Graphics While Tracking. Am I the only one?

Foghat43

I'm still rather new to Logic but I have read over every post in this forum that relates to graphic problems and still can't find a solution. Even stranger is the fact that nobody else seems to be having this problem. While tracking the waves in the arrange window sometimes disappear and are almost always glitchy, or have little detail until the tracking stops. Sometimes clients will ask me if I forgot to record enable because it looks like nothing is being tracked and I'll have to say " No, its recording. It's just a graphics glitch" I know it is not a HUGE deal and you can work around it but I do like to see what is happening in real time and I don't think this is asking too much. So is anyone out there having this problem? My system is plenty fast and I can't figure it out. I thought maybe it was an Intel thing or my OSX version but everybody else seems to be fine. HELP? thanks.

Which iMac do you have? 21.5"? 27"? The 21.5" has an integrated graphics card, which is far from being the fastest. Logic will do what it can with the graphics card you have. If you upgrade the card you may see faster redraw.

Also to see better definition you may want to zoom out a bit.

If you really need to see what's going on and the live waveform drawing isn't helping you can also use the meter on the channel strip. Or if your clients ask why they can't see the waveform tell them Logic prioritizes recording during recording (over graphic drawing), and they'll see the waveform after the recording is over, and direct them to the meters on the channel strip.

PS: Here on this machine live graphic waveform drawing works pretty well. And I never feel the need to look at the waveform being drawn as I record so I don't really care to be honest.

I sometimes have the same problem. No fun at all, especially when recording a 2 hour show and no waveforms are appearing!

MacBook Pro 2.33, 4 GB RAM

OSX 10.6.3

Logic Pro 9.1.1