalksis SV-315 compressor.zip
(540 Bytes) Downloaded 610 times
Sonalksis SV-517 EQ.zip
(595 Bytes) Downloaded 608 times
DMG Equality.zip
(584 Bytes) Downloaded 611 times
Waves Linear phase multiband.zip
(704 Bytes) Downloaded 615 times
15" Retina MBP 2.2 GHZ QCi7 8GB Ram, RME Babyface, Komplete Kontrol 49, Nektar Panorama P1, Logic 10.2.3


Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/thirtythreetetragammon
Music : https://33tetragammon.bandcamp.com/releases / http://www.resonatingearth.bandcamp.com
 
User avatar
33tetragammon
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:54 am
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

Nomad Factory Magnetc

Sun Nov 28, 2010 3:24 am

here's one for Nomad Factory's awesome Magnetic plugin :
Attachments
Nomad Factory Magnetic.zip
(529 Bytes) Downloaded 625 times
15" Retina MBP 2.2 GHZ QCi7 8GB Ram, RME Babyface, Komplete Kontrol 49, Nektar Panorama P1, Logic 10.2.3


Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/thirtythreetetragammon
Music : https://33tetragammon.bandcamp.com/releases / http://www.resonatingearth.bandcamp.com
 
fattymatthews
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:21 pm

 

Thu Feb 10, 2011 7:38 pm

Hi Guys

I also just bought Axiom Pro the other day, and was more than gutted to see the rubbish mappings on the controller.

I used to use AutoMap with a remote Zero SL which worked pretty well, but would love to take advantage of the controls on the new Axiom Keyboard so i can tweak a little easier.

I just downloaded the PlistEdit Pro... being a newbie, can someone advise, do you just open the file and copy and paste the text from the original plst file? Would it not just be easier to move the command into the place you want it to show in the original file...

Sorry, total newbie here.
 
User avatar
33tetragammon
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:54 am
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contact:

 

Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:52 am

fattymatthews wrote:

I just downloaded the PlistEdit Pro... being a newbie, can someone advise, do you just open the file and copy and paste the text from the original plst file? Would it not just be easier to move the command into the place you want it to show in the original file...

Sorry, total newbie here.


hi,

i just read your pm.i'll respond here,makes it easier for other people as well.

you just rearrange the parameters in the top list(in plistedit pro).save that,done.

read this entire thread if you haven't already,it explains everything needed.
if there's anything more you'd like to know,just ask.
15" Retina MBP 2.2 GHZ QCi7 8GB Ram, RME Babyface, Komplete Kontrol 49, Nektar Panorama P1, Logic 10.2.3


Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/thirtythreetetragammon
Music : https://33tetragammon.bandcamp.com/releases / http://www.resonatingearth.bandcamp.com
 
distressor
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 7:36 am

 

Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:57 pm

I made a plist for the oxford EQ.

Does anybody know if we could not only rearrange parameters on the control surface but also change value ranges?
The Oxford EQ has A/B buttons and my Mackie C4 doesn‘t recognize this as buttons. That's why pressing the vpot doesn't do anything. I have to dial from 0 to 100% to change A to B and vice versa.

Cheers
Attachments
Sonnox_Oxford_EQ.zip
Oxford_EQ_plist
(754 Bytes) Downloaded 551 times
 
fattymatthews
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:21 pm

Re: 3rd Party Plug-In Control Surface Parameter Lists

Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:25 pm

Sorry for being a retard here, but how exactly do we get the 3rd party plug to export its plist? I tried saving a preset from the 3rd party synth as #default but i cant seem to get the plist file. I am using L9.1.7 on OSX 10.6.8 and as an example, i saved to the (USERNAME)\library\Audio\Presets\Native INstruments\Massive - folder but when saving a preset with the#default name it just creates a #default.nmsv file which essentially is a NI Massive file that opens in standalone mode once double clicked.
Logic 9.1.74 (64 bit)
OSX 10.8
MAC Pro Early 2008
2x3 Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon
10GB Ram
Apogee Duet (1st Edition)