External Instrument plugin - what's the point?

shotgal

I'm new to LPX but not to DAW software, so still working through some things -

I've been able to setup and record single channel and simultaneous multi-channel MIDI and playback to the desired external MIDI channels no problem without ever using "External Instrument plugin'" - so I'm not sure what the point of it is?

At the same time, I was wondering if I'm doing this right - or if there is another approach/shortcut -

I want to use my external keyboard sounds through a guitar amp effect - but record/edit the performance via MIDI.

What I did -

New Track with MIDI CH 1 (external) destination - record the notes

New Guitar/Bass* track with Audio IN from external keyboard/Interface -

* New Track may alternatively/also be an Audio Track but then requires adding the FX later

Playback the recorded MIDI track from the external keyboard while recording it's audio to the new Audio Track, monitored/played back through the Amp FX.

Mute the MIDI track playback to hear the Audio through Guitar Amp FX only

The resultant audio track is the original clean sound from the external keyboard audio, but being on a Guitar track, it's routed through the Guitar Amp FX. You can freely change the guitar sound while its playing to sample various FX.

Extra question - in this configuration - once the audio is set to be a Guitar Amp FX channel - can the FX be bypassed to hear only the original audio? I found Legacy/Garageband/NoEffects - but that seems to be a long way to go for what should be a simple Bypass button....

The point is you can combine two things into one thing - a MIDI track, set to a MIDI destination of your synth, and an audio track, taking the synth's audio input back into Logic to bring it into the mix and add plugins.