Recording audio is overlapping, not joining, take folder

mrc18

Hi. I've been a Logic Pro X user for a few years and have been using comping/take folders the whole time. In the past month or two, I must have hit some button or done something because I'm getting weird behaviour with recording over take folders.

In screenshot 1, you can see I have the cycle set for 41-47 and want to record a few takes. I would expect those takes to join the preceeding take folder.

1250847462_screenshot1.thumb.png.93870a3b2195e77714f1dc067787fad4.png

Screenshot 1

In screenshot 2, you can see rather than joining the previous comp, it overlaps it.

1245085113_screenshot2.thumb.png.33eda599617219f50e525cab21816470.png

I sincerely have no idea why it's doing this.... as you can see, the "replace" feature is not on. Any help would be appreciated.

No luck with that. I'm at a loss. Even when I start new projects I'll notice the issue. Sometimes the recording will join the previous comp, other times it'll overwrite it. I took a screencast to show I'm not insane: https://www.dropbox.com/s/hp05l7olw77xv5k/logicprox.mp4?dl=0 Notice how the first cycle joins the comp folder, and then moving the cycle, it overwrites it ...

TLDR: in recording settings, change "count in" to "pre-roll" to 0 and just make sure you're recording two bars before the end of the take folder. https://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT201802

\\

"Let's say that you have a region on a track that spans bars one to five, and you make a new recording that starts a bit before bar five and continues past the end of the existing recording. Logic will either create a new independent region or a take folder that encompasses both the new and existing recordings. There are two factors that determine which will happen:

The count-in or pre-roll setting in Logic's Recording Options

The amount of overlap between the new and existing recordings