B&H Photo - Buyer Beware!!!

I've been doing business with B&H for 30 years, as I'm also a photographer and used to shoot a lot of commercial work for fashion and advertising. In fact, at one time my studio was just blocks from their store. I bought everything there. I always had good experiences, but recently they proved to be untrustworthy and deceptive.

I ordered a large format printer which weighed 423 lbs. in the crate. To clinch the sale they told me that I would receive free white glove delivery, which means they deliver the printer into your studio, unpack it, set it up and remove the crate from the premises. After I placed the order, a day or so later I received an email stating that the printer would be delivered curbside. When I called to talk to the salesman about the email, he said he made a "mistake" and that the printer did not qualify for white glove delivery. He then said that it was already on the way.

When I spoke to his supervisor, he assured me that when the delivery is made "Just offer the guys $30-$40 to bring the printer into your studio and B&H will reimburse you." Turned out on the day of the delivery there was just one guy and a hand operated fork lift, and that guy stated that it was not his responsibility to bring the printer into my studio (which is on the first floor) and he said he couldn't do it by himself. It was obvious that he couldn't do it by himself. The crate was about 7'x3'x4'. I couldn't have this huge printer sitting out on the sidewalk until I could get four guys to help bring it in, and while I tried to negotiate with the supervisor at B&H the driver said he had to leave. The supervisor at B&H promised me there would be no charge, not even for return delivery. I made him say it 3 times. He assured me that I would not be charged a single penny.