Ski's Recording Delay Test

Eric Wikman

I've posted the steps that Ski wrote ( from the link in the other thread) for testing your I/O latency. I hope Ski doesn't mind. If so, I will edit. I didn't want to hijack his other thread either. I really wanted to know where my recording where going.

When I read the steps, I thought it would be easy.

I did this test today, and although I had some troubles, I think my Metric Halo delivers my audio at neg (-)1. So I guess my driver puts it early. Not sure how this all works. :)

A couple questions. ( I guess for Ski).

I used 128 buffer. Does this matter?

Also, I assume PDC off, though no plugs are used except the gain plug.

My problems were:

when pressing play in the sample editor only the track opened (Y) would play, so I had to stop, close the editor, hit play in Arrange window (both tracks playing now), open the Y track again, and now my zoom in settings were lost. Every time! Why is this? I am still kinda new to Logic. So I hit stop, which now played the track opened in the editor.. on top of the 2 tracks playing in the Arrange. UGH. clumsy.

Second issue was it seems that for my first test, the wave form beginnings / starts looked different from the original slightly. I also noticed that my new recordings were 1 db louder than the orig. So this made it so my files would not cancel out completely. Now I'm left asking why my files are changed at all during this short round trip recording. I reset my Metric Halo, double checked all levels etc. Where is this distortion to the waveform coming from? With the sine wave test, both waves looked the same though.