Importing drum file in MIDI [SOLVED]

lille_nicke

Hi guys

maybe a very easy question but I'm totally new to LPX so bare with me.

when I import a drumstack in MIDI format into logic pro they all turn into "steinway grand piano" tracks

I have a drum track I want to use which is 15 different separeted tracks (kick, snare etc) but all of them

no matter how I first save them, turn "steinway" on me when importing them back into logic?

why is this? can someone help :shock:

no matter how I first save them, turn "steinway" on me when importing them back into logic?

why is this?

If there's no program change events in your MIDI files, Logic will assign the piano patch by default just because it's the first one in the GM Sound set. To avoid this you could add drop the file (from the Finder) onto an existing software instrument track, then load whichever instrument you want. Another way Logic would assign a drum instrument automatically, would be if the notes in the MIDI file are using MIDI channel 10.

J.

hey

hmmm... I'm sorry, I don't understand. A few more questions please

"If there's no program change events in your MIDI files" - whats program change events?

How do I make sure that the notes in MIDI file uses channel 10?

and can I change the channel on the pattern I've allready have arranged?

thanks for your help

Hi,

I was just giving you several possibilities. You don't have to change the MIDI channel for the the note events on your MIDI file, unless you want Logic to automatically assign a drum instrument for you when you import the file.

It's easier to simply import the file (by drag and drop from the Finder or from the All Files Browser in Logic) onto an existing software instrument track and use whichever software instrument you want to use.

and can I change the channel on the pattern I've allready have arranged?