Curious: let's test our DSL speed against what's advertised!

I feel like I'm living in the middle-age. OK so I am a tech-head when it comes to Logic, but for my internet connection I just want it to work. So when after trying 12 companies that gave me 1 to 2 hours downtime a day, I found one that worked in 2003, I never switched.

OK so they sell me 1.5Mbps down, 384kbps up for $40/month. In reality I'm barely getting half that, not even a 1/3rd for upload:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/160642261.png

What did you buy, and what are you really getting? You can click on the image and choose the closest server to where you are located to test your speed, or google "internet speed test" for your favorite speed test.

BTW I just upgraded to 6.0Mbps down, 768kbps up + local & long distance phone for $60/month. Let's see how that will perform (I'll update this thread).

Now to go one step further. Anyone here an internet tech-head, that could tell me how I can tune my mac's TCP/IP settings to get faster upload speeds? I need to upload large files, and residential services aren't cutting it. Should I change the size of the packets or whatnot?

Now to go one step further. Anyone here an internet tech-head, that could tell me how I can tune my mac's TCP/IP settings to get faster upload speeds? I need to upload large files, and residential services aren't cutting it. Should I change the size of the packets or whatnot?

This is something that some people have done on Windows (particularly Win98), but I don't think it's necessary on Macs. If you have a crappy upload then no software tweaking is going to fix that.

What are you using to upload? Uploading to an FTP server? Sending directly to people through IM or something?

Generally Cable is better than DSL. Most DSL is asymmetric - it can't upload at the same speed as its download. I don't think Cable has this problem as much.