Recording Levels Not The Same During Playback

CourtesyFW

I am brand new to Logic and this forum. I just made the trasition from Garageband.

The problem I'm having is when I record a vocal, I'll watch the levels in the mixer and they hit high greens withough peaking. Then when I play that vocal track back after recording it will hit very low greens in the mixer.

Is there a reason this is happening? Is this normal?

Any advice, posisble solution, or anything at all will be appreciated.

Shouldn't the meter during recording and playback equally match since it was applied already?

No, during recording the meters always show you the recording level, and the signal is recorded before it is being processed by any of the plug-ins.

Appreciate the answers Eric and David. This is great new info to know. So in hindsight I am not hearing these presets I have selected on the channel strip through my headphones during recording? I'm hearind dry vocals in my headphones? Only after I have finished recording, during playback will those effects be heard? Is that safe to say?

With the levels hitting high greens during recording and low greens during playback... If I raise that fader is that changing the actual input and increasing the gain/levels or just the monitoring part?

If I raise that fader is that changing the actual input and increasing the gain/levels or just the monitoring part?

The volume fader on the channel strip only affects the monitoring and the playback level.

The only way to adjust your recording level is using the Gain knob on the preamp where you've connected your sound source. Once the Analog-to-Digital converted (a component of your audio interface) has converted the analog signal into zeroes and ones, Logic simply saves those zeroes and ones, UNCHANGED, in an audio file. Logic does not have any control over the recording level.