Copyrighting your music?

I apologize in advance if this is not the right place to post this question.

So I have recently finished a project and am getting ready to release it publicly. My question is: by publishing the work on Youtube/soundcloud/iTunes/any media with a timestamp: does that qualify as a copyright?

When you purchase a copyright from the actual government office, you're essentially purchasing a timestamp for your work. Doesn't publishing an original work that no one has, on social media that have timestamps for everything, essentially count as the same thing?

Will I be protected?

Thanks everyone,

YG

I'm not a lawyer but I believe technically once you record/write your music it gets copyrighted immediately. I don't think you need to pay a lawyer to copyright your music although I'm sure it wouldn't hurt.

Another thing you may want to consider doing is registering your music on a PRO (Performing Rights Organisation). It's free to join a PRO in your country. E.g. BMI, ASCAP, SOCAN etc.

My question is: by publishing the work on Youtube/soundcloud/iTunes/any media with a timestamp: does that qualify as a copyright?

When you purchase a copyright from the actual government office, you're essentially purchasing a timestamp for your work. Doesn't publishing an original work that no one has, on social media that have timestamps for everything, essentially count as the same thing?

Will I be protected?

Well... David pretty much nailed it but --since you seem to be asking for more-- I'll see if I can restate it.