A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
JT3_Jon
Topic Author
Posts: 664
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 1:26 am

Post Fader Inserts

Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:12 pm

Did Logic Pro X hopefully add Post Fader Inserts, or is Logic still the only mac DAW without this functionality?
8-core 2.93GHZ Mac Pro (2009) OS 10.9.5, 24GB Ram Logic 10.1.0 UA Apollo
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 75385
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X - Post Fader Inserts?

Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:20 pm

No post fader inserts.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.4.8 - Mac OS X 10.15.1 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
User avatar
Eriksimon
Posts: 6962
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X - Post Fader Inserts?

Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:37 pm

To achieve PF fx you could output a track to an aux, then the auxes' insert slots are post-fader of the track (plus, from the aux you have an extra post-post insert fader, effectively providing more control). Yes, that creates an extra aux channel strip, but at least it can achieve the same, ehh, effect.
Could you give an example of a signal routing/situation in which you should/must/want to use a postfader insert?
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

miMac Intel i5 3.6 GHz 16 GB RAM/OS X 12.6 (Sierra)/Logic Pro X 10.4.4/MXL 990/Marantz MPM-1000/U-Phoria UMC204HD/E-MU XBoard 49/Studiologic CMK 149/Akai LPD8
 
JT3_Jon
Topic Author
Posts: 664
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 1:26 am

Re: Logic Pro X - Post Fader Inserts?

Sun Jul 21, 2013 6:09 pm

I have some plugins from Air Windows, as well as saturation plugins (or any plugin that models actual gain staging in hardware for that matter) in which you want to have proper gain staging going into the plugin for the desired sound.

For example, I'm using Air Windows console, an encoder / decoder plugin in which you put the encoder as the last plugin on all your inserts, and the decoder as the first insert on your master: (more info here http://www.airwindows.com/base.html ) Lets say I have a REALLY hot synth pad that in order to get it to fit in the mix I have to throw the fader down to -22db (which is surprisingly common I find given each VI's need to impress when you load it up by playing back at insane volumes). If I put a air windows console as the last insert, which is still pre fader, I'm actually distorting the decoder part of console as when it adds up with all my other tracks, its WAY above 0dB. Of course if I had the ability to simply make this insert "post fader" nothing would peak as the fader is already at -22db to get it to fit in the mix.

I also find metering plugins make more sense post fader. Also, for limiter/maximizer plugins, having the ability to run them post fader is almost a MUST. For example, If you're drawing automation on a bus or master automation with a limiter, you may want the limiter to react to this automation "post fader" so you're not causing unnecessary gain reduction if the fader causes the signal to ultimately be under the threshold. Same could be true of compressors under certain mix conditions I would imagine. You can also do really cool reverb/delay effects with post fader inserts instead of having to use an aux track and automating it.

I know what your thinking, "just route the output of this track to a bus and now anything you put on the bus is post fader!" Well, this is true, but if your using console / tape emulation plugins on each track, and want these to be post fader, you'll run out of busses FAST! Plus it just seems silly to have to have add a bunch of buses in order to have post fader inserts, something that every other major DAW allows you to do directly in their channel strips! If every other DAW has them, they must have seen the importance / flexibility / connivence it offers, right? Cubase finds them so important that they use 2 of they limited to 8 inserts as post fader! Digital Performer even lets you have ALL your effects be post fader if you want!

Seems odd to me Logic doesn't have them at all. Sad to see they were not added in Logic X.

p.s. to get around some of these problems with the lack of post fader inserts I've been trying to use gain plugins, and while it works, I find it brings with it its own host of unfortunate annoyances. Simply having post fader inserts in the channel strip (copy how digital performer does this) would make life MUCH easier.
8-core 2.93GHZ Mac Pro (2009) OS 10.9.5, 24GB Ram Logic 10.1.0 UA Apollo
 
Amplifuzz
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:55 am

Re: Logic Pro X - Post Fader Inserts?

Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:08 am

+1 on the excellent Airwindows stuff, and Post Fader Inserts are crucial to the correct operation of SoundRadix Pi as well. Pi is the coolest mix plugin to come along in ages and once you try it it's really hard to do without.

The aux workaround means ending up with a mixer with twice the tracks, unacceptable. PFI are the feature LPX needs the most at the moment.
 
User avatar
wjm
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 11:12 am
Location: Wpg. Mb. CAN.
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X - Post Fader Inserts?

Thu Aug 15, 2013 7:54 am

I just want to add my voice to those calling for post fader inserts for all the same reasons listed above.
Mid 2011 3.4GHz iMac i7 | 32GB ram | OSX 10.11.5 | Logic Pro X 10.2.4
 
radjenko77
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 1:09 am

Post Fader Inserts

Fri Aug 23, 2013 1:14 am

If somebody reading this,of the guys that builds Logic...IT ' S A BIG REQUEST!!! I know it's possible trough busses,but that's NOT the same and sometimes not enough Busses for that... When This changes i l never ever have the need to go out of Logic and Mix in another DAW!!! IMHO... :wink:
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 16332
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: Post Fader Inserts

Fri Aug 23, 2013 1:56 am

This has been requested before:

Post fader inserts - every other DAW has 'em, why not Logic?

If you want to contact Apple about this directly, please go here:

http://www.apple.com/feedback/logic-pro.html

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.13.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
User avatar
IainPetrie
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:03 am
Location: uk
Contact:

Post fader inserts

Sat Nov 09, 2013 11:24 am

Would love that feature. Using soundradix PI a post fader insert is required for it to work effectively.
At the moment i need to create an aux for each track, which doubles the number of mixer tracks
surely this would be an easy feature to add?
do less, accomplish more
http://www.awakemusic.co.uk

LOGIC PRO 10.4.4 imac i7 2.8ghz 32gb RAM OSx 10.12.6 Sierra
Saffire LS56 / Octopre l Kontakt 5 | Vi Pro / VEPro / Mir24 | BFD2 | Synthogy Ivory
 
Vascillate
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:43 am
Location: St. Paul, MN

Post Fader Plug-ins

Mon May 19, 2014 7:53 am

Yes, I know you can use a bus. But an extra bus per channel strip is a complete flow killer when working with projects that have 30+ tracks, as you completely flood your mixer. It couldn't be too hard to implement, and the workflow would be significantly improved. Limiters, compressors, expanders, and any other dynamic processors make much more sense post fader. Also, Logic is limited to 64 sends, and if you are already using 20 sends, and have 30 tracks, then if you want to dynamically process most of those tracks post fader then you're already up to 40 or 45 sends. Now if you want to frequency split/channel split 5 or 6 of these tracks, then you start cutting it close, and maybe even going past the bussing limit. 64 auxiliary tracks is also not ideal (you can delete the side chain aux tracks and leave the send, but that still leaves too many aux tracks).
Logic 9.1.8, 10.0.7
OS X 10.9.1
Macbook Pro 2.4 GHz Intel Core Duo, 4 GB RAM
NI Komplete Audio 6
 
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Posts: 16332
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Re: Post Fader Inserts

Mon May 19, 2014 8:02 am

Topics merged.

J.
Et voilà!

MacBook Pro 15" Retina i7 2.2 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.13.6 | Logic Pro 10.4.8
Merging Hapi | RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular
 
TheRdungeon
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Post Fader Inserts

Mon Dec 16, 2019 5:17 am

This is from ages ago, but goddam this would almost be the perfect DAW if they included this. Airwindows console is so good but really hard to work with on Logic unless you bus every output or use gain plugins instead of volume, both of which are slow and clunky
2.3GHz Quad MBP - Mid '12 15"
Apogee Duet 2
Logic 10.4.7
OS X 10.14.6
 
User avatar
Nogan
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Post Fader Inserts

Wed Mar 25, 2020 7:16 pm

another +1 on this, sending feedback request to apple.
Logic X (Latest Version)
Catalina: i7-8700K, 32GB 3466MHz
beyerdynamic T1 and DT880
Event 2020 V2
Casio Privia PX400R, Novation Launchpad Mini
AKG C414 ULS