A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.



 
User avatar
bcfromfl
Topic Author
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Youngstown, FL

How to install 3rd-party plugins?

Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:01 am

Hi everyone --

Prompted by a couple posts over in the Control Room, I tried downloading and installing the Cyanide 2.0 and Valhalla Echo plugins. However, I don't know how to finish the install to make them available in Logic.

Thanks!

-Bruce
Mac Pro G5 quad-core 2.5mHz, 8.0GB RAM, 150GB HD
Logic 9.0.2
OSX 10.5.8
LaCie Rugged 7200RPM external 320GB HD
Apogee Duet
East West Symphonic Gold, Goliath, Gypsy, Ministry of Rock, Quantum Leap Pianos Gold, Spectrasonics Trilian
 
User avatar
chellstrom
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA
Contact:

 

Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:31 am

If they don't have their own installers, drag them to:

Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components

or

~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)

And obviously make sure you download and use the AU version.
Chris Hellstrom
http://www.chrishellstrom.com
[Logic X.4.4, OS 10.12.6, (2.93 GHz iMac i7, 12 GB RAM), OS 10.12.6 (MacBook Pro, 2.3 GHz, 12 GB RAM), Apogee Duet FW]
 
User avatar
bcfromfl
Topic Author
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Youngstown, FL

 

Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:44 am

Thanks -- I'll try that!

-Bruce
Mac Pro G5 quad-core 2.5mHz, 8.0GB RAM, 150GB HD
Logic 9.0.2
OSX 10.5.8
LaCie Rugged 7200RPM external 320GB HD
Apogee Duet
East West Symphonic Gold, Goliath, Gypsy, Ministry of Rock, Quantum Leap Pianos Gold, Spectrasonics Trilian
 
User avatar
Scott Jackson
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:15 am
Location: 81st Precinct

 

Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:45 am

chellstrom wrote:
~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)


:lol:

I always find this funny. Many people on this site refer to the Home Folder with the ~ symbol and then explain what the ~ symbol means since not everyone knows.




~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)



Home Folder>Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components



:mrgreen:

[Edit]Forgot to include Library in the path (corrected).
Last edited by Scott Jackson on Fri Jul 29, 2011 4:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nosce te ipsum
 
User avatar
bcfromfl
Topic Author
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Youngstown, FL

 

Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:28 pm

I really do hate Macs. I'm a PC guy, and have struggled now for two years to learn this operating system. Sorry for being slow.

I followed your instructions above...inserted the plugins into the appropriate folder, but they still do not come up in Logic. There is no installer with either plugin.

What am I doing wrong?

-Bruce
Mac Pro G5 quad-core 2.5mHz, 8.0GB RAM, 150GB HD
Logic 9.0.2
OSX 10.5.8
LaCie Rugged 7200RPM external 320GB HD
Apogee Duet
East West Symphonic Gold, Goliath, Gypsy, Ministry of Rock, Quantum Leap Pianos Gold, Spectrasonics Trilian
 
fader8
Posts: 11215
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:46 am
Location: Tampa, Florida
Contact:

 

Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:55 pm

You will need to restart Logic. Assuming you have the .component files in the right place, you should see Logic scanning and validating them on startup.
Music helps not the toothache.--George Herbert

G5Quad2.5, LP9.0.2,OSX.5.8,RME Digi&Multiface,002r, 4xUAD-1,Duende PCIe,Unitor8-AMT8,Logic Control+4 LCXT's,Capybara320,Kurz...
 
User avatar
bcfromfl
Topic Author
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Youngstown, FL

 

Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:03 pm

Ahh...the missing step! Thanks Fader!! :D (...shoulda known I had to do that...)

-Bruce
Mac Pro G5 quad-core 2.5mHz, 8.0GB RAM, 150GB HD
Logic 9.0.2
OSX 10.5.8
LaCie Rugged 7200RPM external 320GB HD
Apogee Duet
East West Symphonic Gold, Goliath, Gypsy, Ministry of Rock, Quantum Leap Pianos Gold, Spectrasonics Trilian
 
User avatar
chellstrom
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA
Contact:

 

Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:36 pm

Scott Jackson wrote:
chellstrom wrote:
~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)


:lol:

I always find this funny. Many people on this site refer to the Home Folder with the ~ symbol and then explain what the ~ symbol means since not everyone knows.




~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)



Home Folder>Audio>PlugIns>Components



:mrgreen:


C'mon Scott, that would be way too easy! :D
Chris Hellstrom
http://www.chrishellstrom.com
[Logic X.4.4, OS 10.12.6, (2.93 GHz iMac i7, 12 GB RAM), OS 10.12.6 (MacBook Pro, 2.3 GHz, 12 GB RAM), Apogee Duet FW]
 
User avatar
Eriksimon
Posts: 6881
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands
Contact:

 

Fri Jul 29, 2011 4:09 am

chellstrom wrote:
Scott Jackson wrote:
chellstrom wrote:
~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)


:lol:

I always find this funny. Many people on this site refer to the Home Folder with the ~ symbol and then explain what the ~ symbol means since not everyone knows.




~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)



Home Folder>Audio>PlugIns>Components



:mrgreen:


C'mon Scott, that would be way too easy! :D


All overly complicated, Bulgarian English.

Users/"you"/Audio/Plugins/Components.


Why call it "home" folder? Because it has a house for an icon? Nobody lives in a folder.
It is your User folder, because it is in the Users folder.
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

miMac Intel i5 3.6 GHz 16 GB RAM/OS X 12.6 (Sierra)/Logic Pro X 10.4.4/MXL 990/Marantz MPM-1000/U-Phoria UMC204HD/E-MU XBoard 49/Studiologic CMK 149/Akai LPD8
 
User avatar
Scott Jackson
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:15 am
Location: 81st Precinct

 

Fri Jul 29, 2011 4:37 am

Eriksimon wrote:
All overly complicated, Bulgarian English.

Users/"you"/Audio/Plugins/Components.


Why call it "home" folder? Because it has a house for an icon? Nobody lives in a folder.
It is your User folder, because it is in the Users folder.


Hmm....yes.....very interesting.
Attachments
home.png
home.png (95.91 KiB) Viewed 40546 times
home2.png
home2.png (84.5 KiB) Viewed 40546 times
Nosce te ipsum
 
BadBreak360
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:55 am

Re: How to install 3rd-party plugins?

Mon Mar 10, 2014 7:40 pm

What sub folder do these plug ins go to? I have put Camel Phat to Home Folder>Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components and I cant seem to see it in logic..
 
User avatar
Eriksimon
Posts: 6881
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to install 3rd-party plugins?

Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:29 am

Camelphat is 32 bit only and won't show up in LP X. It's old, like this topic.
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

miMac Intel i5 3.6 GHz 16 GB RAM/OS X 12.6 (Sierra)/Logic Pro X 10.4.4/MXL 990/Marantz MPM-1000/U-Phoria UMC204HD/E-MU XBoard 49/Studiologic CMK 149/Akai LPD8
 
Zipfunk
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 9:01 pm

Re: How to install 3rd-party plugins?

Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:35 am

I realize this is 6-9 years old but I still have an issue with trying to install Component files.

I've tried iMac HD/Users/'me'/Library/Audio/Plug-ins/Components
I've tried iMac HD/Library/Audio/Plug-ins/Components (I see my plugins here so I'm assuming this is the right folder but when I put my component here it still doesn't show up)
Of note, I also have...
iMac HD/Library/Audio/Plugins/Components (no dash in Plugins, there's two folders)

I've downloaded a component from air windows.com and have copied it to each one of these folders.
I don't see it anywhere.
I am quitting logic and restarting it.
This is something that's always eluded me. I just shotgun AUs or components everywhere and sometimes it works and I'm not sure which option was successful.

I'm sure by the end of the day I'll forget how the toaster works the way I'm going.
Any help would be great.

Drew
Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac
Intel Core i5
24 GB Ram
SSD
PodStudio UX2
Scarlett 2i2
 
User avatar
des99
Posts: 1819
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:08 pm

Re: How to install 3rd-party plugins?

Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:10 am

Restart your computer, not Logic.
(It's a quirk/bug of recent versions of OSX (you never used to have to do this in Sierra or earlier).)

Then valid plugins should show up in Logic.

Don't have one plugin in both the root and the users plugins folder - pick one only (it doesn't usually matter which too much, stick to the root library for now.)
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio