Upgrading - Express to Pro -> Is it worth it?

logicnub

HI there,

Admittedly my logic skills are basic at best, but, as I am looking to upgrade my studio, I was wondering whether to drop Express, and use Pro.

I am a funk/jazz producer, and mainly record live instruments in Express, it has worked fine for me so far, it has infinite tracks, which is great, though I feel some of the plugins are shoddy at best.

That said, as all I do is record tracks in, mix them, maybe play around with the automation data a bit, master, and voila. It's a fairly simple concept, and I like the organic feel it gives my music.

Now, as I am looking to upgrade my studio and try and take my music up a notch, I wondered what advantages Pro has over Express.

Is spacedesigner, sculpture, and the other plugins worth it? Half of the options it gives you confuse me to say the least!

I was thinking of getting Pro and maybe some cheaper plugins, or I could stay with Express, and purchase higher quality plugins...

Is pro better for mastering and mixing? All I am trying to say, is, is it worth the money?

Can someone help me, I don't know what to do.

Apologies if this post is a bit vague!

Thanks

The only setback I have encountered in Express is the quantizing function - it seems a little weak. Maybe I'm just using it wrong? Limited functionality?

:cry:

Otherwise I haven't had any issues, honestly I've found the less I monkey with the built it plug-in's the better - the amp modeling from the UX2 and drum modeling from BFD sound great by themselves. I just track and mix - oh and I always use Camel Crusher on my main mix for juice.

I'm really getting great tracks that sound good across a spectrum of output devices i.e., car stereo, boombox, MP3 player etc.

...honestly I've found the less I monkey with the built it plug-in's the better - the amp modeling from the UX2 and drum modeling from BFD sound great by themselves.