Film Composition

gollygoshkins

Dear anyone who will listen,

I want to try my hand at composition for media. I have been composing for several years now but only for myself.

I am looking to purchase Logic Pro at the advice of other contemporary composers. However, hitherto I know nothing about computer music.

Composers nowadays seem to have a lot of music produced simply through virtual instruments. Is this music produced through programs like Logic Pro? If so, how is the score translated into the program? If I write a score in Sibelius can Logic Pro then "publish" it using the sampled instruments. Finally, can Logic "read" any sampled instrument available?

Sorry for the many questions...but any help would be really really appreciated.

Any websites or books on the subject any of you can recommend would be brilliant.

Hoping someone can unconfuse me,

Sam.

Composers nowadays seem to have a lot of music produced simply through virtual instruments. Is this music produced through programs like Logic Pro?

Yes. Other choices include Digital Performer, Cubase, Pro Tools...

If so, how is the score translated into the program?

In Logic, the score is simply a different way to display the MIDI notes. I'm not sure what you mean by "translated into"?

If I write a score in Sibelius can Logic Pro then "publish" it using the sampled instruments.

Yes. It will take a few minutes for you to demix the MIDI performance and assign each one the correct instrument, but it's possible.

Finally, can Logic "read" any sampled instrument available?

No. Sample libraries are built for a certain sampler. Most sample libraries are built for most major samplers, and the EXS24 sampler that comes with Logic has become a big standard on the Mac platform, so most major sample libraries are available for Logic.