A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
booboo
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 8:44 am

Multiple 5.1 tracks/stems Output in Real Time?

Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:42 pm

I'm trying to output multiple 5.1 stems in Logic out of my Madi card into an external PT system, but there seems to be only a single dedicated surround "monitor", and NO WAY to actually route several/many 5.1 tracks OUT of Logic 9.1.8 in realtime (Drums go out 7-12, STR 13-18, etc)
Of course, this seems like a major oversight....

Is there a solution we're not seeing over here??
g5 2x2, 6.5 gigs rm, 10.4.4, 7.1.1
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 63468
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

Re: Multiple 5.1 tracks/stems Output in Real Time?

Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:56 pm

That's correct, in Logic there's only a single surround panner that is assigned a fixed set of outputs.

You can do one track/stem at a time... but I suppose you already knew that.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X book (Apple Pro Training Series)
• My Logic Pro X Classes (Los Angeles)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.0 - Mac OS X 10.11.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
Logic Pro X 10.2.4 - Mac OS X 10.10.5 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
 
booboo
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 8:44 am

Re: Multiple 5.1 tracks/stems Output in Real Time?

Fri Aug 30, 2013 3:15 pm

Thank you for the reply, we've been killing ourselves over here.
We couldn't believe that Logic 9 was only setup for a "monitor" surround situation...so....very disappointing.

Perhaps I can push my luck with a follow-up question - is there an easy way to take a surround bus/aux and send that to split out auxes (stereo bus for LR, stereo bus for Ls Rs, mono for C, mono for Lfe)?
g5 2x2, 6.5 gigs rm, 10.4.4, 7.1.1
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 63468
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

Re: Multiple 5.1 tracks/stems Output in Real Time?

Fri Aug 30, 2013 9:39 pm

booboo wrote:
We couldn't believe that Logic 9 was only setup for a "monitor" surround situation?

Well, Logic is NOT only setup for a "monitor" surround situation. It is setup for full surround mixing, bouncing and/or routing the multiple individual channels anywhere you'd like.

It's just not set up to deliver multiple simultaneous individual surround stems.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X book (Apple Pro Training Series)
• My Logic Pro X Classes (Los Angeles)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.0 - Mac OS X 10.11.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
Logic Pro X 10.2.4 - Mac OS X 10.10.5 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2