DM10 hi hat continuous control in logic pro X

scberry

Hello all,

Yes.. I'm a noob to the forum, but, I have been using LP for about 10 projects now..learning more every time. I can usually find what I'm looking for if I look long enough before firing off a post, but I am truly stumped at this point -not exaggerating when I say that I've spent 7-8 hours reading forums and manuals trying to figure this out over the last 10 days. I think I've read pretty much every post regarding this and I'm still a bit confused and, chagrined; so, here we go. THE question:

IS it possible to get the hi-hat to work properly in LPX with DKD or no? I'm using the Alesis DM10 Studio kit via USB.

I'm not a power user; musician first and recording engineer second.

What I figured out:

In the smart controls, you can assign a control parameter to the foot pedal. This allowed the foot pedal to trigger open and closed correctly - provided you click the "invert" button on that parameter, otherwise the feature is works in opposite (pedal depressed was an "open" sound) I'm pretty new to e-drums (just a couple months) but it seemed to my ear that the pedal was functioning with the continuous control. I'm not really a drummer so it's hard to distinguish for me if that was true. But least the pedal was operating correctly in open an closed positions.

However - and I did see this part somewhere else in a forum with no response - What the pedal would NOT do, was "choke" or "clip" the open sound when you depressed the pedal after it was played open.. does that make sense? like if you play 3 beats with a closed hat and then on the 4th beat you strike it open it for the "ssst" sound and then close it again at the top of the next count. Ideally, the "ssst" sound would clip off from the closing of the hihat (in the real world of course) but in LPX the "ssst" just continues to ring out even though I depressed the pedal again, as opposed to clipping or cutting off like on a real kit.